We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay with proximity to attractions and shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel offers a variety of activities for kids, while we were there, Wii tournaments, S'mores, etc. The waterpark is great for the kids, the lifeguards are very attentive, similar to those at Disney World where they are constantly checking all points of their assigned location. The restaurant options are very good, the breakfast buffet was great as was the dinner.

We stayed on the third floor, coming out of the elevator we had to go through 2 doors in the same hallway to get to our room, one of them was down a couple of steps, not a big deal but when you're carrying a few bags the less obstacles the better.

The room itself was fine, clean and adequately sized, except it really could have used both updating and more lighting, felt like we were in a cave. Our room did face the mountains so you can't beat the view. Since there is a waterpark in the hotel, I would think that drying lines could be installed in the bathrooms. There were towel racks outside the bathroom door but I think a drying line would make more sense.

Parking could be better, and this wasn't helped by the way the check in is set up. There's a check in circle that you pull up into. You can drop your stuff off and then move on to the parking lot. The only problem is that to get from the hotel to the pool and the parking lot most of the guests have to walk across the same check in circle. The sidewalk and road aren't separated very well so there's lots of people walking through the middle of the circle while people checking in or out who are trying to drive through. I would think that the hotel could do a better job of separating the sidewalk from the road.

The hotel is less than 2 minutes from main street, in fact you could probably walk to main street on a nice night, less than five minutes from most of the outlets. Just about 10-15 minutes from Storyland, about an hour or so from Santas Village.

The staff members I came across were all very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view rooms, the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jellis677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

jellis677,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay. We enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the thoroughness. Thank you for highlighting that the life guards were similar to Disney. That is a huge compliment that really makes us feel good with all the training and effort we put in. Thank you also in your description of the lighting in the rooms and the congestion to walk to the pool. We will take a look at both and see what solutions there may be. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is our first time at the red jacket resort, although have been to North Conway many times. Decided to try RJ because of the water park. We requested a top floor room, away from highest traffic areas, b/c my son has sensory issues and is sensitive to some noises.

They put us on the bottom floor between a wedding and an activity room. We asked to be moved, but the only other room they had to give us had a horrible mildew smell and no view as promised.

The rooms are expensive, very dated and the whole hotel needs a good cleaning. Our bedding was dirty, and there is mold in many places in the bathroom....very gross!

Very, very disappointed! Moving to new hotel tomorrow. Scared to walk on carpet barefoot!! Feel like I've lost 2 days of a 5- day vacation!

Will get on the mommy network and let them all know not to stay here for now.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LWawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

LWawr,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay. We feel bad that you did not enjoy any facet of the resort. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and best of luck with future travels.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We found this a pleasant place to stay. The rooms were clean and beds were comfy (we didn't spend a lot of time inside the actual room so I can't comment too much on the decor). They have a good sized video arcade and the water park, Kahuna Laguna. This provided hours of fun for our kids. The kids also really enjoyed the bonfire with lemonade. I would recommend giving this place a try, even if for only a night or two. The only downside was the cost of the breakfast buffet. All told, we spent $60 for a family of 4. I even called them when I got home, thinking there had been some mistake. The breakfast was very good, but I wouldn't normally spend that much on breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

S W,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your most recent visit. We are glad that you enjoyed the clean rooms and comfy beds. Kahuna Laguna and the arcade can definitely provide entertainment for children and adults of all ages. Our breakfast is $14.95 for adults and $7.95 for children, we offer a plentiful selection from a waffle station, to an omelet bar to M&M pancakes to energize for the storyland rush. We look forward to your next visit and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We are a family of 6, so traveling can get expensive if we need two rooms. We stayed in the loft, huge room!! The walk up loft had two singles with a sink, the main room had two full sizes bed with a small refrigerator and then there was a small room off to the side with a single bed. So yes the rooms are dated but they are clean, the price for us was cheap! There is a full breakfast buffet included, egg, pancakes, meat, etc... Pools were good, heated indoor and nice outdoor with pool.

Room Tip: Only issue is there was a lot of walking and stairs so handicap access was issue for our room. Loft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank deeter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

deeter123,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your most recent stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed one of our loft rooms. Your room loft room had a bonus alcove , so on a return visit make sure you request as not all loft rooms have the additional alcove. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and the pool. Enjoy the last few weeks of summer and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We've been going to this hotel every summer for the past 7 years. The water park is fantastic for kids 2 to 12 and fun for moms and dads. The rooms are dated, especially when you consider the high price. Our room this year still had an old style tube TV and the bathroom smelled musty.

We'll go back for the water park and the close proximity to Story Land, but I wish they'd update the rooms.

Warning, the loft rooms are great, but not for very little kids. The stairs to the loft have no railing and the railing in the loft is too low. A young child could easily be killed falling off the loft or stairs.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank scaissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

scaissie,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your most recent stay. We appreciate the loyalty of the past 7 years and we look forward to seeing you for number 8. As far as the loft rooms we do not recommend for children under the age of 4. We do have alcove rooms which offer a small alcove with a pocket door that creates a private resting spot. We also have two bedroom town homes which have a full kitchen as well. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

this is our 2nd time at the Red Jacket,we had a mountain view room. Everything was great, Cheyenne, Janice, and sasa were very helpful. Gary was fabulous and Stephanie, front desk supervisor was above and beyond helpful and friendly. We had my two teenage granddaughters with us. In addition to shopping and horseback riding they spent an average of 3-4 hours in the water park each of the first 3 days we were there. Toasted marshmello and lemon aid each night at the fire pit. We had a great tiime and we will go back and have recommended Red Jacket resot to our friends.

Room Tip: If you have children, get a loft room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Stan K,

Thank you, Thank you, and Thank you!! We really appreciate your time on posting your review and are ecstatic with the shout out of 5 of our team members. We love what we do and we appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards,


Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This review is coming off of our second stay at this hotel. It turns out that our kids loved it so much that whenever we asked them where they wanted to go on vacation they say Red Jacket Mountain View (or really the awesome hotel with the water slides). We stayed in one of their loft suites which was perfect for my husband and 2 kids. The kids essentially got their own room with TV when they stayed in the loft. The hotel is very clean with a very helpful staff. The only complaint I have is that the bed mattresses could be more comfortable. There were a few nights it took awhile for us to get to sleep.

Their buffet breakfast is very good and offered a very wide selection including omelet station and Belgium waffles. The water slides inside the hotel are clean and not crowded at all...we spend a whole day there on one of the rainy days of our trip. Also there is a great ice cream shop just across the street from the hotel. Getting the coupon book from Breathe NH was key to saving money at the water slides and Storyland. If you are planning a trip to North Conway this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kritic8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Kritic8,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your 2nd visit to The Red Jacket Mountain View. We really like hearing that your children always want to go "really the awesome hotel with the water slides". Maybe we will have to considering hiring them to be part of our marketing team. We are glad that you enjoyed the loft room and we apologize for not being able to get a good nights sleep on one of the mattress's. Hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and we look forward to seeing you back for your third visit. Please tell your children to ask for Keeko when you return as he has a special gift for them.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
676 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fox Ridge Resort
Fox Ridge Resort
#12 of 25 in North Conway
663 reviews
2.3 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park

Address: 2251 White Mountain Highway, Route 16, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5161
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in North Conway
#4 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range: £112 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located on 40 acres overlooking the Moat Mountain Range and Saco Valley, nestled in the heart of the Mount Washington Valley. Red Jacket Mountain View is home of Kahuna Laguna Indoor Water Park. It's 40,000 square feet of splash-tacular fun! Zoom through one of four high-speed tubes before splashing into the landing pool below. The whole family will enjoy the activity pool, water cannons and play tower, and your smallest kahunas will have a great time in the shallow pool. Water park admission is additional. Deluxe accommodations that feature 1 or two beds while our family accommodations include spacious family lofts, alcoves or two-bedroom townhouses. Our four-bedroom Presidential homes have full kitchens and decks, offering privacy yet easily walkable to all our amenities! Our front desk is at your service for all the arrangements you will need for activities such as skiing, hiking,shopping the outlets of North Conway or visiting Story Land and Santa's Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Mountain View Hotel North Conway
Best Western North Conway
Red Jacket North Conway
North Conway Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing