We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place is simply AMAZING! Staff was friendly, courteous and helpful, the facility was extremely neat and well-kept. Plus, there's PLENTY of things to do for families with small kids. The indoor water park, Kahuna Laguna, was a huge hit with our boys, ages 5 and 7. They also loved the outdoor pool, too. What's more, the hotel staff has plenty of kid-friendly events planned throughout the day, including crafts, a Wii tournament, free popsicles and lemonade by the pool, just to name a few. At night, there's a bonfire from 8-9, where families can roast marshmallows, sip lemonade and play on the well-lit playground nearby. The food in the restaurants was fantastic, as well, and be sure not to miss the buffet breakfast on Sunday morning. The food was INCREDIBLE, so remember to bring your appetite (and your camera--the views from the front balcony will take your breath away). Cost is a little pricey than most places in town, but it was worth every penny for us. In fact, we're already making plans to return next year, and my eldest son has informed me we must make it an annual family tradition until he's at least 18! Truth be told, we all had so much fun, nobody wanted to leave when it was time to head home and we can't wait to return! :-)

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the hotel include stunning views of the White Mountains. Rooms on the far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Alison B,

Thank you very much for posting your review of your most recent stay. When Kelly and Tracy at the front desk were reading your review they were grinning from ear to ear. The entire team is excited that we have been able to create a family tradition and I agree with your 7 year old, every summer until at least 18. Glad to hear the activities and the dining were big hits. Your 100% correct about bringing a camera to the dining room as we have the best dining views in the valley. Look forward to seeing you and your family next year and you can always come back before next summer, we provide activities on weekends and all school vacation weeks.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was my first time staying at Red Jacket. We are a family of 5, 2 adults, 3 kids under 8. We stayed in a loft and like others have stated, it is in desperate need of a major renovation. The upstairs loft has two twin beds and we were going to put our 3 and 5 year old there. The ceilings are so incredibly low and the rusted fence with huge openings made us very nervous to leave the 3 year old up there alone. We moved the twin beds all the way in touching the other wall, because I seriously thought the 5 year old could easily jump over the bed and fall straight down. The whole décor is straight outta the 70's. The plus side, which also matters greatly, it was very clean. Although old, the sheets, bathroom and everything was well kept, no dust. We ate at the breakfast buffet twice and I recommend getting there earlier in the time than later as once we arrived at 10, and everything was picked over and they don't replenish. The second time we arrive around 8 and everything was great. Hot, fresh fruit, the omlette station was the best, very well made. I am a foodie and cook at home regularly with high quality ingredients, so while I recommend the breakfast I do not recommend the dinner buffet. The dinner seemed made for kids than adults. It was way overpriced and really not good. Mac n cheese, chicken fingers, French fries, salad and baked chicken. Even my kids didn't like it, the dinner really needs an overhaul. The staff is lovely. Everyone is very nice, very helpful and asking if we needed anything. We also spent one day at the waterpark, Kahuna Laguna and that was really fun. If I ever stayed here again it would just be for close proximity to the waterpark, the kids really loved it and it was nice to be able to go back and forth to our room for breaks and then go back. I say the whole thing was overpriced simply because the food and accommodations are average.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains, really beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thefrugalette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

thefrugalette,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a through objective review. We appreciate the comments on the décor and condition of the loft rooms. As we move forward we will take into consideration for improvements. As far as the dinner buffets are concerned we have made some recent changes to enhance, and I would like to invite you back next time you are in North Conway to give the dinner buffet a second chance. Thanks for the great comments about the staff and the cleanliness of the resort. We look forward to seeing again and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We love coming to North Conway and have always loved coming to the Red Jacket but ever since they put in the indoor water park I feel like their prices have skyrocketed and the value has plummeted. Disappointing to see, will look elsewhere next trip

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Marie W,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your most recent stay. We appreciate your repeat business and are disappointed that we have fallen short of meet your expectations. If you have a moment, I would like to discuss further with you. My contact information is jsallinen@redjacketmountainview.com or 603-356-5411 ext 510. We hope you and your family enjoy the rest of summer.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very disappointing. We were in a loft room which would have been enough room for the travelers in our group - 3 adults and one 16 year old. The loft room is nothing like they depict in their website. Certainly not updated, low ceilings (beware), and the privacy is given with a curtain across the top. The curtain actually prevents cool air flow from below. Very dark in the loft
area as well. One elevator in the hotel which does not connect you easily to all rooms. If
we wanted to use the elevator to get to one of the loft rooms, we would need to go through
the dining area. When the description states mountain view, beware of the view. The views
from our room were hindered by the large trees in the front lawn. No balcony, no view. Very overpriced for sleeping in a room which had no inclusions. Also, if you are staying in a loft with small children, there is only a hand railing next to the wall! There are no hand railings that would prevent a small child from falling onto the floor as you are climbing the steps. Hotel looks very appealing from the road, but it is not what you will expect. If families are rating this hotel with 4-5 stars, it is because of the water park or pool! And the water park you must pay
$20 and spectators are $10. So, if you plan to go and watch your child play in the water, you
will pay to watch! When we checked out, we were asked how our stay was and I was honest.
Not that great. No one asked if they should get the manager, and I had the impression that they didn't care. I am certain the "manager" will respond to this review and thank us for our
review and comment that they would have preferred that we discuss with him our concerns. If the response was heartfelt, it wouldn't be the same wording on the majority of the review replies! For over $700 for a two night stay, something in the hotel room/hotel should have had a wow factor! Certainly not the case.

Room Tip: Compare other hotels/prices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Ella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Ella S,

I apologize that you do not like the way I respond to reviews. Despite your comments on how "the manager responds", My responses are heartfelt and there is a lot of time is taken to make sure that areas of praise or criticism is reviewed and addressed. We apologize that the loft room did not meet your expectation. We wish that once you checked in and realized that the room wasn't what you expected would of given us an opportunity to show you different room types that we have at the resort. At the resort we offer 4 food and beverage outlets, outdoor pool, 42,000 square foot water park, full service spa and 6-8 different activities a day. Once again I sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay and I hope you and your family enjoy the rest of your summer. If you are back in the North Conway area contact me directly so we can discuss our town home accommodations which you may find a better fit for your families needs.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in the townhouse for three nights with three adults and one six year old. The townhouse was terrific, clean and comfortable with a full, modern kitchen and two baths, one with a tub. There was lots of hot water and plenty of towels. The a/c is strong, so it can get chilly at night. You may want to ask for extra blankets, just in case. We didn't need the outdoor terrace or barbecue, but it was nice to know they were there. The arcade and water park are fun, but bring extra cash. The pool area is fun if you have for kids with you, but it's noisy and lively, so this may not be a good choice if you want a place to bring a book and relax. Although, there is a little bar at the pool to get drinks and light meals, which make it possible to keep kids busy, full and active. (Bring sunscreen as there are no umbrellas and it is sunny and hot around the pool.) The breakfast buffet is great and if you like a big breakfast, it may be worth it to buy the package that includes it. Lots of activities for kids, including an evening marshmallow roast that was a big hit with the parents too. The staff is terrific, mostly young college kids and a professional desk and food service staff who are very helpful. You are 5-10 minutes from North Conway and all the fun stores and there are loads of restaurants, ice cream places and mini golf on the main road just outside the resort. A great choice for families for with kids of all ages, but less so for couples or singles looking for a place to relax and hang out.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank NYCJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

NYCJake,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We are glad that you had a great time while you were here in one of our townhomes. By the sounds of your review you were busy for your entire stay between activities, Kahuna Laguna and our bountiful breakfast buffet. Thank you also for recognizing the staff for all the great service. We look forward to seeing you back in the near future. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was our 5th year staying at the Red Jacket. Last year and this we stayed in one of the new
Presidential homes....perfect for us and our children and grandchildren. We relaxed in the spacious accommodations, enjoyed the pool, water park, scheduled activities (wagon ride, marshmallow roast) and arcade.

The staff is very welcoming and helpful, can't say enough about how much we enjoy our Red Jacket vacations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Evelyn G,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your 5th vacation here at the Red Jacket Mountain View. We are thrilled that we are becoming a family tradition. Our Presidential are a great place to become home base while in North Conway. We look forward to seeing your family for #6and also if you are ever looking to take another vacation on the beach please take a look at our 5 resorts in Cape Cod. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel looks great when you pull up and grounds are kept nicely.
We only stayed one night, purchased through priceline for $138. The hotel is old, it has a bit of a smell to it when you walk down the halls to rooms. We had room 321 mountain view king. Again a smell to it, not terrible but apparent. Tile on floor next to toliet loose and room is dated. The next morning front desk called because they got a noise complaint from people below us of stomping on the floor. We have one child, 4 year old boy who may of stomped once or twice. If you want r&r without kids this is not the place for you. I really couldn't believe they called, left a bad taste in my mouth. Next time we are in n Conway we will stay elsewhere.
PS didn't do water park, It was $20 a head!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mainecooncat1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Mainecooncat1977,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We apologize that your visit did not live up to your expectations. Anytime when we have any of our guests call about noise we make courtesy calls as an effort to provide a comfortable environment for all to enjoy. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
676 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fox Ridge Resort
Fox Ridge Resort
#12 of 25 in North Conway
663 reviews
2.3 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park

Address: 2251 White Mountain Highway, Route 16, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5161
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in North Conway
#4 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range: £112 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located on 40 acres overlooking the Moat Mountain Range and Saco Valley, nestled in the heart of the Mount Washington Valley. Red Jacket Mountain View is home of Kahuna Laguna Indoor Water Park. It's 40,000 square feet of splash-tacular fun! Zoom through one of four high-speed tubes before splashing into the landing pool below. The whole family will enjoy the activity pool, water cannons and play tower, and your smallest kahunas will have a great time in the shallow pool. Water park admission is additional. Deluxe accommodations that feature 1 or two beds while our family accommodations include spacious family lofts, alcoves or two-bedroom townhouses. Our four-bedroom Presidential homes have full kitchens and decks, offering privacy yet easily walkable to all our amenities! Our front desk is at your service for all the arrangements you will need for activities such as skiing, hiking,shopping the outlets of North Conway or visiting Story Land and Santa's Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Mountain View Hotel North Conway
Best Western North Conway
Red Jacket North Conway
North Conway Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing