We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed for our first stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Red Jacket. The kids had a ball at the indoor water park, which was clean and well managed.The food was excellent and the servers were very professional.Due to freezing weather we stayed mostly at the hotel and found plenty to do. north Conway is definitely not a boring little town.Friday night we were somewhat entertained in the view room by a guy with a guitar during our dinner. The kids were not impressed. So we decided to do the same thing Saturday night and the kids were totally impressed with two guys entertaining in the same view room.I think they said they were Jay D or something. They played everything from modern [which our kids loved] all the way to songs like Sweet Caroline and some others. My family and I are huge music lovers so we hope to have the same experience next stay. As for the room, all I can say is comfortable but the people next door were noisy and stayed up all night.We didn't bother complaining because sometimes our boys are just as loud.Breakfast was decent. The drinks were a bit on the expensive side for Northern NH bars, but hey over all we are coming back for the water park and the live entertainment....

Room Tip: Stay as close to the water park as you can if you have small kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Ella K,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your most recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed the 82 degree water park, what could be better on these cold January day's. We were also glad to hear how you enjoyed Palmers Lounge and the entertainment Shot of JD that performed Saturday night. Can't wait to have your family back visiting us and we will see what Shot of JD's schedule is to bring them back as well.

Regards,

Jon and Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our family of 5 (2 adults and 3 kids ages 13, 10 and 8) stayed at the Red Jacket a couple of weekends ago. We had a "Family Loft" room. This was a room with two double beds on the ground floor, then a steep (carpeted) staircase leading up to a loft room with two twin beds, a sink, and a second TV. The room was sizable - we did not feel cramped, and our two girls enjoyed the loft - but the decor is extremely dated. The color scheme is tan and brown, with heavy drapes and older-looking carpeting, very 1980s in feel. The bathroom was clean but rather small, and the towels were less than luxurious. The sink had a large crack in it. There was a small fridge, which was convenient. Here are the pluses and minuses of our stay:
Plus: The front desk staff were friendly and extremely efficient. We requested some bowls and spoons from Champney's so we could have breakfast in our room before heading out to Cranmore for the day, and they cheerfully helped us out as well. The sheets were of good quality and the beds were comfortable. Our younger two children enjoyed the water park and spent about 3 hours in there! I found it a bit small compared to other water parks, but it was clean and well-staffed, and the kids had a blast. We did not eat in the hotel restaurants so I can't speak to the food. The hotel is definitely geared towards families and they had a lot of free, fun activities going on for the kids, including evening entertainment, which everyone enjoyed. The location of the hotel is ideal, moments from the center of North Conway and Cranmore.
Minus: The room decor, as I already mentioned. The rooms could do with a major makeover which would really improve the atmosphere. There were also some minor upkeep issues. The windowsill above the radiator had cracked and peeling paint. I would caution families with very young children from booking a loft room, as there is no railing on the staircase up to the loft. There was a wrought-iron railing around the loft itself, but it was pretty wobbly and only about 3 feet high. Since the beds back up right to the railing with just a curtain in front, this would not be a safe place for young children to sleep. (To the hotel's credit, I think they recommend the loft rooms only for families with older children). When we arrived, one of the smoke detectors was "chirping." We called the front desk, and a maintenance staff member arrived in moments and replaced the battery. But the next night at midnight it started chirping again, and kept going all night. Beyond the room, there was a strong, somewhat unpleasant smell of cleaning products in the corridor, and the carpets and hallway decor felt pretty worn and dated.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay, and were impressed with the staff and the activities. The room was a good value. However, had we booked a room with breakfast, it would have added $60 a night to our tab, which seemed a bit excessive since my kids usually only eat a bowl of cereal in the morning. This is why we chose to bring our own breakfast foods and just eat in the room. In sum, the Red Jacket Mountain View is a solid family hotel with a friendly, helpful staff, a good location, and lots of fun activities for the kids. The decor issue is what might encourage us to look elsewhere for our next trip to the North Conway area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chateaunordique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

chateaunordique,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Red Jacket Resort. We appreciate you giving a 360 degree view of your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed the property and will definitely look at your minus's for future planning. We hope that you will come back and see us soon, to take advantage of all the family fun activities we offer.


Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Instead of Christmas toys this year we opted for a weekend away at the Red Jacket for the grand kids - ages 9, almost 4, and 1. Kids, parents and grand parents all had a wonderful weekend. There's plenty to do: Kahuna Lagoon (a complete blast), bon fires, sleigh ride, buffets, arcade and nearby Mt Cranmore (5-10 min) for tubing, zip line and a mountain coaster. This indoor outdoor combo was ideal; we stayed in the pool on the extreme cold day and hit the mountain on the warmer day. The staff at Red Jacket could not have been more helpful and friendly; they love what they do and the kids and it shows - a special shout out to the warm and welcoming Irish lady at Reception: your'e the best! Rooms were clean and the rates reasonable for the value. We plan to return with more of the family next year!

Room Tip: Maybe choose a second floor room if the pitter-patter of little feet overhead is a problem - but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandJEnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

JandJEnt,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how your recent visit was. We were thrilled to hear that you chose the Red Jacket for a Christmas gift over toys. Hopefully this will become a tradition for your family. Thank you as well for the kind words about Stephanie our "Welcoming Irish Lady". Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Our family returned home from a weekend at the Red Jacket today, and we are a very happy family. We are frequent guests there, and once again, it felt like home. We enjoyed the live music in Palmer's Lounge, we loved the water park, and Alexander had an amazing time! We met the new Manager, Jon, and I was impressed at the time he took to chat with us, and how well he interacted with Alexander. Our room was great, and the service was outstanding. I asked more than I usually do of the front desk staff, having packed in a rush, and they went above and beyond. Stephanie saved the day with a serving of broccoli in no time for Alex. Our breakfasts upstairs were amazing, as was the service!!! There is no better place for families to go to get away from the hustle and bustle! We can't wait for our return trip in February!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashleigh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Ashleigh L,

Thank you for the kind words about our Resort and Our Team!!! We are pleased that we are able to provide a comfortable setting for Alex and yourselves to relax. Thank you also for recognizing Stephanie's efforts as we are very lucky to have her as part of our team. Looking forward to seeing you in February and Alex I am sure will be ready to give the entire staff a High Five!!!

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The rooms were clean & pleasant with a breathtaking view. The staff were friendly and always accommodating. The amenities were fabulous. There was something to do all day long for the children as well as the adults. The food on the premises was good but not gourmet. There are however many nearby wonderful restaurants to choose from. I would highly recommend this resort anytime of the year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Cathleen B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your visit. We are glad you feel the same about the resort as we do. We truly are a 4 season resort and we have a difficult time picking our favorite season. I guess the only solution is to come visit a minimum of once each season. See you in Spring!!!!

Regards,

Jon and Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed for a night on a recent group trip. We had a prearranged buffet for dinner that really knocked our socks off! There were so many things to choose from and Everything from the Butternut Squash Soup to the dessert spread (including mini eclairs) was really delicious-even the salads were great (full of mixed greens, sprouts and more!) The breakfast buffet was plentiful as well: french toast, belgian waffles, ettc. I really appreciated that there were food options for vegetarians! Service while dining and at the front desk was good. Our rooms looked out over the mountains and even had small private porches. There was a water park onsite which some of the group took advantage of and seemed to enjoy. I liked the downstairs bar with a friendly bartender, sitting room by a fireplace and backgammon tables. Rooms were spacious and clean. Rates are reasonable for this region and season and they offer packages that include entry to the Kahuna Laguna Waterpark.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and could hear kids the next floor up running down the hall; request the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Jennifer J,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your most recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and the view from the resort. Next time you come back you will have to bring your bathing suit to enjoy Kahuna Laguna.

Regards,

Jon and Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Red Jacket for the first time in a loft room with our two children, ages 6 and 5. The front desk clerk who checked us in was extremely friendly and helpful. We had purchased the water park package, and our price was $369 for a Friday evening (plus tax). Cookies at the front desk were a nice bonus.

The decor in the hallways and the doors were very, very dated looking. I hoped our room was better, and it was, to a degree. The carpet has been replaced in the past few years, if I had to guess, and there was an updated armoire/closet. The bathroom, frankly, was gross. Very outdated, mold in the grout. A shower fixture that is older than I am (1960s vintage?). The sink counter top had been updated. The stairs leading to the loft don't appear to be code (very small). Also, I'm 5'6 but had to duck to avoid hitting my head at the top of the stairs. The loft worked well for my kids. However, I would caution anyone with children under 5-6 to steer clear. There is a railing but the heads of both of the loft twin beds were up against the railing, which was probably ~12 inches higher. The hotel does warn families with kids < 3 years old to avoid the loft rooms. Also, there is a sink upstairs, which is handy, but if you have a younger child who may need to use the bathroom in the middle of the night, keep in mind that there is no light above the loft stairs. Not a big deal, but just something for families with smaller children to keep in mind.

We went to the water park, which was very well done. The employees were very attentive, polite and professional. The lifeguards were absolutely on point, paying very close attention without being unreasonably strict. The locker rooms were immaculate. Overall, a great experience.

We made our way back to the room for showers to find that the shower assembly was broken. There was a metal piece on the ancient fixture that you had to pull to turn on the shower, and it had basically detached and wasn't functional. We decided to go to dinner and report the shower issue to the front desk on the way out. A front desk clerk assured us that someone would attend to the shower while we were out to dinner. Upon arrival back to our room, we found that it had been repaired. Relief!

We took advantage of the breakfast buffet the next morning and really enjoyed it. The food was great, and the employees were polite and efficient.

This hotel has wonderful customer service and a fantastic location, but ownership has not put the money into the upgrades that one would expect for the prices they are charging.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

juanitahk22,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed our resort and we apologize that you were disappointed with the décor of the hallways and your room. We will take into consideration your comments when we perform our capital improvement plan. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards,

Jon and Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
665 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fox Ridge Resort
Fox Ridge Resort
#12 of 25 in North Conway
656 reviews
2.3 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park

Address: 2251 White Mountain Highway, Route 16, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5161
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in North Conway
#4 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range: £111 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located on 40 acres overlooking the Moat Mountain Range and Saco Valley, nestled in the heart of the Mount Washington Valley. Red Jacket Mountain View is home of Kahuna Laguna Indoor Water Park. It's 40,000 square feet of splash-tacular fun! Zoom through one of four high-speed tubes before splashing into the landing pool below. The whole family will enjoy the activity pool, water cannons and play tower, and your smallest kahunas will have a great time in the shallow pool. Water park admission is additional. Deluxe accommodations that feature 1 or two beds while our family accommodations include spacious family lofts, alcoves or two-bedroom townhouses. Our four-bedroom Presidential homes have full kitchens and decks, offering privacy yet easily walkable to all our amenities! Our front desk is at your service for all the arrangements you will need for activities such as skiing, hiking,shopping the outlets of North Conway or visiting Story Land and Santa's Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Mountain View Hotel North Conway
Best Western North Conway
Red Jacket North Conway
North Conway Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing