We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
Ranked #2 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what we needed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

This past weekend my new husband and I traveled to the Buttonwood Inn for our 'mini-moon". As soon as we entered the building I felt relaxed. Bill and Paula were very welcoming and clearly love what they do. Paula's cupcakes...... out of this world. The room was so clean and cozy, I had zero reservation of entering the sheets(as I have in many other places). I give this place a 5 overall and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErinDylan829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    46
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
92
369
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, MA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Buttonwood Inn was wonderful! The accommodations were very great---clean, cute, and everything you could need was available. We loved the media room that they had which included movies to watch, a computer, comfortable sitting, and a fireplace. Also loved the outdoor hot tub, pool, fire pit, and hammock. The breakfasts were delicious and discounts to recommended restaurants in the area. High recommend this to anyone who loves a great B&B!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soxfan6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

An excellent B&B, with welcoming hosts. This place has it all - a den with fridge and videos; a formal sitting room; a porch; and a garden with swimming pool. The rooms are full of character, but not chintzy and the breakfasts are stunning. The smell of fresh baking as you enter the Inn after a day's hiking is most welcome. A nice area to stay in too, with some good restaurants and great hikes and attractions.

Room Tip: Just ring the Inn keepers and talk to them. Our rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

First time at bed and breakfast.Buttonwood inn was perfect.Beautiful area in New Hampshire.Beautiful property. great front porch, hot tub, pool and firepit.Room and bathroom big and tastefully decorated.Bill and Paula friendly and informative.Delicious breakfast and afternoon drink and treat.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fdeanlpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepperell, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Yet another spectacular weekend at the Buttonwood Inn, probably our 8th visit! Bill and Paula do an amazing job. The inn is cozy, comfortable and very relaxing! The setting is beautiful, quiet and surrounded by lush gardens. Paula's breakfasts are out of this world, and the afternoon cookies were eagerly anticipated. We arrived at 9 PM the first night, and a plate of treats awaited us. We had been "called out" for the Ice Bucket Challenge, and Bill was more than happy to videotape the performance for us. We can't say enough for Buttonwood, and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jamanzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Had a fabulous three night stay at Buttonwood. A beautiful tranquil setting In a wonderful location which is surrounded by woodlands and just a short drive from town. we loved the old world charm of the Inn. Paula's home cooked breakfasts were amazing and my children loved her cookies that were left out for afternoon tea everyday. Loved all the 'extras':- the vast array of DVDs, games, ( both indoors and out) and books to flick through. The children loved the pool ( along with pool toys). We were on a three week trip travelling through New England and had stayed in six different hotels most of which were excellent, but I have to stay that Buttonwood was my favourite by far and we would love to return one day. If you want something special and different from the large soul less hotels then give it try. I am so glad we did.

Room Tip: We had room 6. Spacious enough for two adults and two children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dukmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Newport, Maine, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast. The hospitality was fantastic. Bill gave great recommendations on places to eat and sites to see. The Inn was very clean and cozy. The food was wonderful. Our room was wonderful as well. The bed was hard but other than that the room was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#5 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cranmore Inn Bed and Breakfast
Cranmore Inn Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Cranmore Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Kearsarge Inn
Kearsarge Inn
#4 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise

Property: Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
Address: 64 Mount Surprise Rd, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-6508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy nature and the peaceful atmosphere of the mountains and forest, The Buttonwood Inn on Mt. Surprise offers that and more while being close to everything. We are situated on more than five secluded acres of field and forests, two miles from the village of North Conway. Our hiking trails on Bartlett Mountain are accessed out our back door where you can follow the myriad of intersecting trails for hours. Within five minutes, the peacefulness of the mountain trail will envelope you. The Buttonwood Inn has been a Select Registry member since 1999. In 2013, The Buttonwood Inn became a member of the Diamond Collection. The Daily Meal named The Buttonwood Inn as one of "The Top 50 US Bed-and-Breakfasts for Food" in May 2013. The Buttonwood Inn has been awarded the Best of New England 2010-11 and Best Food 2009-10. In October 2010, Travel Channel listed The Buttonwood Inn as one of the "Top 10 New England Bed and Breakfasts." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing