We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT as good as they think!”
Review of Briarcliff Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Briarcliff Motel
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Bonavista, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“NOT as good as they think!”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The motel is clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms, while clean, are dark and dingy and not up to date (at least our room #21). The wireless internet connection was not really good either. No breakfast included ... just coffee! The only thing top notch about this average motel was the price! They charge too much for the services provided. Maybe next time when in North Conway I'll return to the Schoolhouse Motel down the road ... same quality but a more reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    164
    74
    17
    6
See reviews for
122
214
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
441 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We have been staying at the Briarcliff Motel every year for a 3-day summer weekend since 2006. It is consistently clean and comfortable - a true home away from home. We've stayed in all three of their different room accommodations. The rooms at the back are cheaper and quieter, and have a pretty view of the pool. There is a block of rooms in the front that have screened in back porches. This is a big plus if you need some extra room. We've spent many a night there enjoying a beverage and viewing the mountain scenery. There is also porch-less rooms in the front. All of the rooms have a refrigerator, and a spotlessly-clean bathroom. The owners are so friendly and helpful. The pool is well maintained. The location can't be beat, either. It is a short 10 minute walk to all the restaurants and shops downtown. My hearty recommendation - stay at the Briarcliff Motel!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Very clean room with GREAT prices! Me & my daughter had an excellent time & felt so comfortable in the room. Strongly recommend Briarcliff Motel if you're in the North Conway, NH area!! Friendly staff as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie76nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atkinson, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2012

My family and friends continue to return to Briarcliff year after year with pleasure. It's clean, has an excellent location and is the best value for the money. The front desk is always pleasant and generous with coupons and free samples. Well done!!!!

Room Tip: We have had rooms in the back and in the front with NO noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, General Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you so much. We are so pleased you took time to write a review. We apprechiate your repeat business. I am glad you and your friends always come to the Briarcliff Motel . We are very happy you were happy with your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

This is a pleasant motel in North Conway. The location is good.

The room was large and clean. Unfortunately it certainly would now benefit from redecoration. It places it is looking a bit tired. In addition to this the lighting in the bathroom definitely needs an upgrade, it was very dark!

Overall, a pleasant stay, but we were slightly disappointed with the room.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank FLYTHEW0RLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, General Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank Yuo for taking time to write a review for the Briarcliff Motel. We appreciate your input. We are sorry you were disatisfied with the appearance of our rooms. We are in the process of redecorating them to make them brighter. We hope you will consider the Briarcliff Motel for a lodging optiion when visiting North Conway NH again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We were told that we were fortunate enough to have a room (no. 27) that was behind the main section of the motel, therefore no traffic noise etc...but being behind meant that there were patrons above us....so every step they took, every door they opened and closed woke us up,..between 5 and 6 AM....What the hell are you doing up at this time anyways ??
Told the Manager when we left but simply said that we had to call the lobby for noise and was not easy to determine if children were part of the reservation....did not agree with his answers...
Therefore, I recommend that if you need a quiet night' sleep, do not accept a room number in the 20's.
Clean room but the decoration (okay who cares) is not terrible.
Very close to Settler's Green..a few miles away.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room that starts in the 20's..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed at the Briarcliff for 3 nights while visiting Story Land with our 2 year old daughter. The front desk staff were very helpful and answered all of my questions upon making the reservation. The screened in porch is a must- well worth the few extra bucks- especially with a young child... and a rainy day! It was nice and cool at night so we were able to turn off the a/c and leave the poorch door open---nice to avoid that "stuffy" feeling sometimes felt by a motel room. Only issue was that the pool was a little "buggy" and definitely not heated during our stay. Special thanks to Suzy for her directions and dining recs. Would definitely return if we visit the area again.

Room Tip: We had no problem with the street traffic- even on the night that we had the air off- and we were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
I want to thank you for taking time to review the Briarcliff Motel. i am pleased that you were happy with your stay with us. We pride ourselves on being a clean comfortable home away from home. We are sorry the pool was not satisfactory. We look foward to accommodating you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.6 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
1.4 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 25 in North Conway
1,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#3 of 25 in North Conway
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarcliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarcliff Motel

Property: Briarcliff Motel
Address: 2304 White Mountain Hwy, Route 16 & 302 --Next to Muddy Moose Rest., North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5149
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in North Conway
#9 Family Hotel in North Conway
#10 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Briarcliff Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Briarcliff Motel has been centrally located in the heart of The Mount Washington Valley for over fifty years. Through the years, it has become a place people frequent year after year. It has proven itself among the many visitor options, as a clean and reasonably priced home away from home. Our thirty-one rooms offer king, and queen size beds. Each room is equipped with cable television, free in room coffee and tea, a telephone that offers free local calls, a mini-refrigerator, and free wireless Internet. All of the rooms are smoke and pet free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Briarcliff Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliff Motel North Conway
Briarcliff Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing