We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Conway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saco River Camping Area
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

It has been years since I have been to SRC, the new owners are doing a great job. They are very responsive to questions and I got the feel they are trying to do their best. I do agree that the pool area is very small for the size campground, but I spent more time down at the river because I have a dog. I was there when the power went out, it was no fault of the campground so I do not agree with needing to be reimbursed. The only downside I can say is the massive dirt on most of the sites. With having a dog and liking a clean camper, it made for quite the mess. Our site wasn't just packed down dirt, it was more like loose dirt that got everywhere! It could have been better maintained. I would not hesitate to go again if I can get a site that is more grassy than dirt though.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnajo1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thanks for the great feedback! We're happy you had such a great time. As for the dirt, for better or worse it's what Mother Nature provided us and it's what she's brings back every spring. We maintain sites regularly, but realize dirt and spotless campers are a tough combination. We have dozens of grassy sites ( a little further from the river) which may provide a better experience for you.

Thanks again for visiting and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Saco River Camping Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

I can't say enough positive things about this camping area! Endless activities in the dampness and the local area. I've never seen a campground with so much staff everywhere! Very clean, staff was friendly. The daily organized sports activities were like summer camp for my kids. The only odd thing was that the pull through sites faced each other. A little weird to be watching your neighbors eat dinner and hang their laundry! If we were traveling with friends that would have been awesome to be facing each other, but just a little weird with strangers! That didn't deter from our awesome experience! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank wwfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Saco River Camping Area. We're glad you had such a great time and look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Saco River Camping area is a fantastic campground and the new owners are doing a great job. My family and I have been camping at SRC for over 11 years and I was pleasantly surprised at most of the changes that we discovered this year. The campground is immaculately maintained and the staff professional, courteous, and pleasantly helpful at all times. My complaints, I have never been a fan of the tiny swimming pool at this campground which has always been overcrowded and is now worse with the addition of what looks to be 20 new sites on the property this year. The other issue I have is that the campground claims to have WiFi Internet. It does not. I've seen responses from the campground explaining that it's a free service and limited by the number of people consuming the available bandwidth... Sorry but this is 2014 and if you don't offer internet you're out of business these days so the fact that it's free really doesn't fly. I've been in Information Technology for 20+ years and know that bandwidth is scalable and this campground needs to scale up. Many people in todays world take working vacations and if you offer internet you NEED to provide it.

Room Tip: If you are on a working vacation and NEED WiFi you will be disappointed but if you are looking for a...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hi There MC,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent experience with us and we're thrilled you had a great time here. We also deeply appreciate the kinds words for our hard working staff, facilities and management.

I wanted to respond to your concern about Wi-Fi what we have done and the limitations that we are dealing with.

We have increased available bandwidth 10X vs.last year (DSL) and expanded coverage areas around the campground by replacing and expanding the entire Wi-Fi radio infrastructure throughout the property.Unfortunately, as we broadened our coverage areas we also started picking up many more devices. These days we can find 300-500 devices connected to the Wi-Fi service.

Therefore even with aggressive filtering, throttling and numerous other technologies to make the most of our currently available bandwidth it can still fall short.

Unfortunately, while it's true the bandwidth is scalable it is not infinitely scalable without additional capacity. The sad reality is many of our guests have more bandwidth at their homes than is available to us in this rural area.

Still, we are focused on maximizing the usability of the service and consistently improving our guests experience. With this in mind, we are implementing some additional Wi-Fi infrastructure components to help us improve the service.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the Saco River campground from July 19 through July 26th. Very convenient since we have a motor home and Do not tow our own car. Lots of stores and Restaurants close by to walk or ride your bike, but being in the Campground you would never know it was right off the Main highway.
It was a Nice family vacation with our 2 children 10 and 13yrs , nice to get away from all the technology and just enjoy outside! Wifi was non existent, but hey that's why we go camping right? to get away! My only complaint was the pool really wasn't heated , no biggie
The river was Cold but very fun !! Owners were super Nice and seemed to care about our stay there. Also restrooms were very clean too! We will definitely be back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank gina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback on your experience with us. We're thrilled you had a great time and really appreciate your feedback. We wanted you to know that the pool is heated to 78 degree's....we understand that may still be chilly for some :) As for the Wi-Fi, we do offer Wi-Fi in many sites/areas throughout the campground, but bandwidth is limited here so when were busy service is negatively impacted. We apologize for this and are working to make it better. Thanks again and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My family and I arrived this past Tuesday morning to find our site clean and ready for early check in. The larger-than-most site was perfect, with the right blend of clearing for space and trees for shade. We have a 200 square foot tent, along with two cars, so the large site was perfect. The staff are always pleasant, and the campsite has a ton of things to do for families. We have three kids (7, 5, and 3) so all the activities - dunk tank, pool, life-size chess board, carraige rides, bike rentals, mining for gems - were great. And you cannot beat the location to the Saco River. From our site, it was about a one minute walk right into the river - where we floated down on our tubes every day we could! It is a really a great place, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who likes to camp - both for us tenters and those of you with campers :-)

Room Tip: Lots of the sites are on the river, but most of them are so close it doesn't even matter where y...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

It's great to hear what a wonderful stay you had with us. We really appreciate taking your valuable time to let us know how about your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have been camping at the Saco River Camping Area on and off over the past 25 years. This year we have noticed, under the new ownership, nice improvements. Although we were not able to have a site along the river, we were very pleased with the site which we chose. The new management responded very quickly and professionally to issues that arose during our stay. The washrooms were, for the most part, kept clean, however having said this, we also believe that it is the responsibility of the campers to keep this common area clean. We will definitely be back next year.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank JudeGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

In reading some reviews of this campground I just don't get it. Either some of these folks are part of a vendetta against this campground or they are just plain unreasonable.

Powers out and wants compensation....really??? I don't even think it was out 2 hours.

We've been camping here for the last three years and just wrapped up another great week.

If you don't immediately see and feel the amazing difference from last several years you must have your eyes closed. It's never been in better shape.

The pool area looks like something from a resort.

Almost every time we were in the bathroom someone was there to clean it...we've never seen anything like it.

We loved the karaoke and the kids had a blast on the new outdoor ping pong table. The mining station was lots of fun too.

We also found everyone from reservations to office staff welcoming and easy to work with. The maintenance staff even helped us with our TV issue which had nothing to do with them, but they fixed it anyhow. Thank you.

The new owners are doing a great job and the complainers should find another place to camp. Some people recognize something good when they see it and this place has gone from just okay to great!

Keep up the good work and don't let some of these nay sayers get you down. Your place is packed with lots of happy guests.Good luck.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waterlover56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi There,

Thanks so much for the great review and we appreciate your support and enthusiasm for the campground.

We're trying very hard to get it right and appreciate everyone's feedback. We're constantly learning how to do things better, but reviews like yours tell us we're getting there.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.4 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saco River Camping Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saco River Camping Area

Address: 1550 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5144
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in North Conway
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saco River Camping Area is in the heart of the Mount Washington Valley, at the center of it all. We offer peaceful camping in a nature filled setting with loads of onsite things to do, yet we're within easy walking distance of stores, restaurants, entertainment, and TAX FREE factory outlet shopping. Hop in your car and churches, hospital, hiking and bicycle trails, tennis courts and golf courses are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saco River Camping Area Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing