We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
Ranked #2 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
boston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved our stay!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying with innkeepers Bill and Paula at their wonderful inn. For many years we've frequented another inn nearby and made a decision this year to give the Buttonwood Inn a try. From our first step in the door, we knew we had made the right decision! The comfort of the entire inn, from our room to the common areas along with the wonderful, quiet location cannot be beat. Bill and Paula are such wonderful hosts, and we were in heaven with Paula's afternoon treats -- and her breakfast! Wow. We are looking forward to our next visit for sure!

Room Tip: Loved Room 1 - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bosfreqtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    46
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
94
373
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our first stay but definitely won't be our last! Paula and Bill have thought of every little detail to make your stay amazing! The rooms were very comfortable with extras including flat screen tvs with dvd players, Ipod docks, and handmade throws. The common areas were great with a refrigerator and microwave for guests to use and stocked with games, dvds, musical instruments and more! Paula is a wonderful cook and spoiled us with evening treats (homemade cookies)! We left early to hike on the first morning and they left us provisions for an early breakfast which included setting the coffee maker to brew at 6am! These are the little things that make a stay truly perfect! Bill and Paula are very friendly and I look forward to seeing them again on our next trip to the North Conway area!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 which has an attached bath. The rooms with a bath down the hall are still very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was our 6th or 7th stay at the Buttonwood and it is always a delightful stay. Bill and Paula are the perfect hosts and we consider them to be good friends. Paula's breakfasts are always creative and nutritious and seem to always carry us through until dinner. Bill is a veritable encylopedia of information when it comes to the White Mountains and can always share something new about the area. We would highly recommend a stay at the Buttonwood. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maineiac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was our first stay at the Buttonwood Inn. I signed my husband up for the Waterfall Photography Workshop as a birthday surprise, so he could perfect his digital SLR skills. The photographer, Joe, was excellent. The Inn was fantastic. We loved Room 10...very spacious, comfortable bed, handheld shower, jacuzzi, flat-screen tv, personal parking space & entry. This is the cleanest Inn we've ever stayed at. Their location is in a quiet area yet a short distance to shops & dining. Bill & Paula are very hospitable, yet unobtrusive. Bill looks & sounds like Bill Murray. He even has his dry sense of humor, which we thorougly enjoyed. Paula is a fantastic cook/baker. We're looking forward to a future visit at this five star property.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinduhrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

This was my third visit to Buttonwood. Before we arrived,this last time,I was thinking how at home I felt previously at Buttonwood. The moment we opened the door Paula was there to say "Welcome home"! She "took the words out of my mouth", so to speak. I always have an enjoyable time at Buttonwood. The breakfast and afternoon treats are tasty. We enjoy the quiet the Inn offers and the walks through Merriman forest.
Bill and Paula do strive for excellence.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Haley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotonou, Benin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the Buttonwood Inn was the highlight of a five week trip: perfectly run Inn, cozy rooms, gorgeous garden, yummy food.... and family friendly! The owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The rooms were nice, the communal areas very inviting and well thought through, with lots of different areas inside and outside to sit, read, watch TV, play, etc. The whole atmosphere of the place was very inviting, a lot of attention paid to little extra conveniences and the food was extraordinary. We recommend it wholeheartedly!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lesvaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergenfield, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My wife, myself and friends returned this year for our annual trip to The Buttonwood. Bill and Paula were once again the perfect hosts. They are very friendly and extremely helpful with their knowledge of the area and local events. The Inn is immaculate and the breakfasts are delicious. The Inn is located up a quiet country lane on the edge of a wilderness area but is only 1.5 miles to the center of town. North Conway has a lot of very good restaurants and there are many downhill and cross country ski areas nearby. Mount Cranmore downhill, and Mount Washington Valley Cross Country, ski areas are both within 1.5 miles. The Buttonwood is the perfect place for that relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#5 of 25 in North Conway
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
1.9 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
542 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise

Property: Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
Address: 64 Mount Surprise Rd, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-6508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy nature and the peaceful atmosphere of the mountains and forest, The Buttonwood Inn on Mt. Surprise offers that and more while being close to everything. We are situated on more than five secluded acres of field and forests, two miles from the village of North Conway. Our hiking trails on Bartlett Mountain are accessed out our back door where you can follow the myriad of intersecting trails for hours. Within five minutes, the peacefulness of the mountain trail will envelope you. The Buttonwood Inn has been a Select Registry member since 1999. In 2013, The Buttonwood Inn became a member of the Diamond Collection. The Daily Meal named The Buttonwood Inn as one of "The Top 50 US Bed-and-Breakfasts for Food" in May 2013. The Buttonwood Inn has been awarded the Best of New England 2010-11 and Best Food 2009-10. In October 2010, Travel Channel listed The Buttonwood Inn as one of the "Top 10 New England Bed and Breakfasts." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing