We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't Get Any Better”
Review of Golden Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Gables Inn
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Back for vacation in the Mt. Washington Valley. Golden Gables excels again. Clean rooms--not even a hair in the tub!! Great playground for the kids. Our best home away from home!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoonsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

The Golden Gables is family owned and the care and dedication shows. Rooms are clean and modern but don't feel like a chain motel/hotel. Location is excellent with restaurants and shopping , mountain views and short drive to National Forest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front buildings (street side) for mountain views. Ask for building in the rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DixwichHollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The Golden Gables was a nice surprise. Our room was immaculate, bed was ultra comfortable and room had everthing we needed. Particularly enjoyed our balcony looking out towards the lovely grounds with pool. It's location can't be beat and we could walk to a number of restaurants and shopping outlets. We'll be back

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbydelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Since it was July, we did not make any reservations in advance before going to North Conway. We selected Golden Gables based purely on outward appearance, primarily it looked clean and well kept and stayed two nights. As per the outside, the rooms were very clean and had modern fittings - it looks as though they renovated fairly recently. The a/c was very quiet and the large private deck was quite nice. We did not try the pool or the grill/firepit areas but other people were using them both days so presumably they were in good working order. The staff at the front desk were very helpful with area activities, recommending restaurants, etc. We had a room along the front of the building. The curtains are light-blocking which let us sleep in. It had a bit of traffic noise (all the motels along Rt 16 seem to have some traffic noise) as other people have noted, the WIFI was a bit slow/weak but acceptable for our needs. I've stayed in many other places in the area in the same price range that have seemed a bit worn down and musty. This was much better. There is a breakfast place across the (busy) street - it's filling even if not inspiring.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear building are quieter. More light and private deck on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chammerkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

This is the best bang for your buck for lodging in North Conway. I checked other hotels for what their rooms have to offer and this is the one. The larger hotels like the North Conway Grand have basic rooms with 4 walls, bed, bath and not much else for a premium price. For the same price, you can stay at the Golden Gables Inn and you will get a king bed, fire place, jacuzzi in the room, flat screen tv and a patio off the front of the room ( not all rooms have these items). The rooms are very clean and up to date and you can't beat the location. Close to all the major attractions that you came for. Mount Washington, Story Land, Outlet shopping, White mountains, skiing, Fryeburg fair and so on and so on.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lu131fitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Our visit to No Conway was again a delight. Our stay at Golden Gables was perfect. Besides the extreme cleanliness, the bed and bedding was very comfortable. Our room had a balcony, we could leave the sliders open at night for the refreshing mountain air. The pool was as clean as the room and the personnel were accommodating, polite, and welcoming. All the rooms are non smoking BUT smoking on the balconies and outside of the rooms is permissable. Understandable but very offensive to non smokers. We had a wonderful time-again, and have already reserved our room for the fall! Try it I believe you will like the Golden Gables.

Room Tip: Some rooms require you to take the stairs. If there is a physical limitation get the room with balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNUBBEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Golden Gables Inn. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean and had a balcony overlooking the pool , with views towards the mountains. Our bed was extremely good with a new mattress . We would definitely advise others to stay at this Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACJHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.5 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gables Inn

Address: 1814 White Mountain Hwy, Route 16 & 302, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5146
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in North Conway
#3 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
Price Range: £65 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Gables Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a perfectly convenient location in the center of North Conway. We offer 58 rooms from single king beds, double queen beds, suites or in-room Jacuzzi and fireplace units. All rooms are new or recently remodeled. 2 blocks from outlet shopping, great restaurants. Spacious back yard with pool and playground. Snowmobile trail access and discount lift tix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Golden Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Gables Hotel North Conway
Golden Gables Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing