We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome family fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome family fun!”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The Red Jacket was great for our family of three. We have a chid with special needs who loves the water, and as a Christmas gift to each other we decided to go to Kahuna Laguna. We got more than we expected at the Inn--an older hotel that seems to be undegoing some important and much needed renovations--and had a great time in the waterpark.

The Good

Though smaller than Great Wolf Lodge, the park was seldom crowded during our visit, and we never waited in a line for slides or felt wedged into the wave pool.

The noise level, which is deafening at other parks, was great. No ear-splitting music; no extra sound effects; just the white noise of the water. A great change of pace from other parks.

The people at Red Jacket were nice as could be. Everyone was pleasant and genuine.

The room was a crazy mishmash of styles but clean, warm and welcoming, with a huge bathroom and whirlpool.

There seem to have been tons of other activities--hayrides, cookie decorating, WII tournaments, etc.--which didn't cost extra or came at minimal cost.

There's lots to do beyond the waterpark in the area. We were there just for the water, but we'll go back again for a scenic train ride, hiking and skiing.

Needs Work

The hotel is older and needs some attention, which it's getting. Some of the hotel's public spaces are a little ragged, but it's clear they're working to make that better.

We had some room service which was good, not great. Our server was knowledgeable about the beers we ordered and very courteous.

Speaking of beer, NH has some awesome microbreweries which I'd like to have seen featured more. At GWL in Niagara, you could get a wide selection of beers served (in pitchers) in the waterpark. Now that may not work for legal reasons at Kahuna Laguna, but their snack bar served only Bud and Bud Light. Some local/regional suds would have made us consider eating at the park rather than going out for dinner.

Some of the other parks have wristband systems that allow vistors to open their rooms and buy things such as food, drinks and souveniers on their room account with the wave of their wrists. I found fumbling for the roomkey and my wallet and my swim duds was awkward.

Altogether we had a great getaway to wonderful wild Kahuna Laguna and will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Check to make sure the room has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattyDaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    354
    133
    49
    30
See reviews for
1,006
115
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We did an overnight trip to the Red Jacket in North Conway and it was a huge hit with everyone in our family, but especially with my son Max. Max is on the autism spectrum and some of the indoor waterparks that we've visited in the past have been overwhelming for him (super noisy, lines everywhere, and rushed/grouchy people.) He would enjoy himself at these places, but quickly get overwhelmed. Not so with Kahuna Laguna. They have all the best indoor stuff (wave pool, waterslides) but the place is not too noisy, not too crowded, and ALL the people there were super nice! To begin with, the staff are truly exceptional. At some resorts I've visited, the staff are what I call "agressively nice," for example in your face saying hello 400 times a day or whatever. But the people at Red Jacket are genuinely warm, sweet and happy in their work. You can tell that they want you to have a good time. The same is true of the patrons. We met so many open and welcoming adults and children with none of that angry "vacation rush to have a good time" vibe that can take the fun out of a resort. We went home refreshed and relaxed... thank you Red Jacket!

Christina B

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveLambert, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Thank you for a great holiday recap and visit! We too believe that friendliness and smiles are contagious! Your mentioning our outstanding warm staff makes us that much more proud and certainly our guests who look forward to coming to visit and spend sometimes hours finding their way into Mt. Washington Valley are just rewarded with hospitality and great memories! Let's make more family memories in 2012 when you come back!

Steve Lambert and the Valley's Warmest Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weare, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Always a great place to stay in the North Conway area. Looking forward to staying there sometime with my family. Lots of great things to offer at the resort and many fun things to do in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agmaiorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveLambert, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Thank you for a great review! Your past three stays have earned us a triple crown and when you come back in 2012 you will find that you're staying with friends in the business.
I look forward to seeing you and your baby girl anytime and for her first year of Kahuna Laguna fun!

-Steve Lambert & Proud team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

THis place is WONDERFUL! My 4 year old loves it, my 9 year old loves it, and us parents, LOVE IT! So much to do...I cant say enough good things about this hotel. The service is TOP NOTCH, food is amazing and the water park combined with its location for the beautiful mountains and all they have to offer as well as the Kangamangus, you could have a perfect long weekend or a week here and still not be bored. EXCELLENT!!!

Room Tip: GET THE LOFT!!! If you have kids, they will LOVE their own private area and you can actual get some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NormaBuoniconti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveLambert, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
YES, we loved your review...we can read this during our Vacation Week fun and see that you suggested a three day weekend, so true! Horse drawn carriages are part of our new offerings and is just one example of why we are loved by families for getaways, vacations and escapes...Thank you again for writing, we are sharing your feedback with our chef to encourage him to come up with an even better 2012 menu!

Thank you again - Steve Lambert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Our family has been to this resort a few times and the hotel and water park has always been a treat. The front desk staff welcomed our family and we were upgraded to a mountain view room. The time we spent at the water park was fun! There was plenty of water tubes and didn't have any wait on the slides. There were several lifeguards keeping an eye on the guests.

Room Tip: Mountain view is nice, but as we stayed in November, the small balcony was not used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveLambert, Front Office Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Thank you for a well rounded review! Our waterpark staff are vigilent and always complimented, thank you. Our team believes that hospitality comes from a natural welcoming to guests and helping when we are needed - your compliment is praise of the highest sort and noted by every sung and unsung hero at our resort!

Thank you again, Steve Lambert and Hospitality Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Had a wonderful time at Red Jacket. Staff are very accommodating. Room was clean, beds to be expected was glad to see a fridge in the room. Kids and I enjoyed the breakfast buffet and recreational activities along with indoor water park.
Would have been nice to have a toddler or childcare facility available so parents could relax in the lounge for a short while or enjoy the spa.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveLambert, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Thank you for complimenting our family fun atmosphere! We are poised for some snow that we can begin some really great outdoors activities like the snowshoeing and Snow Angel making with Zack!

We will share the compliments on cleanliness and keep our attention to detail as strong as ever. I hope you get back with the family early next year and feel free to email me ahead of time for things you will need for the toddler to have another great visit!

Steve Lambert and entire team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Really really out dated rooms. Dust and dirt on the carpet around the edges. Water pressure in the shower was so poor it took a minute to get wet.

Seems all their revenue went into the water park which was nice and everything else was ignored. The included breakfast buffet was good. The help was always friendly and willing to help. Please have fresh cookies at the check in desk instead of the stale ones we were given.

Again the people who worked there were very nice, but the rest of the lodging facilities need a MAJOR overhaul.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelAllOver123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
645 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fox Ridge Resort
Fox Ridge Resort
#11 of 25 in North Conway
629 reviews
2.3 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park

Property: Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Address: 2251 White Mountain Highway, Route 16, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5161
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in North Conway
#4 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located on 40 acres overlooking the Moat Mountain Range and Saco Valley, nestled in the heart of the Mount Washington Valley. Red Jacket Mountain View is home of Kahuna Laguna Indoor Water Park. It's 40,000 square feet of splash-tacular fun! Zoom through one of four high-speed tubes before splashing into the landing pool below. Body surf in the swirling wave pool. The whole family will enjoy the activity pool, water cannons and play tower, and your smallest kahunas will have a great time in the shallow pool, an area designed with them in mind. Water park admission is additional. Deluxe accommodations that feature 1 or two beds while our family accommodations include spacious family lofts, alcoves or two-bedroom townhouses. Our new four-bedroom homes have full kitchens and decks, offering privacy yet easily walkable to all our amenities! Our front desk is at your service for all the arrangements you will need for activities such as skiing, hiking,shopping the outlets of North Conway or visiting Story Land and Santa's Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Mountain View Hotel North Conway
Best Western North Conway
Red Jacket North Conway
North Conway Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing