We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Gables Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Whenever we go to North Conway, this is where we stay. Great rooms, great service, close to Settlers Green. Its our home away from home. Already counting down the days until we return. Maybe I shouldn't be giving such glowing reviews as it'll make it harder to get a room. lol

Room Tip: Great value, great service, excellent location. tip: Ask for rooms in the back building, they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novascroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    148
    26
    3
    3
See reviews for
160
292
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this place for one night this past memorial day weekend. There are plenty of franchise hotels close to this but we decided to stay at this place for price as we wanted to just sleep and continue our journey early next morning. The rooms were surprisingly very clean , view from balcony was amazing and the hotel staff were very nice to us. Only downside was no breakfast and that would be problem for most of the travelers but not us as we are vegeterians.

Overall its a steal... I would recommended to everyone.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

I am sorry to have to write this review. We had very high expectations from the pictures and the reviews, written on trip adviser, but on arrival, first impressions did not coincide with some of the pictures so we asked to see a room before checking in. We found the room to be acceptable with a nice balcony with two chairs and a small table, however the room itself and bathroom were very small and did not suit our needs. In addition the fridge was not in working order which we particularly needed. We are grateful that management did not charge us a cancellation fee and we found another place to stay that suited our needs better. My best recommendation would be to ask to see your room before checking in. For some they might be very happy with this small hotel, where others may be very disappointed compared to there expectations. I definitely disagree with the five star rating, however all things considered three stars would be fair.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBug2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed here with my daughter after a day of walking around No. Conway.. Booked a room here because of the great reviews on TA... The reviews don't lie! We stayed in a very spacious "king deluxe," with a private balcony, refrigerator & microwave, flat screen tv and the bed was comfortable enough .. And can't beat the price! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gastrogirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I went up for the weekend and I booked last minute after reading the great reviews. We have to say that they are all correct! This is a great place to stayl The inn is so clean and kept up to date. We had a King Jacuzzi room and we couldn't get over how spacious the room was! The other plus that we noticed is how quiet it is in the room. Even though the rooms were pretty full all around us, there wasn't much noise at all. The owner was very helpful in giving us ideas on where to go to eat, shop or just sight see. He was very pleasant and took time to talk to the customers. We will definetly go back to stay there again!

Room Tip: The King Jacuzzi rooms have a fireplace and are huge, but the owner said there are a little smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieQ720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hyde Park, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

What a great place. It might not be the most extravagent luxurious place you've ever been. But if you are looking for affordability, nice size rooms, CLEANLINESS, and just a decent place to put your head down at night that won't break the bank this place can't be beat.

Its got a great location, the rooms are a nice size, beds are comfy, flat screen TV is nice, Bathrooms do the job and are very clean, and you get a nice little patio with every room. The owner is there almost all the time, he was very helpful... spent 20 minutes telling me about almost every restaurant in town.

Good location, good people, good price. A+++ Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Quick weekend trip to North Conway. I have stayed in the area numerous times throughout the past 11 years and usually stay at resort or condominium rental locations. This time because it was just two of us (as opposed to the large group we usually visit with) and to save some money, we stayed here. Wow! So unbelievably and pleasantly surprised. First, we arrived late at night and someone was at check-in, happily greeting us and welcoming us in. Second, the room was immaculate. It wasn't a really big room, but perfectly sized. Desk, sitting area, sliding doors to our own balcony. The bathroom was spot less. I had read online that most of the rooms were renovated in 2006. It looked like it was even more recent than that. Everything was so clean. It just felt comfy. Oh and the bed! The bed was so comfortable. We slept in way later than we normally do. Ahhhh, the bed! It was more than I had expected and made our weekend stay that much relaxing. Minutes from outlets and tons of places to eat. Staff was very helpful in suggesting places to go eat as well. I would not only stay here again but recommend it to others. As we drove off, we were already thinking of next year winter trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iamamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.9 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#7 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gables Inn

Property: Golden Gables Inn
Address: 1814 White Mountain Hwy, Route 16 & 302, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5146
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#3 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Gables Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a perfectly convenient location in the center of North Conway. We offer 58 rooms from single king beds, double queen beds, suites or in-room Jacuzzi and fireplace units. All rooms are new or recently remodeled. 2 blocks from outlet shopping, great restaurants. Spacious back yard with pool and playground. Snowmobile trail access and discount lift tix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Gables Hotel North Conway
Golden Gables Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing