We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
Ranked #2 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Buttonwood Inn is in a great location to feel secluded but close enough for varied activities. I was very impressed that while we were there Paula provided gluten free and diabetic food options to the guests that needed it. I have already recommended this place to my daughter and fiancé who like to hike but are vegans. They shy away from bed and breakfast places because of their dietary restrictions but Paula is an amazing chef!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
There are newer reviews for Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

We recently made a return trip to the Buttonwood Inn, this time in the summer. the surroundings are peaceful with beautiful gardens and plenty of outdoor seating to enjoy the outdoors. Bill and Paula are super attentive to each guest, offering hiking, dining and local attraction suggestions. There is an outside fire in the evening and opportunities for amazing stargazing with Bill's telescope. Coming back to the Buttonwood is like seeing old friends again, looking forward to another trip soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elk514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a great two-night stay at Buttonwood. Bill and Paula made us feel very welcomed guests. Besides the fact that the place is very nice, clean, with character, very well kept, Bill treated us more as friends than his customers. When he realized that I like photography, he offered me to use his long lens and the tripod to shoot the hummingbirds that fly to the feeder on the front porch. He demonstrated us his telescope on the backyard - they guy just loves astronomy. He suggested us good places to eat and made reservations for us. He realized right away that we did not like "stuffy" places, but like more casual dining, and he sent us to two local restaurants that were exactly to our tastes.

In the meantime, Paula makes great breakfasts (no, there is no choice, but with her quality of cooking you do not want it anyway), and bakes cookies for afternoon tea.

The place is very conveniently located. It is not right in downtown where you hit the traffic, but just a mile away, at a foot of a mountain, and just five minutes away from the village. One minute away from Rt 16/302, that gives an easy access to Kancamangus Hwy and to Crawford Notch.

Next time we are going to NH - we will definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBSBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had a really nice stay at Buttonwood Inn. Bill and Paula were very thoughtful and accommodating. Because of traffic, we arrived slightly after check-in ended, and an envelope with all the info that we needed in it and homemade macaroons were waiting for us. The next morning, we went down to breakfast with our one year-old son and found that a table had been set just for us, including a high chair--something no other B&B has done for us--and a child-size portion of every course was also provided for us without request, something no B&B has done for us either. The scones with local jam and butter were delicious! Paula's breakfast that day was savory--an egg souffle with cheddar cheese, which my husband said was excellent. I don't eat cheese, so Paula kindly prepared scrambled eggs and toast for me. Finally, I left a piece of jewelry in the room, and Bill called within the hour to let us know and mailed it to us.

We only wish that we had been able to stay longer to enjoy the pool and grounds--Bill and Paula have provided hammocks, lawn games like croquet and ladder golf, etc. They've truly thought of everything!

Room Tip: Room four was excellent--very spacious. The air conditioner wasn't working in the room, but the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a place that's in town and yet not, close to hiking trails and yet plenty to do right there, Buttonwood Inn is the place for you. Clean, comfortable and welcoming, Bill and Paula are great hosts. Breakfast is delicious and the cookies each afternoon, a treat. Since we're regular visitors to the White Mountains we hope Bill and Paula remain at Buttonwood for many years to come.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lifeisbrief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I can confirm all the things that have been written before in other reviews. The only thing I would like to add is the attention to detail that Bill and Paula haven taken to make the Buttonwood stand out from other top rated B&Bs. From providing bath robes in the rooms, to the extensive DVD collection, to the many books, magazines and newspapers available, as well as the information about everything in the area there is nothing lacking. The pool is wonderful, and breakfast is a treat, not only the delicious food, but listening to Bill answer questions and give the morning Mt. Washington weather report. We already are planning when we can return.

Room Tip: We selected room 2 which was very nice, just a shower stall but that wasn't a problem. Towards t...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobJ645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband and I visited the Buttonwood Inn as the first stop on our honeymoon. Paula and Bill had champagne waiting for us in the room, which was a lovely touch. Paula's breakfasts and snacks were simply delicious. Paula alternates between sweet and savoury, and was very accommodating of food allergies/intolerances. Bill and the other guests gave us a list of "must see" places, which was very helpful as we did not know the area. Bill also contacted us a few weeks before our visit and helped facilitate making dinner reservations. Everything about this B&B was fantastic! We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mleesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.9 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.9 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
0.6 mi away
Cranmore Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise

Address: 64 Mount Surprise Rd, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-6508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range: £127 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy nature and the peaceful atmosphere of the mountains and forest, The Buttonwood Inn on Mt. Surprise offers that and more while being close to everything. We are situated on more than five secluded acres of field and forests, two miles from the village of North Conway. Our hiking trails on Bartlett Mountain are accessed out our back door where you can follow the myriad of intersecting trails for hours. Within five minutes, the peacefulness of the mountain trail will envelope you. The Buttonwood Inn has been a Select Registry member since 1999. In 2013, The Buttonwood Inn became a member of the Diamond Collection. The Daily Meal named The Buttonwood Inn as one of "The Top 50 US Bed-and-Breakfasts for Food" in May 2013. The Buttonwood Inn has been awarded the Best of New England 2010-11 and Best Food 2009-10. In October 2010, Travel Channel listed The Buttonwood Inn as one of the "Top 10 New England Bed and Breakfasts." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing