We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very stinky. If your sense of smell is gone, it'll be fine.”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very, very stinky. If your sense of smell is gone, it'll be fine.”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

There was nothing wrong with the room and the motel but for the fact that the carpets everywhere (halls, rooms) absolutely stank. There was some sort of stale, musty, foul odour that permeated the entire place. As with the sense of smell, you slowly stop noticing a bad odour, so once you get over the initial stink the place is alright - our room was a bit of a contrast in that the tv was old and outdated (and the carpet stank), however the bathroom was recently renovated with a large tub and spacious layout. We arrived late and were passing through so we didn't use the pool, however the pool building looked quite old and decrepit. The breakfast was OK with a waffle station, juice, bagels, toast etc., however the breakfast area and number of tables was wholly inadequate for the number of guests in the hotel (I think the hotel was much fuller than normal as all other hotels were full due to some torrential rain that day that had likely motivated a lot of people to abandon their campsites and seek shelter in the town).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobZ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    37
    32
    27
    91
See reviews for
57
83
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

So a planned an impromptu trip to Storyland and thought maybe some shopping too - Storyland was great as usual - what wasn't was the hotel. They should be ashamed to charge anything for a stay at this outdated filthy hotel. We should have left as soon as we arrived. I was lead to believe that it was the last room available - right and I believed it! Ragged carpets and a smell greeted us in the room. Not at all handicap accessible! The pool room had left over wet towels from who knows when as the bin was full. The hot tub was barely working and very cloudy. In the pool the bottom was slimmy and difficult to stand up on. We were not really sure if any of the towels or sheets had really been cleaned. Believe me I will never stay at this hotel again. Considering how close it is to prime shopping they could do a whole better. I can go on and on - dirty windows, barely working free Internet! Lack of pictures that truly represent the property!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Conway hotels

Warminster, PA, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The internet does not look like the Inn. The place needs renovations BADLY. The AC goes on for 2 minutes and then shuts down with a loud bang. The room was musty and not very clean. The bathroom left a lot to be desires. No handrails, no soap dish, no TISSUES, no drain stopper....should I go on? Breakfast was a real joke. A few slices of bread, some dry cereal and 3 danish. Needless to say we went down the road and had something elseware. Really, try someplace else. Oh yes, don't try the pool or the hot tub. It was dirty and probably full of bacteria.

Room Tip: Try a different location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ritamarie520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mendham, new jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

It makes me sad that this was a family run, friendly little motel... that I will never return to. Outdated, everything is old, worn, a little creepy. BUT, not dirty. When was the last time you were in a hotel room with a window a/c unit? Yellow formica in the bathroom? A little old fashioned t.v. Thank goodness we had cable. The coffee at breakfast had the powdered creamer, and we ran out looking for Starbucks.

Room Tip: Oh boy, it wasn't bad, no insects or mold. But I cannot recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel this weekend.

It was about $100 per night. It's not the nicest hotel, it's dated and tired. But, we were only staying one night, so we just needed a clean, air conditioned place to sleep!

First room: Sand in the bed, broken television, bathroom door didn't shut, and...the kicker, after leaving our room for a few hours, came back and realized our door wasn't locked/didn't lock. YIKES. We complained at the front desk about the first three problems, only to have the woman shake her head and say there were no more rooms open. When we realized the lock problem, we went back and spoke to the family at the front desk (I think they own the hotel). They moved us to another room, far in the back part of the hotel, and told us to call them once we got our stuff in there. We tried to call, but the phone didn't work.

Breakfast was fine. Some juice in some tubs, cereal, waffles. Just fine.

The walls are thin, the hotel needs to be updated, and there needs to be more quality control. One star.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlebearleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I feel terribly writing this. It seemed a family owns and runs this motel. The woman at the front desk was nice and our rooms were very clean. The bathroom was exceptionally clean. It was fine for 1 night. However, it just wasn't a professional atmosphere. Some matching polo shirts, name tags and less personal items at the front desk would have been a good step. The paper taped over signs, boxes stacked in the lobby, crap in the "game room", beehive on the deck, crappy plastic chairs on the deck, noisy hallways and strange smells were less than appealing. If you stay there just for a place to sleep, it's fine. I was a little disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leem72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Of all the times we have stayed at this hotel... This time we really enjoyed our stay, I guess for $100 we spent we couldn't have asked for anything better... When I was talking to the front desk person at checkout I learned that they are renovating piece by piece. To our surprise we had one of the newer rooms with a ful granite bathroom to a big tv, comfortable bed ..what else would I want.. We couldn't stay for breakfast as we had to leave early but the menu was interesting...
front desk people are very helpful also..
Will keep coming back every year, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the 2 nd building they are nicer and I guess recently renovated..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.1 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
The Yankee Clipper Inn
The Yankee Clipper Inn
#20 of 24 in North Conway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#2 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.5 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#11 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Conway
Holiday Inn Express North Conway
#14 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 1567 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5156 (Formerly Mount Washington Valley Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of North Conway and the Shopping Outlets. The Quality Inn offers clean, comfortable and quality rooms at affordable prices. Right next door to Settlers Green and within a few minutes of all local restaurants, major attractions and ski areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Washington Valley Hotel North Conway
Mount Washington Valley Motel
Mount Washington Valley Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing