We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stonehurst Manor
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
East Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enchanting”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We recently booked the jacuzzi room for 2 nights. The room was spacious and had a lovely view. The bathroom is small but clean. We were going to move on to another location but enjoyed the manor and it's character so much, we booked another night in a less expensive room to stay on a bit longer. The other room was small but comfy. The bath was bigger but still small. There is no elevator, that was a surprise.
The food was probably the best part. The dining staff is right on with every detail. We had the dining included option and that is the reason we decided not to go to another hotel for the rest of our stay! We had lobster, steak, scallops and deliscious soups. The banana french toast doesn't even need the syrup.
There were 2 weddings going on that weekend and we never had a problem with noise or guests. We found the grounds to be very relaxing and just what we needed. We love the fact that we think we stumbled on a nice little hideaway for us. We'll be back.

Room Tip: It's an old manor, don't expect it to compare to a new resort. Appreciate it's old charm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manor3351, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Thank you! We look forward to having you with us again soon. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    280
    68
    46
    59
See reviews for
174
862
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My husband and I stayed for three nights at the Stonehurst Manor for the first time. We took advantage of the meal and golf package which was well worth the extra money. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful with our needs. It was great to take advantage of being able to walk down the stairs to the lounge and dining room without leaving the premises and also to have such a wide variety of meals to pick from off the menu. The breakfast was great and we thought most of our dinner meals were excellent. One comment about the menu is we would like to have had a conventional roasted prime rib as an option to the smoked prime rib.

We were in room 23 which was large and had a beautifully renovated bathroom which fits the charm of the inn perfectly. We understand the expense and constant maintenance of a historic building, but there a couple of things we think should be brought to management's attention from a guest's point of view. First of all, the matresses on our bed were very uncomfortable, so much so that we had a very poor night's sleep. We are sure they have not been replaced in quite some time. Also, the sofa and chair have lost their firmness which also shows the amount of wear and should be replaced. If you plan to do future renovations we think those should be areas to consider.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara60913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manor3351, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We do wish that you had let us know the mattress was uncomfortable to you as we could have done something for you. We routinely purchase brand new Serta Pillow-Top mattress which obviously some like and some don’t—firm, hard and soft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Be advised if you rent condos thru the manor, they are not a hotel or resort with amenities for the guest. A room large enough for eight people gets TWO keys, a three page written instruction on rules and regulations ($25 for lost key, $15 for leaving trash behind, do thier laundry before leaving.
The front desk employees have the personnality of the rock out front ( complete with the sign to stay off the ROCK?). If you concract them in advaance make sure you get details in writting including bed sizes.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
The condos are privately owned homes that the Stonehurst Manor rents and maintains for the owners. When renting through the Manor, we offer the same amenities as our hotel guests: outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts, WI-FI, use of the grounds and walking trails. The "Welcome Packet" that we present to you upon arrival is to help you and make your stay comfortable; not to hinder your vacation.

Regarding the bedding in each unit, we take care to ask you what bedding works for your party. We do wish that time is taken to read the confirmation letters as we reconfirm the chosen bedding of the reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My wife and I went for our anniversary. We had stayed there before and like that the meals can be included. We were not disappointed. They upgraded our room at no charge. The deluxe room with jacuzzi and fireplace was very spacious and comfortable. The food was very good. When they served our dessert, they had decorated the plate to wish us a Happy Anniversary. We only told the front desk it was our anniversary, so for them to tell the restaurant staff was the little extra I look for and will keep me going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHvacationer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manor3351, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Thank you. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Manor. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Quebec
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

A quaint manor with views of the Moat Mountains in New Hampshire. Spent 2 nights at the manor over the Memorial Day Weekend. We had room 31 which is one the basic rooms but more than enough. The bathroom was recently renovated but they did not have room for a sink...The sink was in the main room and we had a giggle with that one. We enjoyed the meal plan with our room which included a full breakfast and a full dinner. I had the veal piccatta wth fresh pasta and it was very good. My husband had the special of the day which he was a little disappointed in. Breakfast was a choice of approx 10 times from raisin cranberry frebch toast to eggs benedict. It included a fresh fruit cup or juice and cooffee and tea. the only thing to pay for is your gratuity. Service was delightful each time. The staff looked after you very well. On sunday there was a noon wedding on the grounds and it was beautifully set up and it was quiet by 7 pm. We were a little concerned with the possible noise for nightime but it was all fine. Our second dinner was the wood fire pizza and boy was it delicious. We had the vegetable pizza and the sausage pizza. Highly reccomend. We had enough for lunch the next day they are so big.
We would reccomend this Manor to all....but there is not elavotors so make sure if you have trouble with stairs ask for a ground floor room.

Room Tip: There is a great website that has a picture of each room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaudguinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manor3351, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Thank you! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful dining experience on your recent visit to Manor. Our culinary department is constantly achieving and striving to find new tasteful experiences. The Manor was built in 1876 and unfortunately for us to maintain the historical value of the building, it is not architecturally possible to install an elevator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This hotel is in a great looking manor up on a hill. There are manor rooms and rooms that are in an addition. The manor rooms are nice but can be a little small and akward since you have the shape of the roof to consider. The rooms aren't well kept up. A good renovation is required. The food on the other hand is fantastik. Staying at this hotel is only worth it if you take the option of including breakfast and supper. You won't find as good a deal anywhere in town and this is why we don't mind that the rooms are a little depressed. Both breakfast and supper offer several selections. We have been there numerous times and the food has always been great. Service is also very good. The manor is located away from the road soi it is quiet. The grounds are very nice and so are the common areas of the manor. The only downside we have encountered is when booking, they are a little anal with the advance required since they insist on you sending a cheque rather than passing the amount on a credit card (unless you are booking within 2 weeks of arrival, then they will accept a credit card - but you take a chance that there won't be any place).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookie1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manor3351, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent visit with us. Our Culinary Department headed by our Executive Chef James Davis and his team are constantly striving to maintain and exceed the high standards set by our guests. When we hear such compliments as yours we know we are meeting our mark. The Stonehurst Manor is over 240 years old and maintaining such an historical building as ours does require constant upkeep. We are currently replacing furniture in 10 rooms out of our 26. On your next visit to us, might we suggest you try out one of deluxe fireplace Jacuzzi rooms located on the second floor of the Manor? These oversized rooms offer wonderful views of the mountains, sitting areas and some with a private screened in balconies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, NH
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed here before...always enjoyed my visit till this one. Sat and Sunday the Inn booked outside weddings on the grounds. My quiet & peaceful weekend was ruined by constant loud music (hour after hour)...drunks in hotel slamming doors and being totally noisey & rude...and a large portion of the guest areas non-existant due to the massive tent set up outside my window. Once the weekend was over & the wedding parties cleared out it was very nice as I remembered from past visits. My suggestion if anyone like peace & quiet is to go mid-week & skip the weekend all together when the weedings are held. I do not know why the tent was not set up a distance away (plenty of land) from the Inn so the guests could enjoy themselves. Food was great...my room was VERY small & not the spacious size as stated in the brochure and I was directly under the pizza oven chimney so all I smelled (instead of fresh mountain air) was wood smoke & pizza cooking

Room Tip: Request 2nd floor as rooms are larger than on third but then you will have to deal with heavy stompe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPNNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manor3351, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
We are sorry to hear that your recent visit to us was not up to previous standards. We do host weddings at the Manor and which are usually such a wonderful and joyous time for the Bride and Groom to celebrate with their family and friends. We also strive to make all of our guests comfortable and to accommodate every one’s needs. We host our wedding receptions outside in a wedding tent as to not disturb our guests in the Manor and also ensuring that all wedding entertainment ends as 7:00 pm so our other guests are able to enjoy a relaxing evening.
We do offer four different categories of rooms that suite everyone’s taste and budget. We do look forward to having you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
2.2 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,368 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
5.7 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stonehurst Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stonehurst Manor

Property: The Stonehurst Manor
Address: 3351 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5167
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#14 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stonehurst Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE dinner and breakfast at the Stonehurst Manor, a turn-of-the-century mansion located on 33 private acres just one mile north of North Conway, New Hampshire where you'll experience the "best" getaways that Mt. Washington Valley and the White Mountains have to offer. Romantic guestrooms and suites(many with mountain views, Jacuzzis and wood-burning fireplaces), a popular gourmet restaurant, a Library Lounge with a huge fieldstone fireplace and artisan-carved oak paneling gourmet restaurant serving New England cuisine and Italian specialties featuring Manor-made fresh pasta, wood-fired oven baked artisan bread and signature sourdough pizzas. We are also pet friendly! Outdoor seasonal heated pool and hot tub, tennis and doorstep access to trail network for walking, snowshoeing and cross country skiing. Conveniently located to area activities including tax-free shopping, skiing, fly fishing, hiking, biking, zip lines, and climbing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Stonehurst Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stonehurst Manor Hotel North Conway
Stonehurst Manor North Conway
Stonehurst Manor Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing