We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad I went before reading reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oxen Yoke Inn, Motel & Cottages
Ranked #20 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My husband and i spent his birthday weekend there and were very happy, I agree that the decor is not high fashion, but what are you looking for? comfort or fashion? The TV is old, but that is not the reason to be there, although the reception and selectivity of channels/shows was certainly adequate. I cannot normally sleep beyond 6-7 hours due to body discomfort (aches ans pains). I actually slept for 12 hours! I think that says a lot about the comfort level of the bed! The room was clean, there was plenty of linen as well as hot water with coffee, microwave, and refrigerator!
I was not even disturbed by the girls partying next door.
What more do you want?

Room Tip: We were in Unit 2 at Oxen Yoke Motel. We were assigned upstairs, but when I asked for first floor i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I was a little nervous to stay here after reading the reviews, but I loved it. We have stayed at eastern slope inn and attitash mountain village, but I like this better than both. We stayed in cabin 14, which was recently renovated, with our dog. Room was clean, you couldn't tell that dogs have been there. Will be requesting to stay here from now on.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at the Oxen Yoke for 2 nights in October.

We had some concerns about security, as we were staying in one of the rooms in highest part of the motel (possibly no. 17), and it seemed as if the external door could be easily accessed if it wasn't properly shut. We did find that we could get in without using our key a couple of times.

The decor of the motel was also a bit outdated, with floral wallpaper.

We were also a bit disappointed in the facilities, as we understood that we had access to a pool and gym, but had to go down the road to the Eastern Slope Hotel to be able to access these. This was a very short drive, or about a 5-10 minute walk, which was not that convenient for gym/pool usage.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We've stayed here every summer for the last 6 years or so. It's got to be one of the best deals in N. Conway. Since it is part of the Eastern Slope in you can use their indoor pool and other amenities (don't know what else they have as we just use the pool). The rooms have always been clean and the great thing for us is the fridge and microwave so we can have breakfast and snacks in the room. Yes, the decor is a little dated and the TV is older and small, but we don't go to N. Conway to hang out in the hotel and watch TV. It's close to the village unlike a lot of other motel/inns, but on a side street so it is fairly quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed 1 night on a cold Decembr weekend. It was dirty, it had no heat except fo a space heater. The bed spread had long hair on it and the place smelled like cigarettes. The space heater was merely a box where the heating elements were house inside of a cage with wide openings. We arrived at 11PM and had to get up early to drive to hockey tournament in vermont. The next morning on ourt way to Vermont we called the front desk which is located at The Eastern Slope Inn, and complained about having no heat all night, the hairs, and the bad smell. They said that it would be taken care of and fixed by the time we returned for our second night's stay. when we returned the room reeked of fabreeze and still had the cigareette smell, it was still frezzing and the floor was dirty. This time we went to the front desk and said how bad it was. They gave us a suite at the eastern Slope Inn for the second night for our trouble. The creepiest part of this is when we were checking in the first night the hostess was telling me that her parents were coming up for the weekend that night too and would be arriving shortly, then she handed me the key to the room, and then gasped and said , "oh no, i'm sorrry that's not your key" and handed me another key. I would bet that she gasped because she would never in a million years would put her parents in such a terrible room. This room was on the third floor....it was soo bad.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kerry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G, Manager at Oxen Yoke Inn, Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

My apologies if your stay was not as it should have been. All of the units at the Oxen Yoke are heated in the colder seasons and air-conditioned in the warmer summer months. As none of our units at the Oxen Yoke are located on the third floor, it is harder to determine exactly which part of the property you may have stayed in, however your concerns regarding the heating system and the cleanliness of your unit have been reported to the appropriate department managers for review.

I am glad that the front desk, was able address your concerns the second night of your stay by upgrading you to a deluxe Suite at the Eastern Slope Inn Resort.

As the areas you mention in your review are not typically of the quality and service our guests have come to expect I hope you will consider giving us a second chance to show you what our resort has to offer. We have very recently completely renovated one of our pet friendly cottages at the Oxen Yoke property. This room includes a king bed, sleep sofa, full kitchen/dinning area and spacious bathroom. If you do consider another visit to the area please contact Megan Scheid the Hospitality Manager for the Eastern Slope Inn resort so she can make sure your accommodations are all that you expect them to be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The place is great value. It is clean. The beds were comfortable. The decor is old/out dated. Always love placed with refrigerator and microwave, especially when traveling with kids who always want to drink milk in the middle of night. Free wifi worked great. Small tv in the room with cable. there is a swimming pool on site, but I don't think it was open and i don't think it is heated. There is no extra blankets in the closet like most of other places that I've been to. Close enough to walk to main street, but not actually in the middle of it, so it is bit quiter. The building itself is kind of noisy, just because you can hear cars driving by, or people walk up and down the stairs. Also you do have to check in at the Eastern slope Inn, which I did not mind it. There are other places near with similar price, but with this place, we were able to use the Eastern Slop Inns amenities, like their indoor swimming pool.
At the end, great value for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjczoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, Dec 30 + 31 2012.
Rooms clean and beds comfortable.
Yes, noisy, walls are thin, but this is to be expected for the time of year.
Would stay again.
Accessibility to the lovely Eastern Slope Inn is a real plus. Beautiful hotel and amenities.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cris-60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
2.1 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,429 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.6 mi away
Forest Glen Inn
Forest Glen Inn
#16 of 25 in North Conway
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#13 of 25 in North Conway
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#3 of 25 in North Conway
714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eastern Inn & Suites
Eastern Inn & Suites
#13 of 21 in North Conway
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxen Yoke Inn, Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxen Yoke Inn, Motel & Cottages

Address: 170 Kearsarge Rd, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5331
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range: £64 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oxen Yoke Inn, Motel & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GUESTS ARRIVE WITH ENTHUSIASM & RETURN WITH FOND MEMORIES Welcome to the Oxen Yoke Inn & Motel, an iconic lodging experience rich in heritage and steep in tradition. Centrally located in North Conway Village, The Oxen Yoke is tucked away from the commotion of Main Street, yet within walking distance to popular attractions, unique downtown shops, award winning restaurants, and quaint cafes. Whether you enjoy shopping, sightseeing, or spending the day at local attractions, the Oxen Yoke Inn and Motel puts you in the midst of it all. For those guests who wish to bring their dog on vacation, The Oxen Yoke Inn and Motel has designated accommodations for four legged family members, complete with a dog walking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Oxen Yoke Inn, Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxen Yoke Inn, Motel And Cottages
Oxen Yoke Inn, Motel & Cottages Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing