We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a lot of work.”
Review of Briarcliff Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Briarcliff Motel
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This motel is in need of some major updating. Read so many good reviews - we have stayed at the colonial motel where the rooms are super clean and updated but they were full so we took a chance and booked the briarcliff. Although the room and bathroom were clean - that's all I can say for good - the pillows were thin and on four little ones for two queen bed - no real closet - the shower did not really have hot water - maybe we were too farm from furnace? I was disappointed we couldn't park rt in front of our room due to a giant snow pile. Also - we bought tickets to cranmore from the motel - the colonial sells kids for $19 and the briarcliff sells kids for $36. What? Who's pocketing the difference? Definitely will make sure we reserve at the colonial or somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, General Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for writing a review.We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We are sorry there was some miscommunication regarding the prices of the ski passes which change from year to year and are different throughout the year( i.e .school vacation weeks ,holidays )We are updating our rooms as I write this response repainting changing color schemes replacing out dated furniture so closets will be available. Some rooms already have them. You should have come to the desk if the hot water was not to your satisfaction. we try to make our guests as comfortable as possible. We hope you will give us another try. See if our newly updated accommodations will meet your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

You are right in the center of town for 1/2 the price. Clean little place. Easy access to all ski resorts. Great discount offers to restaurants in the area. Great mountain view from the rooms. Family friendly environment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ForbsKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, Owner at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us a review. We thank you for doing it. The Briarcliff Motel tries to be a family friendly clean comfortable home away from home. We are centrally located no matter the activities you want to take advantage of in any season, Thank you for your recent visit hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I found a clean comfortable room with nice firm beds and a flat screen TV that was great for watching the Olympics. I never had any issues to raise with the staff and I will definitely return. There are enclosed decks behind the rooms a nice mountain view.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, Front Office Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

We would like to thank you for writing a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We have just recently upgraded to the flat screen HD televisions . We do pride ourselves o being a clean comfortable reasonably priced lodging option in the White Mountains region of New Hampshire. Thank you for your business. I hope we can accommodate you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had the best experience from the minute we checked in to the minute we left…. I was worried about checking in early especially being school vacation week..the staff was so courteous and expedited our welcome..We were so happy to get started on our vacation..we could relax and enjoy..
I would recommend this Motel stay to everyone.. Clean..great price and excellent location..

Room Tip: The rooms in the back with a great view of the mountains!! The rooms have a porch which is an additi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlavoie2614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, General Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you so much for writing a review. We appreciate your input. We are so please you were happy with your stay. We do pride ourselves on being a clean comfortable centrally located lodging option in Mount Washington Valley We hope to see you again SOON.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We received a warm welcome from the front desk staff. The room had WiFi and worked just fine, room was clean, we were offered additional towels since we were traveling with the kids. Location is excellent near everything in the center of town. Highly recommended will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvelynBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for writing a review. We are so pleased you were happy with your stay. We hope you enjoyed all our valley has offer in the Winter months. We would love to accommodate you and yours again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is located right next to the Wolverine Grille (excellent restaurant!) on the main strip in North Conway. The place was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff was friendly. We had a room with a single King sized bed in the back of the hotel. Nice mountain view and each room has a designated parking space (very nice touch). There was a small flat screen TV and a coffee maker in the room, along with a mini-fridge. I would say that this is one of the cleanest value hotels that I have stayed in. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the winter be sure not to put the heat on too high. It is very dry and the un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDRCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, Front Office Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your input. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit with us.We pride ourselves on being a clean,comfortable home away from home. We also try to keep our rates reasonable. We hope to see you again soon at the Briarcliff Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had another enjoyable weekend stay at the Briarcliff. The staff is always cheerful and extremely helpful. Our favorite corner room, as always, was clean and cozy, and the sun kept the back porch nice and toasty on a mid November afternoon! Thank you for making this another enjoyable weekend getaway!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, Front Office Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your getaway.
We hope you keep coming back to the Briarcliff Motel. We strive to be a clean and comfortable lodging option in The Wt. Washington Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.6 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.4 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.6 mi away
Forest Glen Inn
Forest Glen Inn
#16 of 25 in North Conway
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarcliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarcliff Motel

Address: 2304 White Mountain Hwy, Route 16 & 302 --Next to Muddy Moose Rest., North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5149
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in North Conway
#10 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
Price Range: £44 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Briarcliff Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Briarcliff Motel has been centrally located in the heart of The Mount Washington Valley for over fifty years. Through the years, it has become a place people frequent year after year. It has proven itself among the many visitor options, as a clean and reasonably priced home away from home. Our thirty-one rooms offer king, and queen size beds. Each room is equipped with cable television, free in room coffee and tea, a telephone that offers free local calls, a mini-refrigerator, and free wireless Internet. All of the rooms are smoke and pet free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Briarcliff Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliff Motel North Conway
Briarcliff Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing