We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
Ranked #2 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NorthHatfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful getaway!!!!”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My husband and I were given a gift certificate from the Buttonwood in as a Christmas gift from our daughter. We finally made it last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Bill and Paula were the ultimate hosts, with Bill providing us with tips on places to see and hike. Paula's breakfasts were an excellent way to start the day with all things made from scratch with the best ingredients. We also enjoyed the yummy tea-time goodies in the late afternoon. This place is off the beaten path enough to be serene and picturesque but not hard to find or get to and we were able to enjoy the town of North Conway and the surrounding White Mountains. The rooms were very cozy and Bill and Paula keep everything immaculate!! Waking to the sounds of a Bard Owl made us truly feel as though we were getting away from it all! We enjoyed taking an early morning walk up the trail behind the inn, coffee on the front porch and lawn, and also peaceful afternoon tea. We were fortunate enough to enjoy some summer weather in the spring but are anxious to return in the winter to do some snowshoeing. We highly recommend the Buttonwood for a peaceful getaway and are looking forward to going back and bringing friends!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    46
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
94
373
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the buttonwood inn for a weekend getaway and had an absolute blast! We loved the warm and welcoming environment that Paula and Bill have created. After a day of hiking we enjoyed some down time in the hot tub. We had an AMAZING breakfast - elicious whole wheat pancake that are lighter than air served with fresh strawberry sauce. We can't recommend this B&B more!! Can't wait to head back :)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abbiedavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Had the pleasure of staying at the Buttonwood Inn this weekend. It's located on beautiful landscape,close to walking trails. it truly has a country feel both on the inside & out. Bill & Paula the Innkeepers are hospitable and when you leave you truly feel like you are leaving a family members home. Paula's cooking is so delicious from her fruit salad to the cookies & brownies she bakes for a treat in the afternoon. They even think of your needs when you are experiencing the adventure outside the Inn with granola bars to the dried fruit to take with you. The Inn & rooms are spotless,comfy & homey.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My sister and I wanted a girls getaway to the mountains. After much browsing around all of New England's B&B's I stumbled upon the "Gem" of Inns right at The Buttonwood. What a warm, beautiful, welcoming inn. Our hosts Bill & Paula made our stay like it was our home with warm roaring fires in the common rooms, gourmet breakfasts and just a relaxing atmosphere. We actually went up to breakfast in the plush robes they have for you in your room during your stay. Now that is relaxing! Bill made many recommendations for restaurants and spas for us. He made our reservations for our massages so we didn't have to. Everything he suggested we did and without disappointment. It was the perfect laugh all day and night like sisters do! We will be coming back next winter with our other 2 sisters!!!! Get ready Paula because we will be staying longer! The Buttonwood Inn is THE place to unwind and just do what you feel like doing at your own pace. This beautiful Inn in my book is A-1 Top Notch!

Room Tip: We had room#10. Lower floor which has its own walk-out, gas fireplace, jacuzzi tub. Very Large room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judgeelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergenfield, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My wife, I, and another couple returned to the Buttonwood, for five nights, this Presidents Day weekend. This year we were joined by other friends to whom we had recommended the Buttonwood. The trip was a total success. Bill and Paula provide a perfect setting for a relaxing and fulfilling "the great breakfasts" experience. They are warm, friendly, and accommodating. The Inn which is bright, cheerful, and comfortable is immaculately kept. The location is unique in that it is “off the beaten path” quiet, but very close to all the attractions the area has to offer. Our visit started with a warm greeting from the Innkeepers and continued with a delicious homemade snack at Tea Time. The comfortable living room and downstairs gathering room enhanced time spent with friends, old and new. Bill is always ready to recommend a great local restaurant for dinner and will call to set up reservations. The day ended with a relaxing nights sleep in a very comfortable room. The next morning and all the following mornings were started with one of Paula's delicious breakfasts. Thanks, Bill and Paula, for a great vacation. We anxiously await our next trip to “The Buttonwood”.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My wife and I and another couple stayed at the Buttonwood Inn for the Chocolate Festival weekend, at the end of February. When I first began reading the web site for the Buttonwood Inn, I thought, "what a cute little inn". Then I called to ask some questions and get a better sense of their offerings and I spoke with Bill. He gave me more information about the Inn, the property and more importantly, Paula's ability to easily accommodate a gluten free allergy which one person in our party required for her meals. After that conversation, I thought "wow, how rare to find a place to stay, who is willing to accept responsibility for a food allergy, so my friend didn't have to figure it out on her own". When the four of us arrived, the inn looked as charming and quaint as it did on the web site, and there was Bill, with his big smile, ready to greet us at the front desk. And much like the "man behind the curtain" in The Wizard of Oz...we could see Paula in the background, working her magic in the kitchen. Little did we know what was to come from that magical kitchen! From the jacuzzi, the game room/family room downstairs, the common areas, the rooms and the bathrooms were all exceptionally well maintained and extremely clean. We had a fabulous weekend and I can't say enough about Paula's food....I think the analogy to the "man behind the curtain working her magic" says it best...!! Wow...!!! Everything at the Inn was, to some degree, expected, or anticipated, but what a surprise by the end of the weekend to have such a hidden gem just a few turns off the main road and downtown. My wife and friends have already discussed another group get away, almost literally to just to experience Paula's culinary genius!!! Bill, you're a great guy too, no worries, your hospitality was top notch!! Many thanks and highly recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed two nights at the Buttonwood Inn, and had a marvelous time. The breakfasts were delicious, the rooms were beautifully decorated and very comfortable, Bill and Paula were super friendly and accomodating, and the Inn itself had a lovely basement and parlour, where we could exchange with other guests at cocktail hour!

Would definitely recommend this Inn to anyone who wants to make a weekend ski trip to North Conway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
5.2 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#5 of 25 in North Conway
1,265 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
544 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise

Property: Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
Address: 64 Mount Surprise Rd, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-6508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy nature and the peaceful atmosphere of the mountains and forest, The Buttonwood Inn on Mt. Surprise offers that and more while being close to everything. We are situated on more than five secluded acres of field and forests, two miles from the village of North Conway. Our hiking trails on Bartlett Mountain are accessed out our back door where you can follow the myriad of intersecting trails for hours. Within five minutes, the peacefulness of the mountain trail will envelope you. The Buttonwood Inn has been a Select Registry member since 1999. In 2013, The Buttonwood Inn became a member of the Diamond Collection. The Daily Meal named The Buttonwood Inn as one of "The Top 50 US Bed-and-Breakfasts for Food" in May 2013. The Buttonwood Inn has been awarded the Best of New England 2010-11 and Best Food 2009-10. In October 2010, Travel Channel listed The Buttonwood Inn as one of the "Top 10 New England Bed and Breakfasts." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing