We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice service (with exception of one server) but room was not what it seems to be on the web photos.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stonehurst Manor
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
burlington
1 review
“Nice service (with exception of one server) but room was not what it seems to be on the web photos.....”
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We visited the Manor on the web site prior making the reservation....The room we chose appeared to be a lot bigger and better on the pictures.....It was one of the more expensive rooms as well ...Naturally we expected an appropriate accommodations for the price we paid.... Upon our arrival we were very disappointed....the room was very small....there was no closet space at all....instead there was a hanger on the back of the bathroom door....the tub was very small .....We did not think the tub could accommodate two persons...the sink in the bathroom was not secured and we were afraid to use it... Moreover, we were really disappointed with the bed linen....the linen were old and "overused looking"....we had to ask for the new pillow cases because the once we had appeared to be dirty... I would expect that for this price the linen would be white, nice and crispy....In addition, we had a very bed experience with the waiter (Ed) and we asked not to have him any more...Other staff was excellent, they were very attentive and we enjoyed them....Mandy, Lisa and the bartender( sorry I forgot his name:O) were excellent and was a pleasure to converse with them....
In general, we wish that the rooms ( at least the one we stayed in were much better).The atmosphere of Manor was great .... and we enjoyed the visit...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22redo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manor3351, Owner at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, 13 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns and to share your praises. We do truly appreciate it when guests share of their experience. If it were not for our guests, we could not provide continued excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    276
    68
    46
    59
See reviews for
170
854
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We went three times (2 in september 2008 and 2006 and 1 in december 2010) to this hotel in North Conway as we are fond of hiking and snowshoeing and it is near of the white mountains.

We spent 10 days there in december 2010 and it was really pleasant. The view is beautiful to the mountains and the inside very warm and traditional with wood and a large fireplace.The rooms are beautiful and bathrooms renovated, but the rooms in the manor are more confortable. However, the managment should tell us if we are lodging in a room where pets have slept because of allergies. The mattresses in the mountain view aisle should be changed because the are soft and depending what you want to do with our partner it is not necessarily pleasant to meet in the middle !
The staff is very friendly and nothing to say about that.
The restaurant is very cosy and diversified as there are three places to eat.
The food is great as it became more refined since our last visits: perfect cooking of the diversified vegetables, pleasant presentation of the plates, lighter calories. We have tasted all the dishes in the menu in 10 days and it was generally very good or good.
Every dinner they have a special dish. The breafasts are very good and diversified too and a lot of fruits in the crepes or stuffed french bread.
The location is perfect in a beautiful pine wood away from the road and easy access to the mountains as well as to the factory outlets of North Conway.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manor3351, Owner at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, 13 January 2011
Thank you for your wonderful comments. Our culinary department is constantly working on keeping our menu full of delicious and tempting options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mapleville, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2011

What a great place! The rooms were quiet and the beds very comfortable. The food was excellent and the staff was friendly and attentive to your needs. This is an old inn so if that's not your style I would not recommend it. The Manor was beautifuly decorated for Christmas when we went. Great shopping and skiing are nearby.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryshielpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manor3351, Owner at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, 13 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share of your recent stay. We certainly appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uncasville, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2010

This was our third time at Stonehurst in the past 18 months, and we just love it. The staff are friendly and attentive (despite what some of these "reviews" say) and the food and drink are first class. The only critisism we have, is that the bed is a little on the soft side, but that could just be our taste. We can't wait to come back to the Stonehurst soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pecks25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manor3351, Owner at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, 13 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share of your recent stay. We certainly appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

My husband and I booked a reservation for the New Year's Eve dinner and had an emeregency come up that prevented us from being able to make it. Unfortunately to book the dinner it had to be completely paid in full beforehand. I called to cancel and they were very unaccomodating and not understanding at all. No refunds whatsoever. I looked at the website and couldn't find anywhere that said it was non-refundable.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ilikepie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manor3351, General Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, 3 January 2011
We do thank you for your comment. New Year’s Eve dinner is one of the only nights of the year that one must purchase their dinner tickets in advance. We explain to guests our cancellation policy when they make their New Year’s Eve ticket purchase. You had called a few hours before your dinner reservation stating that you had an emergency which do understand doesn’t allow for notice nor did it give us time to resell the table.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henniker, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Dear Peter,
We had a reservation for late December and Leona refused to honor this date, instead charged us $186.00 for a night we had cancelled weeks ago. When I tried to speak with her about this she was VERY rude and unprofessional. Your place is great, your Service and Staff (namely Leona) needs to be improved , or replaced.
We've been coming to this place for many years, but no more !!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa56118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manor3351, Owner at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, 3 January 2011
Dear Guests, as having been in the office when Leona, my Office Manager, was speaking with you, I do have to say that you are not being fair or truthful. Needless to say, I was able to hear both sides of the conversation.
On December 7, 2010 you made a reservation for a room and dinner for Wednesday December 29, 2010. We mailed your confirmation letter the following day. The day of your scheduled arrival, you called at 3:00 pm stating you were confirming your reservation for Thursday December 30th which would be the following day. Leona tried to explain that we did not have a room available for Thursday. You at no time made any reference to cancelling your reservation.
We were able to resell your room for the night of your scheduled arrival—Wednesday December 29, 2010. Leona processed a full refund to your American Express and also called you to let you know of the full refund. You did not answer the phone so she left a message.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Once again the staff at Stonehurst has made our stay a memorable one. The holiday setting was extraordinary, the staff exceptional and the food mouth watering. Our room was clean and comfortable and with a scenic view of the mountains. The location is perfect as it is close to all of the local amenities of N Conway but set up off the road away from the traffic and congestion. I highly recommend you checking out their website or stopping by for a visit.They will make regulars out of you as they have of us.
Lyndon and Kandace Johnson
Pepperell MA

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windowman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
2.2 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 25 in North Conway
1,349 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
5.7 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stonehurst Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stonehurst Manor

Property: The Stonehurst Manor
Address: 3351 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5167
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#14 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stonehurst Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE dinner and breakfast at the Stonehurst Manor, a turn-of-the-century mansion located on 33 private acres just one mile north of North Conway, New Hampshire where you'll experience the "best" getaways that Mt. Washington Valley and the White Mountains have to offer. Romantic guestrooms and suites(many with mountain views, Jacuzzis and wood-burning fireplaces), a popular gourmet restaurant, a Library Lounge with a huge fieldstone fireplace and artisan-carved oak paneling gourmet restaurant serving New England cuisine and Italian specialties featuring Manor-made fresh pasta, wood-fired oven baked artisan bread and signature sourdough pizzas. We are also pet friendly! Outdoor seasonal heated pool and hot tub, tennis and doorstep access to trail network for walking, snowshoeing and cross country skiing. Conveniently located to area activities including tax-free shopping, skiing, fly fishing, hiking, biking, zip lines, and climbing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Stonehurst Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stonehurst Manor Hotel North Conway
Stonehurst Manor North Conway
Stonehurst Manor Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing