We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical - no change from the old days here”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Friendly's

Friendly's
Ranked #7 of 8 Dessert in North Conway
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
278 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Typical - no change from the old days here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Friendly's is advertising a change in their approach. Well not this one. We were left (along with many others) almost 10 minutes at the front door with no greeter or any sign that there was a person in charge. The rear section was closed off most likely because of lack of staff.

Our server was lovely. She was, however, very overworked by what seemed to be a dysfunctional kitchen. Trying to explain to other tables "the machine broke" when their dessert was so late they were drumming the table.

Our food was ok, but the new menu wasn't very attractive. The kids menu was ok but predictable.

There were booths left uncleaned while customers waited for seating. One hadn't been touched in the whole time we were there.

Friendly's problems have always been fatty foods and overworked servers. This one continued that tradition.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fenway1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    52
    36
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hebron, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An average stop, good for families!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had breakfast here. It is decent and I have found that Friendlies seems to be consistent anywhere we have eaten. The wife's omelet was good and the home fries decent. I had the red Velvet waffle. It was interesting, but traditional waffles are more to my liking. Overall, a good place to stop if you can't find anything else that is a known location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George06483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
203 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Ouch, pass!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Two other restaurants nearby we really wanted to visit we full on a Sunday night... So we decided to gamble on this place...

Don't.

Other than ice cream, there is nothing half decent here and the place is filthy.

Pass for sure.

Helpful?
Thank petertherock1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackman, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We love to go here with the family cause it really is a friendly place with great food and the kids love the balloons...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackmanhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Ice Cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Friendly's has very good ice cream. I had already had dinner, so I stopped for an ice cream cone. It was very good. The service was excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Friendly's also viewed

North Conway, Conway
North Conway, Conway
 
North Conway, Conway
 

Been to Friendly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing