We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooooooo lovely! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #9 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sooooooo lovely! ”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Just been there for three nights, great stay. Nellie and leon are so lovely, same goes for the rooms. Everything is nice, cozy, friendly. its more like staying in a friends house than being in a hotel. and that's what we wanted!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim_Panse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    38
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
77
147
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I wanted a weekend away and he suggested the Spruce Moose. What a lovely little place. Nellie and Leon were accommodating and made sure all our needs were met. Their dogs are adorable and I appreciated that they were well behaved. The breakfasts both mornings we were there were delicious.......apple pancakes made with apples from their tree the first morning and a delicious veggie quiche on the second morning. Our room was a quaint victorian room that was comfortable and inviting. Thanks for a wonderful stay! We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackeyB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This B & B is situated in a perfect location...off the main drag, yet within easy reach of everything. Very clean, comfortable, quaint and decorated lovely, with plenty of parking, and beautiful grounds/gardens. I especially enjoyed sitting on the porch, relaxing and reading my book. Beverages (hot and cold) are offered (a nice touch!) and the guest sitting area was cozy as well. We met the family dogs, which are adorable, but Leon and Nellie didn't give them the run of the house and kept them in their own private quarters unless we asked to see them. Breakfasts were made-to-order and consisted of eggs, meats, apple pancakes (yum!!), OJ, etc. Leon is a great cook and Nellie an excellent hostess. Limited access for mobility-impaired, but doable if one can manage a few steps. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: Request a first-floor room if mobility-impaired, otherwise the upstairs rooms are accessed via a ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Spruce Moose. Nellie and Leon were fantastic and the lodge was very welcoming and cozy. The room was nice and plenty large enough for a couple. The breakfast each morning was fantastic. I especially liked the apple cinnamon pancakes made with apples from their tree!

If you want a great stay near town, this is the one.

PS: We were very thankful for the late night cookies that were awaiting us. Perfect way to end the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Absolutely wonderful place to stay in North Conway. My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights to hike Mt Washington. Leon spoke w us about our hike plan, gave us some advise, & said he would be on the lookout for us to make sure we made it back safe (hiking the trail we did can be dangerous). Breakfast there was amazing! Homemade cinnamon apple pancakes made from apples picked right outside the main house!! Can't get any fresher. And homemade vegetable quiche- delicious! The name of the place & pictures from their website accurately describe & display the look & feel of the lodge- we absolutely loved it. The owners & their dogs couldn't be friendlier. If u aren't a dog person, just let them know before ur stay. They kept the dogs out of the main lodge area unless people were ok w them walking around. They were incredibly accommodating & eager to please, just let them know what u need. Our room was cozy & very clean, bed was comfy & warm. The location off the main road was great- far enough away from the main road traffic, but close enough to walk down to all the shops. I will be recommending this lodge to friends & family, & I will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KKadventuring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The Spruce Moose is "nice enough" but wasn't a "let's go there again" experience. It seems the B & B's we visited this trip all fell in the same category. Worn and in need of updates. Leon and Nellie, the owners, were friendly and personable and seemed a bit overwhelmed by what needs to be done. They allowed their pets to roam freely and sit on the furniture in the guest area while apologizing for their "sneaking" into the guest area. We are not adverse to people having pets but we do draw the line at their being part of our breakfast routine or sharing our chair. Breakfast was "acceptable", not anything special. One gentleman requested that a couple eggs be added to his French toast meal and although his request was honored, he was advised his portion of French toast was smaller [by a half slice] due to the eggs that were prepared for him! Really? It seems that choosing a B & B over a chain hotel equates to accepting less amenities and comfort in a worn and cramped setting but for the same price or more.

Room Tip: Be specific when asking your questions. Don't "assume" anything. Like, is there a hair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgram02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Great dog -friendly location. Fantastic hosts who pay close attention to their client's needs. Delicious breakfasts. Very warm and pleasant "White Mountain" hospitality. Excellent location. Simple but charming country decor. My only negative comment was that the WIFI reception in the room was extremely poor, making it difficult to connect if you are expecting to combine business and pleasure, as I was. Best reception is out on the porch. Overall, great experience. Would definetly recommend. I will return. Nelly and Leo, or Chef Leon as he is amicably known as, make all the difference.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quintanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.8 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#3 of 25 in North Conway
658 reviews
2.4 mi away
Old Red Inn & Cottages
Old Red Inn & Cottages
#10 of 21 in North Conway
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages

Property: Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages
Address: 207 Seavey Street, Po Box 557, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5358 (Formerly Sunny Side Inn)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property consists of a 9 bedroom(all private baths) antique farm house bed and breakfast, 2 canine friendly jacuzzi bungalows,(one is canine friendly), and 3 canine friendly cottages and 2 canine friendly houses. We serve breakfast to our bed and breakfast and jacuzzi guests. The cottages and houses are fully equipped with kitchens. We have a yellow lab named Whitman, a Jack Russell named Lilly and a Yellow Lab- Bassett mix named Jed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Moose Lodge And Cottages Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing