We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bang for your buck!”
Review of Briarcliff Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Briarcliff Motel
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great bang for your buck!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Great place to stop in a great location in N. Conway. As far as value goes you can't beat it, nice clean sheets, excellent and friendly service as well. Whether you're passing through, or skiing, hiking etc Briarcliff is a stones throw from it all in one of the prettiest areas in New England.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outdoorlover1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, Front Office Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and all Mt. Washington Valley has to offer.We hope we can accommodate you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    163
    74
    16
    6
See reviews for
121
213
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

When we entered room, rooms was not cleaned from prior person 3 there wrre 3 roll of pennies on in made bed , we asked to cancel our stay front desk attendant maintained and enforced their 7 day prior cancellation policy even though they did not live up to the standard they advertise. Even more insulting the blame was put on housekeeper since she or he told that the room was cleaned. Mgr refuse to take responsibility.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cashmere627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, Owner at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We are sorry it was our mistake. We did offer you a clean newly remodeled and decorated room which you decided not to take. We reviewed the situation and the front desk person followed the procedure we have in place.The bed was not made and room not cleaned because the housekeepers were unaware it was dirty.We did not charge you because you did not stay The manager was not on duty and the front desk person did not take responsibility because it was not her mistake,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I am travelling with my wife and 3 teenage children from PEI to Ontario and we have stopped in North Conway, something we do annually. We booked two rooms at the Briarcliff, through Hotels.com because we had five people. We arrived to find out that check-out was 10:00 a.m. and that they would only extend it until 11:00 a.m. The motel looks like it is only a quarter full, and check-in is at 3:00 p.m., so I did not get the strict checkout time. Despite the 11:00 checkout request, housekeeping came by at 9:00 a.m. this morning and knocked on the doors.
Each of the rooms had king beds and we requested a cot for our son. We were told that the cot would only fit in one of the rooms and that it would be an extra $10.00. The manager then walked around to our rooms, which were in the back of the motel, and told us that we would also have to pay an additional 10.00 for the third person in one of the rooms(sorry - it's policy!). We travel through eastern USA by vehicle, as a family, at least twice a year and have never had "policy" thrown at us, especially when we booked an additional room, and did not try to pack us all into one room. I did mention that the motel was not anywhere near full.

The rooms themselves were something that one would expect Frat boys to stay in, on a party weekend. The décor(term used loosely!) reminded me of the trips I used to take with my parents in the 1960's and 70's. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable, but the amenities(soaps, towels and shampoos) were really bargain basement. The wireless was weak and it took 2 trips and a call to the front desk, to have it finally work.
We have stayed over in North Conway at least 15 times and have never, until this trip, been disappointed. It is safe to say that we will never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, General Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review. We are sorry you were not pleased with our services or your stay. We need to know the amount of people in the room to provide you with the correct number of towels and supplies. We also have a policy of double occupancy which also is a matter of safety.We were unaware the Wi-Fi was not working so we appreciate you bringing it to our attention.We did verify with other properties in the area that they charge for extra people over age 10,which we did not charge you for. We were almost at full occupancy for that day and were sold out for the next day and that is why we could not extend your check out time.Again we are sorry you were disappointed. We do strive to be a clean comfortable reasonably priced option for North Conway,NH.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This was a clean family run motel that offered good value.

The room was spotlessly clean and it was in a good location.

The checkin was good and I could not fault the staff at the motel.

They had a clean swimming pool and good parking - the only fault was that the wifi was a bit dodgy - but all in all a good pit stop.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AandBnewadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, Front Office Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are upgrading our Wi-Fi speed so it will work seamlessly.We hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

this is probably our 4th or 5th stay here. Its always very clean and reasonable. Miss the beautiful blue plaid walls--walls are just plain. missed having a table high enough to sit and eat or play games . we just had a small short table between chairs. Needs minor repairs here and there. BUT for a family vacation, its very enjoyable--the pool is always IMMACULATELY CLEAN and beds are VERY comfortable & rooms VERY CLEAN-------WIFI was not reliable

Room Tip: rooms in rear of buildings are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theajenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, General Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate your repeat business, We are glad you were happy with your stay. We strive to be a clean comfortable lodging option with reasonable rates.We have just upgraded our free Wi-Fi and added more connections. We hope we can accommodate you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirovsk
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful place!!! !!!!!!

Stayed here for three nights, everything was good. Rooms are clean, stuff is nice and I liked the pool in back! The motel is also in the comfy area, everything is close.
Definitely will stay in here next time!!!!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sonya009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, General Manager at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed you visit with us. We strive to be clean and comfortable. We are centrally located to all Mt. Washington valley has to offer. Thanks again and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Briarcliff is family run. The staff is terrific and will cater to any of your needs. The rooms are basic and clean. The bed was very comfortable, free WiFi, good TV... When traveling if you want a good bed and do not need a huge room, this place is perfect.

Room Tip: There upgraded rooms with a view to the west... are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChasM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, Owner at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks you so much for writing a review for the Briarcliff Motel. We are pleased you enjoyed you stay. We try to make all our guests fell welcomed and keep a clean,comfortable lodging option. We hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.1 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
1.1 mi away
The Yankee Clipper Inn
The Yankee Clipper Inn
#20 of 24 in North Conway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#7 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarcliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarcliff Motel

Property: Briarcliff Motel
Address: 2304 White Mountain Hwy, Route 16 & 302 --Next to Muddy Moose Rest., North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5149
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in North Conway
#9 Family Hotel in North Conway
#10 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Briarcliff Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Briarcliff Motel has been centrally located in the heart of The Mount Washington Valley for over fifty years. Through the years, it has become a place people frequent year after year. It has proven itself among the many visitor options, as a clean and reasonably priced home away from home. Our thirty-one rooms offer king, and queen size beds. Each room is equipped with cable television, free in room coffee and tea, a telephone that offers free local calls, a mini-refrigerator, and free wireless Internet. All of the rooms are smoke and pet free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Briarcliff Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliff Motel North Conway
Briarcliff Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing