We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Campground and Good Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Conway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saco River Camping Area
Certificate of Excellence
Johnston,RI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Campground and Good Location”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the Saco River campground from July 19 through July 26th. Very convenient since we have a motor home and Do not tow our own car. Lots of stores and Restaurants close by to walk or ride your bike, but being in the Campground you would never know it was right off the Main highway.
It was a Nice family vacation with our 2 children 10 and 13yrs , nice to get away from all the technology and just enjoy outside! Wifi was non existent, but hey that's why we go camping right? to get away! My only complaint was the pool really wasn't heated , no biggie
The river was Cold but very fun !! Owners were super Nice and seemed to care about our stay there. Also restrooms were very clean too! We will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback on your experience with us. We're thrilled you had a great time and really appreciate your feedback. We wanted you to know that the pool is heated to 78 degree's....we understand that may still be chilly for some :) As for the Wi-Fi, we do offer Wi-Fi in many sites/areas throughout the campground, but bandwidth is limited here so when were busy service is negatively impacted. We apologize for this and are working to make it better. Thanks again and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    25
    11
    12
    5
See reviews for
67
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My family and I arrived this past Tuesday morning to find our site clean and ready for early check in. The larger-than-most site was perfect, with the right blend of clearing for space and trees for shade. We have a 200 square foot tent, along with two cars, so the large site was perfect. The staff are always pleasant, and the campsite has a ton of things to do for families. We have three kids (7, 5, and 3) so all the activities - dunk tank, pool, life-size chess board, carraige rides, bike rentals, mining for gems - were great. And you cannot beat the location to the Saco River. From our site, it was about a one minute walk right into the river - where we floated down on our tubes every day we could! It is a really a great place, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who likes to camp - both for us tenters and those of you with campers :-)

Room Tip: Lots of the sites are on the river, but most of them are so close it doesn't even matter where y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
It's great to hear what a wonderful stay you had with us. We really appreciate taking your valuable time to let us know how about your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have been camping at the Saco River Camping Area on and off over the past 25 years. This year we have noticed, under the new ownership, nice improvements. Although we were not able to have a site along the river, we were very pleased with the site which we chose. The new management responded very quickly and professionally to issues that arose during our stay. The washrooms were, for the most part, kept clean, however having said this, we also believe that it is the responsibility of the campers to keep this common area clean. We will definitely be back next year.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JudeGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

In reading some reviews of this campground I just don't get it. Either some of these folks are part of a vendetta against this campground or they are just plain unreasonable.

Powers out and wants compensation....really??? I don't even think it was out 2 hours.

We've been camping here for the last three years and just wrapped up another great week.

If you don't immediately see and feel the amazing difference from last several years you must have your eyes closed. It's never been in better shape.

The pool area looks like something from a resort.

Almost every time we were in the bathroom someone was there to clean it...we've never seen anything like it.

We loved the karaoke and the kids had a blast on the new outdoor ping pong table. The mining station was lots of fun too.

We also found everyone from reservations to office staff welcoming and easy to work with. The maintenance staff even helped us with our TV issue which had nothing to do with them, but they fixed it anyhow. Thank you.

The new owners are doing a great job and the complainers should find another place to camp. Some people recognize something good when they see it and this place has gone from just okay to great!

Keep up the good work and don't let some of these nay sayers get you down. Your place is packed with lots of happy guests.Good luck.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterlover56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi There,

Thanks so much for the great review and we appreciate your support and enthusiasm for the campground.

We're trying very hard to get it right and appreciate everyone's feedback. We're constantly learning how to do things better, but reviews like yours tell us we're getting there.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We won't be coming back. Too crowded, noisy, and staff doesn't really respond to concerns or requests. Advertised internet, which either nonexistent or horrendously slow when I could finally connect. Lost power on our second day for most of the afternoon. No explanations, no refunds to compensate. Being on the River could have been a lovely experience, over crowding and subpar management were very disappointing. There are a few amenities and kids activities on the grounds, pet friendly, of course access to the river, and restrooms were kept cleaned and stocked. If you have any expectations of privacy at all, look at other camping areas.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello There,

I read your review and while it was great to see that you enjoyed the activities onsite, the cleanliness of the property and the river I also noticed you had some concerns which I wanted to respond to:

1. The internet is a free service and is limited to the amount of bandwidth available to our property. You're camping in a rural area and we simply don't have the bandwidth available to us to provide high levels of service when the system being used by hundreds of guests at the same time. If fiber becomes available at some time in the future that may change, but for now we have increased the service 10 fold over last year, but it's still not enough when were very busy. It's a common problem in rural areas.

2. Power was lost on Saturday early afternoon for less than 2 hours due to a power transformer fuse blowing down the road from us. It impacted us along with other areas businesses. Maintenance went around and notified guests they saw about the issue. This was not an issue created by us or some lack of maintenance on our end. Just your typical power outage we could not control.

3. As you discovered the campground is very popular and many guests love our waterfront sites. So much so, they have been coming back for decades to the very same site. This said, we are busy place and you might have found a better experience in some of our wooded and secluded sites where you would have had lots of privacy.

We hope we'll see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have been dedicated campers for many years at Saco River Camping Area......this year was no exception, with understanding the 3 new owners were putting their spin on running the campground. Sure, there are some changes we aren't quite happy with....such as a $150 deposit for camping the same week of 2015. After vacationing for a week, not everyone can afford an additional $150 for a vacation deposit...a YEAR later !? Understandably, some people have ruined the policy of making the reservation upon departure, and deposit due come February of the next year.......but $150 ! That's not going to go over well with a lot of dedicated yearly campers. A lesser deposit, say $50, should be sufficient in showing good faith.

We also noticed that some campground rules were not enforced equally. Our neighbors were asked to take down their clothesline.....at 5pm ! Yet, no one else seemed to be taking down their clotheslines.......really? and at 5pm ? Many folks don't even get off the river much before 5pm........and it doesn't get dark until 9pm...........and how much difference is there between clotheslines and tarp/tent lines anyways ? We found similar discrepancies with quiet time, barking dogs, loud music and fires extinguished by 11pm.

Overall, we are keeping an open mind. Not only do the 3 new owners have to be able to work together, making decisions on how to best run the campground, they also have to enforce new policies they feel will benefit the campground as a whole. Some policies make work, some may not......and some may need adjusting.

This review system is a great way to make suggestions. Its nice to see management responding.......unfortunately, it seems the response in mostly towards the negative reviews. ALL reviews deserve feedback from the management.

Thank you !

Happy Camping Kayaker

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jl12566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Trip Advisor. I also wanted to respond to your comments.

The decision on the deposit amount was made based on other high demand campgrounds and what they charge. Just in our area there are campgrounds charging more for their advanced deposits and in some cases they make it completely non-refundable. Still, others don't even offer the ability to advance reserve. We understand $150.00 may be a lot for some. Keep in mind the deposit is not a requirement, but an option for guests who want to reserve a year in advance. However, we will review this policy along with others after we close for the season.

Rule enforcement is something we consistently work on with our staff. Being seasonal we have many new staff members that require education and reinforcement on our rules. Still, you're correct they should be applied consistently and we strive to do just that.

Clothes lines can be very dangerous, particularly with the amount of children at our campground. Also, they are typically hung lower then tarp/tent lines. As a result, we request them to be down by 5:00PM.

Thanks for keeping an open mind and you're right all feedback deserves a response. We'll work on that.

BTW - Trip Advisor is a great tool for feedback, but stopping by the office and providing in person feedback is often even more helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machias, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have been camping here for 16 years and are upset to see some changes. Tonight and a couple of nights this week we have seen several kids waiting for the haydride which has always gone on every night. Tonight several kids were turned away & told they did not have enough staff. Yet I've seen much more staff then there ever was before. How sad for the kids. They also use to have ice cream socials, candy bar bingo & other activities for the kids. They did however have karaoke which was fun.
The bathrooms also are not 1/2 as clean as they use to be. Even at 6 a.m this morning. These need to be kept up with.
We realize with new ownership comes changes, but this is a family campground & the hayrides were a huge part of what made all the campers evenings special..for young and old.
Also not happy with having to make a $150 deposit with in 10 days after being on vacation here for almost 2 weeks.

I also was told that someone would open the gate for me today, I waited a couple minutes..nothing. The person who was supposed to open the gate walked out & drove off. I called the office & got an automated system & put on hold when there were 3 staff members in the office & not on the phone, minutes before? Is there a direct line to talk to someone?

We love being here & always have but hope that the focus remains on the "family", "cleanliness", & "friendliness" to everyone. Obviously people dont like change but somethings definitely need to be worked on.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldilocks1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hello There,

I see your stay did not meet your expectations and for that were sorry. We would like to speak to some of your concerns and comments.

You're correct, we have significantly more staff than in the past and now clean the bathrooms 7-8 times per day compared to less than half that before. Unfortunately, there are still times when they are cleaned and nearly immediately dirtied again. We are working to better perfect this, but clearly we're not there yet.

As for the wagon rides, we are having them nightly during the summer (less rain days). However, if we don't have a trained person to operate the equipment (sickness or otherwise) we don't run it. The safety of our guests is just too important.

It was nice that you noticed we added Karaoke and that you enjoyed it. We continue to invest to entertainment options for our guests and added or updated such things as Bocce, Wi-Fi, horseshoe pits, table tennis, ring toss and more all with one's family in mind. However, we are working to add more activities; ones that have been done in years past and some new activities as well!

Finally, the deposit requirement was needed. Sadly, too many guests never paid for their reservation, but still had us turning away potential new guests while we waited to hear from them. It's unfortunate for those who did the right thing, but holding a reservation for 8+ months with no money wasn't sustainable.

Hopefully, if you choose to visit us again you'll see additional improvements and we'll show you that we heard you. Family camping is our focus now and into the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.4 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#2 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Conway
Holiday Inn Express North Conway
#14 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saco River Camping Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saco River Camping Area

Property: Saco River Camping Area
Address: 1550 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5144
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in North Conway
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saco River Camping Area is in the heart of the Mount Washington Valley, at the center of it all. We offer peaceful camping in a nature filled setting with loads of onsite things to do, yet we're within easy walking distance of stores, restaurants, entertainment, and TAX FREE factory outlet shopping. Hop in your car and churches, hospital, hiking and bicycle trails, tennis courts and golf courses are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saco River Camping Area Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing