We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean friendly motel”
Review of Briarcliff Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Briarcliff Motel
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice clean friendly motel”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I recently stayed at Briarcliff while touring the White Mtns. on my motorcycle. Our room was fresh, clean and very nice for our needs. The staff at Briarcliff are very friendly and most accommodating.
Ila and her team are doing a great job remodelling this motel.
The motel is "bike" friendly. We were offered cloths to help clean the dirt and bugs off our Toys :)
I would recommend this location as a nice place to stay on your travels.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant on site..but two within easy walking distance. And many just minutes away by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlfNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, General Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your trip to the White Mountains. We strive to be a clean, comfortable place for all our guests to stay.We insist all our associates are friendly and professional. We are still updating all our rooms. We hope you come back to see when we are all finished and will enjoy the changes that have been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    165
    75
    17
    6
See reviews for
123
216
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
wernersville
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Our stay was very pleasant. The rooms were clean. Our room had a large enclosed porch with a beautiful view of the mountains. It was great having a small refrigerator for drinks. There was a large flat screen TV. We don't drink coffee, but there was a coffeemaker available with packets of coffee. The bathroom was newly remodeled, to lend the room a bed and breakfast feel. The staff was very helpful and went out of their say to help us. The rates were very reasonable. I will definitely plan to stay here again. I understand that there are still more renovations taking place and I look forward to seeing the results. Keep up the good work!! The only suggestion I would make is more electrical outlets to accommodate the ever growing number of electronics that need to be recharged. Oh yes, I forgot free wifi, a must with those electronics.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rolfaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, General Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. Your input is very important to us. We are so pleased you were happy with your stay.We strive to keep our motel clean and comfortable. We also insist our staff be helpful and friendly.Hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, RI
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Nice hotel...clean...friendly staff...near everything...if its just a couple..any room is fine...but we had a balcony king room which was very nice...flat screen t.v....screened in balcony and has seperators between rooms...so you have a little privacy...if you have kids...would suggest rooms on the bottom level in the back...nice grassy area outside the door and just steps away from the outdoor pool. Would stay again.

Room Tip: See review.....regarding kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, General Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on being clean ,comfortable and family friendly. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magog, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We go at the Briarcliif Motel Almost in every month and its always nice. The service is amazing, rooms are very clean and newly renovated. Peoples are very helful and taken care of us. Don't waste your time, this is absolutely the best motel in all North Conway area, believe me !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, Front Office Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for visiting with us again. We appreciate your repeat business.We are delighted that everything was to your satisfaction. Hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We are frequent visitors to the North Conway area and have stayed at this hotel in the past. This trip was a very last minute thought and the rate was fantastic. The lady that checked us in was very welcoming and pleasant. She truly seemed happy to have us at the hotel. She explained that they were in the process of redoing the hotel...ok, I thought......

We were in a king sized room that had not been redone yet. It was clean but dated and worn. The bed was hard as a rock and the single pillow was very thin. Just about the worst bed I have ever slept in in a hotel. I really wished that I had brought my own pillows. We both had a terrible nights sleep. There were not enough outlets for charging phones. The temperature in the room was easily controlled for comfort. The TV service was better than most but the W-fi was spotty and weak at best. The floors were very creaky and saggy throughout the room.

All in all, the hotel was ok for the price paid. We paid a low rate and got an old tired room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dontat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, General Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you taking time to write a review. We are sorry the room was not satisfactory.The Front Desk associate was correct in telling you we are renovating all the rooms. We are also replacing furniture and bedding. We always have extra pillows, blankets, towels available to all guests The Wi-Fi we can fix if we know just call the Front Desk and we can fix it remotely. We hope that you will return and we can accommodate you in the summer so you can see and feel all the changes we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorham, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The rooms are being re-done. It was clean and comfortable, reasonable price and close to everything. The front desk was very helpful and friendly. Lots of restaurants nearby and close to the ski areas. Worth a look!

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear offer a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, General Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate it. We are very pleased you were happy with your stay.The Briarcliff Motel prides itself on being a clean comfortable home away from home. We are updating and renovating ALL the rooms to accommodate all our guests better.Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Briarcliff Motel is a motel, not a romantic little B&B, nor an resort elegant hotel. But - it's clean, rooms are pretty spacious for an old motel, and the front desk friendly and efficient. The Briarcliff will need some updating in the near future, but everything fully functional as is. Not a place to sit by the fireplace sipping wine (no fireplace, no restaurant), but if you need a decent place to spend the night (or nights) at a reasonable price, you'll like the Briarcliff just fine.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SHK-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, Front Office Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are pleased our motel was satisfactory for your visit to the Mt. Washington Valley. We are updating all our rooms now for the upcoming Spring and Summer seasons. New color schemes, furniture, and linens. We hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.6 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
0.6 mi away
Forest Glen Inn
Forest Glen Inn
#16 of 25 in North Conway
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#3 of 25 in North Conway
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarcliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarcliff Motel

Property: Briarcliff Motel
Address: 2304 White Mountain Hwy, Route 16 & 302 --Next to Muddy Moose Rest., North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5149
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in North Conway
#9 Family Hotel in North Conway
#10 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Briarcliff Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Briarcliff Motel has been centrally located in the heart of The Mount Washington Valley for over fifty years. Through the years, it has become a place people frequent year after year. It has proven itself among the many visitor options, as a clean and reasonably priced home away from home. Our thirty-one rooms offer king, and queen size beds. Each room is equipped with cable television, free in room coffee and tea, a telephone that offers free local calls, a mini-refrigerator, and free wireless Internet. All of the rooms are smoke and pet free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Briarcliff Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliff Motel North Conway
Briarcliff Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing