We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Briarcliff Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Briarcliff Motel
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We throughly enjoyed our stay. The staff could not have be better. The rooms were clean and efficient. The hotel was in a great position in Conway.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2010

We had a nice stay for two nights at the Briarcliff motel. Management was very nice and the location very convenient to town. Generally, our room was clean (see below) with two beds and a relatively new bathroom. We had two windows to give nice ventilation, but one window was over looking the parking lot and the other was overlooking a parking lot for a restaurant/bar. Traffic from route 16 was loud and noise from the bar parking lot was too loud to have the windows open even though the temperature was perfect for sleeping with windows open. Fumes from idling cars in the bar lot were bothersome as was the road noise.

The first evening, upon pulling off the bedspread, the blanket looked dirty as if sticky fingers had pressed into the blanket and I did not feel like it was clean. I notified management, who immediately gave me a new blanket still in a package. I also asked for a sheet to put on the carpet for the baby to play on. They very kindly provided this.

With three little kids, the room was a bit on the tight side as there was no eating area for the kids to snack on. I don't like to let them eat on the beds and if they ate on the floor, the baby would be into all of their things. So, for our needs the room was not a good match.

We walked all around the motel and the rear rooms overlooking the pool and lawn seem to be the way to go. I wish we would have been put in one of these. The pool looked nice, but the weather was too cool for our little children to use an outdoor pool. The upper rooms / parking lot level actually have a three season porch on them. Perhaps this allows for a small table for eating?? If so, then the room set up might work for a family with small children.

I did notice washer and dryers, but we did not use them. Also, the motel indicates it has WIfi. I don't know if it is by fee. We tried to access it for our iphones, but you needed a log on id and password and this was not provided upon check in nor listed in our room.

So, all in all, a clean nice place. Traffic noise can be loud. Rear rooms are the way to go. Pool and lawn in rear look nice. Option to have w/d great. Management very responsive.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAMommyof2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

My husband and I went to North Conway for a mini vacation and has the pleasure of staying at the Briarcliff. We found it through Trip Advisor and took a chance. Boy did we luck out. Room was a little dark due to wallpaper and dark paint, but exceptionally clean and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in away from home. We enjoyed it so much that we extended our two night stay to three. Very quiet also for a motel that is on the highway (all other motels/hotels are as well). We are planning on returning to the Briarcliff in November. Thanks again Briarcliff for a wonderful experience!!!

Dale and Wayne Bichard

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dale54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Very clean and well tended motel. Rooms were small but cozy and the back deck/balcony with a superb view of the mountains was a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefanyul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I stayed for a weekend with my husband and kids. The room was spotless. The beds were super comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamiesn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Ask for room 8 or 9 for a great view of Whitehorse Ledge and sunsets. Large pool with shallow end for kids. Very helpful staff in recommending area attractions and restaurants. Quiet and cozy rooms, with great balcony for reading/relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mainecentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

My family and I had a wonderful time. The motel was very clean. The pool was sparkling clean. I Would recondmend This motel for anybody .I already booked for labor day weekend

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigduggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.6 mi away
Forest Glen Inn
Forest Glen Inn
#16 of 25 in North Conway
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,427 reviews
2.1 mi away
White Trellis Motel
White Trellis Motel
#24 of 25 in North Conway
112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarcliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarcliff Motel

Address: 2304 White Mountain Hwy, Route 16 & 302 --Next to Muddy Moose Rest., North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5149
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in North Conway
#9 Family Hotel in North Conway
#10 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
Price Range: £47 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Briarcliff Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Briarcliff Motel has been centrally located in the heart of The Mount Washington Valley for over fifty years. Through the years, it has become a place people frequent year after year. It has proven itself among the many visitor options, as a clean and reasonably priced home away from home. Our thirty-one rooms offer king, and queen size beds. Each room is equipped with cable television, free in room coffee and tea, a telephone that offers free local calls, a mini-refrigerator, and free wireless Internet. All of the rooms are smoke and pet free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Briarcliff Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliff Motel North Conway
Briarcliff Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing