We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the water temp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It's all about the water temp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

I absolutely loved this place! I took my family there because of the indoor water park. I've been to a couple of these indoor water parks before.
The water temp in the indoor water park and the outdoor pool are warm (guessing approx 85f). The owners should do a better job advertising this, it's a game changer! I usually don't like to go in the water but I stayed in this place all day.
The water temp made up for the out dated rooms. I will definitely return.
Lastly, the atmosphere at red jacket was incredible! people were really happy and having fun. The staff made sure to fill the day with family fun activities: Popsicles, marshmallows, etc...
I'll be back!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Aberdidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Aberdidi,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed the water park and the water temp. Kahuna Laguna is 82 degrees year round and we do utilize in our marketing in the Winter. Keeko our mascot controls the temperature and he will never let us turn it down, so we all have Keeko to thank for the great atmosphere. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    344
    130
    47
    28
See reviews for
985
113
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Chelmsford, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is our fourth adventure to the red jacket in North Conway. The grandkids refer to here as their "vacation place!" The water park is the big attraction. Next, it is the breakfast buffet that catches their attention. Small set back this year in that out of all the amazing choices-- scrambled eggs were no where to be found......... unless you waited in the special order omelette line for twenty minutes. My granddaughter wanted me to hold her plate because it was getting heavy!
I could tell that the amazing and outstanding food manager, Christy Mackie, was off this day because she would have had them fire up a quick supply of their fantastic eggs in a flash! The young girl in charge that day seemed to care less about the long line backup.

The rooms are ok, reading at night to fall asleep is hard because you must almost get up to reach the light switch above your head. Why the previous switches are all disconnected and covered up, I am not sure?

Little silly things, I know, like walking down the halls and left out food trays and piles of dirty towels are sitting there from one morning trip to the next. Plus, in times past, the hotel associates were all in their red jackets and had a customer caring attitude which was missing on this year's trip. The gals at the check in office are all fantastic. And we love the dining room staff, especially Chris Wood, our AM server and the man that makes our trip memorable---
the one and only Chris Randall whose happy and fun nature and attention to detail makes our dinner really special! He truly cares and none of that foney stuff like "enjoy" .

The kids love toasting the marshmallows at night over the open fire. A great place for all and I am sure we will be back next year! To Chris 1, and Chris 2, (not the ones above, but the chefs)
I truly appreciate your never ending hard effort to make the best tasting meals in all the world!!

Thanks red jacket, for another fantastic visit.

Room Tip: mountainside view but make sure you're not stuck in a far corner out of the site line!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dennis H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your most recent stay. Wow, the accolades that you mentioned by name for our food and beverage team is outstanding. To remember Chris, Chris and Christy by name put a smile on the teams face. We also appreciate your observations because the details are what will make us better. We look forward to seeing you in the near future and we will have the scrambled eggs ready to go.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We are a family of 5 with a baby in a carriage and they stuck us on the 3rd floor , which the hallways up there are not carriage accessible - lots of heavy doors and even some stairs. The rooms really need updating, dingy looking with old school tvs. With what we paid ( over 269 a night) I expected a little more. Did not even have a mountain view and a lady I chatted with said she paid $169 for the same type of room we had so beware of getting screwed! Not to mention there is no continental breakfast! We stayed last year at their sister Red Jacket right near it( foxridge) and I actually liked that one better. My 7 &5 year old did enjoy the water park but I personally wasn't impressed . Over all, I would not return to Mountain View.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eyembeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Eyembeth,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments of your most recent stay. We apologize that you did not enjoy our hotel or the room. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

My daughter begs to go back to Red Jacket. We try to stay here at least once a year. The horse drawn carriage rides are fun and memorable. And we always enjoy roasting marshmallows.

Great hotel, great amenities. The rooms are a bit run down and outdated, and are nothing fancy. But the activities make up for what is lacking in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D1975_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
D1975_13,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay. We are excited to hear that your daughter begs to come back to the Red Jacket Mountain View. Wagon rides with the two beautiful draft horses are definitely a crowd favorite. We appreciate your objective comments and will definitely take them into consideration as we move into the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon and let your daughter know that Keeko was looking for her.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami beach
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Do you want to make your kids really happy?? Stay here ... A water park in the hotel and the life guard crew is Amazing always on guard ... Great food choices very good service.. Again this is a hotel for your kids .. .. So be prepared to go down the water slide 100 times and enjoy the outdoor pool as well..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123tswr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
123tswr,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your most recent stay. We enjoyed reading your review as we started our day. Thanks for the acknowledging the diligent life guard staff, as they train and work very hard. Your post could easily be used for one of our commercials. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the future. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jericho, Vt
Level Contributor
216 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was our 5th time with our grandchildren at the Red Jacket!! It was as good as always. It's so very kid friendly, they love the pool, the waterpark and the activities. The rooms are big enough to stay with 2 little ones without feeling crampled. The staff is helpful and friendly. If you want to go to a great place in NH with kids, go to the Red Jacket!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchOmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
DutchOmi,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your 5th visit. We are very very very happy to hear that you enjoy our resort. Grandchildren are kings and queens and we are happy that we could keep them occupied and having fun. We look forward to your 6th visit and we will start planning for activities with your grand children. Enjoy the rest of your summer!!!

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel offers a variety of activities for kids, while we were there, Wii tournaments, S'mores, etc. The waterpark is great for the kids, the lifeguards are very attentive, similar to those at Disney World where they are constantly checking all points of their assigned location. The restaurant options are very good, the breakfast buffet was great as was the dinner.

We stayed on the third floor, coming out of the elevator we had to go through 2 doors in the same hallway to get to our room, one of them was down a couple of steps, not a big deal but when you're carrying a few bags the less obstacles the better.

The room itself was fine, clean and adequately sized, except it really could have used both updating and more lighting, felt like we were in a cave. Our room did face the mountains so you can't beat the view. Since there is a waterpark in the hotel, I would think that drying lines could be installed in the bathrooms. There were towel racks outside the bathroom door but I think a drying line would make more sense.

Parking could be better, and this wasn't helped by the way the check in is set up. There's a check in circle that you pull up into. You can drop your stuff off and then move on to the parking lot. The only problem is that to get from the hotel to the pool and the parking lot most of the guests have to walk across the same check in circle. The sidewalk and road aren't separated very well so there's lots of people walking through the middle of the circle while people checking in or out who are trying to drive through. I would think that the hotel could do a better job of separating the sidewalk from the road.

The hotel is less than 2 minutes from main street, in fact you could probably walk to main street on a nice night, less than five minutes from most of the outlets. Just about 10-15 minutes from Storyland, about an hour or so from Santas Village.

The staff members I came across were all very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view rooms, the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellis677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
jellis677,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay. We enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the thoroughness. Thank you for highlighting that the life guards were similar to Disney. That is a huge compliment that really makes us feel good with all the training and effort we put in. Thank you also in your description of the lighting in the rooms and the congestion to walk to the pool. We will take a look at both and see what solutions there may be. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#7 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
2.3 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
21.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park

Property: Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Address: 2251 White Mountain Highway, Route 16, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5161
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in North Conway
#4 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located on 40 acres overlooking the Moat Mountain Range and Saco Valley, nestled in the heart of the Mount Washington Valley. Red Jacket Mountain View is home of Kahuna Laguna Indoor Water Park. It's 40,000 square feet of splash-tacular fun! Zoom through one of four high-speed tubes before splashing into the landing pool below. Body surf in the swirling wave pool. The whole family will enjoy the activity pool, water cannons and play tower, and your smallest kahunas will have a great time in the shallow pool, an area designed with them in mind. Water park admission is additional. Deluxe accommodations (some pet-friendly) feature 1 or two beds while our family accommodations include spacious family lofts, alcoves or two-bedroom townhouses. Our new four-bedroom homes have full kitchens and decks, offering privacy yet easily walkable to all our amenities! Our front desk is at your service for all the arrangements you will need for activities such as skiing, hiking,shopping the outlets of North Conway or visiting Story Land and Santa's Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Mountain View Hotel North Conway
Best Western North Conway
Red Jacket North Conway
North Conway Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing