We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location For The Average Family Camper”

Jigger Johnson campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Conway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jigger Johnson campground
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This location is about 20 minutes from North Conway along the famous Cancamangus Highway so it feels like you are truly in the wilderness, but you are also close enough to civilization (Walmart) if you need to buy something or go to a hotel in case of bad weather. The individual campsites were about the largest we have seen at any campground. All sites, bathrooms and showers were extremely clean (for a government campground). The campground is located on the banks of a small, shallow river and this was an endless source of entertainment for our kids (ages 10 and 12). Other than the river there is not much to do here besides hiking and relaxation. Site 48 is one of the closest to the river.

Mid June is an ideal time to visit this area because the weather is good and the local schools are still in session. We camped from June 12-14 and there were only 4 or 5 campers in the entire campground; we had our pick of the sites and did not have to worry about other campers making noise or trashing the restrooms. During this time the hotels and other recreational activities in the area are open and available at very reasonable prices with no crowds. This is in contrast to the fall when the fall foliage crowds transform this region into a huge traffic jam.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TravelCheapskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

All the negative posts others have written about the female ranger (who BTW no longer happens to be employed at this wonderful campsite) do not surprise me. She clearly lacked the interpersonal skills for her position. But.... times have changed and so have the rangers. I was back several times this summer and could not have been more pleased. The place was clean, organized, and the personnel could not have been more accommodating and friendly. I have stayed in many campgrounds around New Hampshire over the years, and this is by far my favorite. The tall pined wooded sites could not be more indicative of a true northeast camping experience. You WON"T be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank VBJBDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We (couple driving an RV) decided to stay as we were driving to Conway, where we were going to find a Wal-Mart to stay overnight. Boy, were we glad we decided to stop!
Very clean CG, lot's of site to choose from, beautiful short hike to the stream. The hosts were seen all the time doing chores in their golf carts, not a bad thing to be said about them!
Really enjoyed the place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Annex_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My daughter and I spent days here. Love this place. Privacy and spotless not to mention beautiful. Hiking trails nearby and a beautiful swift river with falls. Campground also has paid showers. Camp host was friendly and helpful. Town of Conwayvis nearby. One of my favorite national camp grounds!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tukibodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Camping at Jiggar Johnson is the place to go. My parents loved Summer time she could not wait to pack the Family to go camping. We had so much fun! We now have our own kids we followed in our parents foot steps and go camping here. (There was girl host here about a year or two that was not pleasent we stopped going for awhile.) I just got back from visiting my parents that have been camping for the last 2 weeks. I heard that there was a new camp host. While walking around I bumped into the camp host he was so nice we talked about how great this campground is. We will be coming back it seems to be more relaxed with you as a camp host. Thanks again!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Holly20041986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We just got back from our second stay at Jigger Johnson campground. Both times we had lovely, spacious sites that were immaculately maintained. We found an even mix of families and young adults out for a weekend in the woods. Gary is the campground manager. Fans of nearby Hancock campground will remember him from his 10 years of friendly service there. Barbara was our other host(ess). She was kindness personified, allowing us to pay her the next day for firewood due to some VERY poor planning on our part. The hosts were highly visible throughout our stay, zipping around on golf carts, and kept us updated on various activities available nearby.

The bathrooms were the nicest I've ever found in a campground. They were cleaned at least twice a day with NO dirt, NO bugs, and NO yuck to be seen. To be honest, the shower facilities left a bit to be desired, I don't think the drainage system can handle all that water. No problem, that's why we bring our Solar Shower!

Quiet hours ARE enforced, which is nice for those of us with children. From what I heard, the hosts are very fair and only ask people to keep it down, not shut it down.

All in all, it has surpassed all the other WMNF campgrounds as our new family favorite. Now that we know Gary and Barbara are there, we will definitely go back again and again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kimberly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My family and other extended family have been camping at Jigger Johnson every year since 2000. I just wanted to clarify a bit about the OLDER reviews for Jigger Johnson. You can believe most if not all that was stated about the main camp host. She was every bit that has been said. All the incidents that have been mentioned happened every year. The reviews were not from the same people in one group. There was no shortage of police visits, arguing, rule breaking, reprimands...etc. Granted this was not happening every second of the day. The camping was still stellar.

As of the 2012 season, THAT host and part of her staff (some of which was her family) are no loner employed. In her defense, we did have a few minor run-ins the first year or two. In later years, there were "reminders" if we we did not adhere to certain things. BUT, all you had/have to do is obey the freakin' rules people. She was still stern, but if you got to know her, she was not an evil ogre.

That said - The campground itself is picture perfect and the most relaxing place we have ever been on vacation. Again, we have been every summer and usually October too, since 2000. We will be there going 7/27 weekend for about 9 days. We look forward to the new management. So as you can believe the BAD reviews, you can certainly believe all the good. Fantastic location and superb grounds.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
3.1 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,451 reviews
2.3 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Conway
Holiday Inn Express North Conway
#16 of 25 in North Conway
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jigger Johnson campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jigger Johnson campground

Address: Rt 112, North Conway, Conway, NH
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in North Conway
Number of rooms: 74
Also Known As:
Jigger Johnson Campground Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing