We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turned our quiet elopement into a magical honeymoon.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Waltham, Massachusetts
1 review
“Turned our quiet elopement into a magical honeymoon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

My husband and I just got back from a weekend stay in North Conway NH. Our plan was to find a nice spot in one of the many local parks and exchange rings, in a simple just-the-two-of-us wedding ceremony. We picked Red Jacket Mountain View based on good reviews online, figuring a nice hotel would make our simple weekend elopement more special. I'm so glad we did - all weekend, the staff went out of their way to make things extra special for us, transforming the weekend into a real honeymoon. In fact, we had only booked one night, and ended up staying for two.

Even when I saw staff members helping other guests I was impressed by how incredibly friendly and courteous they were. I got the very strong impression that the treatment we received wasn't biased by the fact that many of them recognized us as The Newlyweds (as a pink-haired bride, I'm sure I was easy to point out). We saw lots of fun activities going on in the evenings such as a fire pit, a Wii tournament, ice cream making, and ceramics painting. I'm not sure how many of those had additional fees, but from what I saw of pricing I expect it was quite reasonable - just the fact that these activities were available was really neat, and seeing families and couple take part in them as we went to and from our own plans created a really fun, festive energy, almost like the whole hotel was one big family reunion.

In the interests of writing a well-rounded review, I will say we had a couple of problems in our stay; the first night I had a great pillow but my husbands wasn't firm enough, and the cold tap on our in-room jacuzzi didn't work at all. Honestly, I don't count these as major flaws due to the fact that when we mentioned it at the front desk they had both issues fixed lightning-fast. The only other negative to mention is that the hotel wireless is a bit frustrating because we had to log in every time we wanted to access it, which was frequently since we are both iPhone users and on a rainy day in the mountains cell reception is pretty poor for checking email.

To me, these are very small issues when balanced with the incredible staff, comfortable beds, beautiful views, and awesome atmosphere - not to mention tons of breathtaking views!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsiGoutal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveLambert, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Thank you for choosing our resort for your big day! It is really something nice to see that the mountaintop you were wed on is outside our windows and you chose our Valley to be the spot you'll always remember you wed at!

Thank you for a great review which we can all take pride in. My team enjoys finding out how to personalize a guest's stay and make that moment of service special: your honeymoon was one of a few who we were fortunate enough to host this weekend.

We will be revamping our wireless in '11 and hope to be able to have the fastest wireless in Mt. Washington Valley soon...

Again Thank You for staying over your honeymoon and be sure to come visit each anniversary year and we promise to keep topping the previous year!

Sincerely, Steve Lambert and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    344
    130
    47
    28
See reviews for
985
113
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madbury, NH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We were delighted with the room and meal accommodations which helped to contribute to a very positive overall experience at our conference. As nice as the rooms & food were, the enduring memory of our stay at the Red Jacket will be the friendly and sincere hospitality exhibited by every person we came into contact with. Thanks to Red Jacket for helping to make our first conference such a terrific success!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GACilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveLambert, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Thank you for entrusting us with your meeting last week! Our banquet staff with Deb and Zack pay close attention to details and all the teammembers behind your satisfaction loved to get your review! We are proud and always ready for any group you put together where results matter! Thank you again for choosing us and we hope to see you on vacation or as a conference in 2012!

Steve Lambert & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

Stayed here June 20-22 with husband and 4yo daughter. Got the package with daily passes to the Kahuna Laguna, RJMV's indoor water park, as well as one day's worth of passes to nearby Story Land (6 miles away). Was greeted by a super-friendly front desk staff and assigned to Room 211. The room was fine -- certainly big enough and very clean-- though the decor of the room/corridors could use some updating. And I agree with a previous reviewer that the beds sink in the middle; that was not fun. However the views of the White Mountains from our room and from the hotel's two restaurant areas could not be beat.

Every night the RJMV staff offered activities. 7:00 PM story time. 8:00 PM movie (Despicable Me) one night, 8:00 PM Wii tournament the other night. Then 8:00 PM-10:00 PM bonfire outside with hot chocolate and marshmallows both nights. We took advantage of story time the second night and a lovely young man read THE TRUE STORY OF THE THREE LITTLE PIGS. There was enough lemonade and chocolate chip cookies for the families who showed up.

The breakfast buffet every morning was OUTSTANDING. We had a very nice, on-top-of-it server named Chris...the French toast was out of control good, and there were lots of healthy options (plenty of fresh fruit, egg whites at the omelet station, oatmeal, yogurt) as well as huge heaping stacks of bacon. LOTS of bacon, extra crispy just the way I like it.

Kahuna Laguna was the highlight of our stay. Lots to do for both younger and older kids, and both my husband and I loved the big slides. The nearby North Conway outlets were full of great deals too.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gusterviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveLambert, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
What a great review! Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff who greet and serve our guests! Chris in the restaurant is mentioned and we agree, he is on his game....his supporting staff are just as passionate on having guests stays be the best also! We will replace bedding routinely and our bed testing will have your accommodations reviewed closer as I noted that feedback too!

For your awesome raves: our bacon, our views, the activities and staff who engage adults and kids throughout stays, makes us proud. THANK YOU!

Email me when you plan another trip up and we will be sure to keep the tradition of being your home away from home...

Slambert@redjacketmountainview.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

We just came back from a 2 night stay with our kids ages 5, 31/2 and 19 months. The resort is lovely, the staff very friendly and helpful and the waterpark completely exceeded expectations! This place has it all. We ordered room service a couple of times and the food was delicious...when one order took longer than anticipated the food and beverage director came by with tshirts for the kids and small gifts for us...so nice and unexpected! We all loved the waterpark...there were fun activities for all ages and it was very clean with lots of hardworking lifeguards around. The proximity to storyland and other attractions (mini-golf! ice cream!) was also great. We did storyland the first afternoon we arrived....went after 2pm so got free tickets for another full day. After the park closed at 5 we returned to the hotel and went to the waterpark for a few hours after dinner...it is open until 10pm. We were able to use a coupon for a package deal this time and I will be on the lookout for another because we can't wait to return!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicalkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveLambert, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Wow, your review made our day, Thank you! Our food and activities are focused on by all of our team before every arriving family, your compliments feed us to do more! I am happy that our Food and Beverage Manager continues to surprise with upgrades and unexpected delights, he was shown this review to keep the momentum of being the best in the Valley going!

Make sure you subscribe to our website so those values and packages make it to your inbox and you have a chance to surprise the kids with another visit in the future!

Thank you again from all of our team!

Steve Lambert and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

My three girls and I come here every summer mid June for a midweek getaway. We are here now, leaving tomorrow. We spent yesterday afternoon and part of today at storyland. (2-3 hours a day is plenty as this time of year there are no lines). We also spend a good chunk of time at the outdoor hotel pool and the playground. This year my rate of $249 for two nights included admission all three days to the Kahuna Laguna water park attached to the hotel. I am not a giant fan of indoor water parks, but this one is relatively clean, you can charge food and beer to your room, and most importantly the lifeguards are excellent..... I'm talking like hawks! Safety is a priority here, especially with one lifeguard, Moe, who was outstanding. The rooms are fine, nothing special but clean. The breakfast buffet was outstanding.... anything you could want. Definitely looking forward tickling back next year, as are my girls!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valleygirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveLambert, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Moe is a star on our waterpark team and your letter points out why! Thank you so much, we will be sure to keep our guest's safety as the utmost focus that we hold it in and congratulate her for being spotted so diligently doing what she's great at! The food and activities you cited are the heart of our resort's offerings with the spectacular views and clean rooms - I may have you help me write advertising in the future! Thank you again for your visit and subsequent review...

We hope to see you back soon!

Steve Lambert, Moe and the Waterpark Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterport, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We were looking for a break from the cold New England winter months (without the cost of plane tickets to the tropics for a family of 5) and that is precisely what we found at the Red Jacket. We got a great off season rate and Kahuna Laguna proved to be an oasis in the middle of NH.

When we first arrived, the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.....and especially kind to the kids. We were pleased with the room. It was clean, appeared to be recently renovated and had a beautiful view of the mountains. The buffet breakfast was fantastic! There was fresh hot waffles, pancakes, eggs, meats, homefries, fruit, pastries, cereal, drinks, even a friendly omelet making guy....... pretty much everything you could want. The kids loved it and feasted.....always a good start to the day. Our waiter was also very friendly and helpful, giving us some travel tips and making sure we went up the spiral staircase to the lookout to enjoy the view. After breakfast, we enjoyed some board games by the stone fireplace with complimentary hot chocolate.

Kahuna Laguna was a blast! Our kids range in age from 2-7 and I was initially concerned about the non-swimmer. But, there was plenty for each child to do. The older kids loved the waterslides, basketball hoops and wave pool. Our little guy loved "his" waterslide and the water playground. The changing rooms and bathrooms were clean and spacious. We spent the whole day at the waterpark and we still had to drag them out at the end of the day.

I have recommended this hotel to many friends and will continue to do so. Six months later, my kids are still talking about the fun they had! We will definitely be making another weekend of it sometime again next winter.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeriL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveLambert, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Thank you for this awesome review! We were happy to read that your family's choice of coming to North Conway vs. Bermuda paid off. You are right: we stock up plans and activities to engage families in play as much as they want.

Your breakfast review made us hungry too: Thank you for the generous and kind words that lights up all of our staff's energies into the summer.

We think six months between visits is plenty enough - come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

This is a great family oriented hotel. Perfectly situated in the middle of great shopping, a variety of eating places and only 15 minutes from Storyland. The hotel staff really goes above and beyond with a variety of activities for all ages and the hotel rooms are very comfortable and very clean. The hotel offers story time, WII competitions, popsicles by the pool, miniature golf, Campfires with roasting marshmallows, wonderful playground, and an outside and inside pool. The rooms have a refrigerator and breakfast is included with your stay. This is a must stay place if you are planning on going to be in North Conway. We are going to make it an annual event for our family.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbelanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveLambert, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Thank you for both staying with us AND for writing a great review. We appreciate the feedback and details such as the fridge in rooms and the WII tournaments. Our team spends time planning what the best things to do are on every given weekend - your assesment is right.

for 2011 Summer we added children's reading hour in our great room with Nate our Resident Reader, and you're compliments were read by him too.

Thank you again and stay in touch, you have a resort full of friends in the business!

Steve Lambert & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#7 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
2.3 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
21.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park

Property: Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Address: 2251 White Mountain Highway, Route 16, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5161
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in North Conway
#4 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located on 40 acres overlooking the Moat Mountain Range and Saco Valley, nestled in the heart of the Mount Washington Valley. Red Jacket Mountain View is home of Kahuna Laguna Indoor Water Park. It's 40,000 square feet of splash-tacular fun! Zoom through one of four high-speed tubes before splashing into the landing pool below. Body surf in the swirling wave pool. The whole family will enjoy the activity pool, water cannons and play tower, and your smallest kahunas will have a great time in the shallow pool, an area designed with them in mind. Water park admission is additional. Deluxe accommodations (some pet-friendly) feature 1 or two beds while our family accommodations include spacious family lofts, alcoves or two-bedroom townhouses. Our new four-bedroom homes have full kitchens and decks, offering privacy yet easily walkable to all our amenities! Our front desk is at your service for all the arrangements you will need for activities such as skiing, hiking,shopping the outlets of North Conway or visiting Story Land and Santa's Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Mountain View Hotel North Conway
Best Western North Conway
Red Jacket North Conway
North Conway Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing