We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place deluxe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
Ranked #3 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We did look for y quiet place on our honeymoon... and we found it.. after a while driving arround. This place offers so much, that a stay should last not less than a week! The passion of the owners is in every corner! Thank you so much for giving us such a warm memory - Michaela & Dani

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hypocampo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2010

The Buttonwood is a beautiful, secluded inn tucked away on a wooded side road close to the Rt. 16/302 junction, convenient to many White Mountain hiking destinations and other attractions. My husband and I greatly enjoyed our stay here. Our room, though small, was cozy and impeccably clean. The owners, Bill and Paula, were friendly without being intrusive, and were full of helpful suggestions for activities during our stay (they even recommended a restaurant for our celebration dinner, which was excellent, and made a reservation for us before we arrived). Paula's homemade breakfast was delicious! The inn also has many extra amenities, such as a large pool, hot tub, BBQ grill, telescope, and free Wi-Fi. We wished we could stay longer, and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ef032685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

If you are looking for the nicest of people who will make your stay a pleasant one then you will find them in Bill and Paula Petrone, Innkeepers of the Buttonwood. They are so helpful and just great to be around.
The room was immaculate and in great taste as was the homemade breakfasts. Paula is quite the cook. The location couldn't be any better either. A couple miles away from the village and set in the woods and with the most beautiful of stars yet close enough to everything you could ever need...
We're already planning a return trip and a stay in the same room the next time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Bill and Paula are great as is the Inn. Execellent rooms, food and location. Will be going back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samt2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We had a great time here. The attention to detail was amazing, everything was super clean, the breakfast was delicious, the room was nice, there is a pool and hottub, extensive movie collection, etc. Bill and Paula gave us good recommendations for hiking and for dinner. Bill even helped us out when our car wouldn't start. The location of course is perfect too.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliesBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

My husband and I returned to the Buttonwood after a few years to find it is still heaven. I could live there; it is set back from the road and has a peaceful, tranquil feeling. A weekend wasn't enough time to do everything we wanted. We didn't get a chance to try the hot tub or the pool, but they were ready and looked inviting. We arrived late and had chatted with Bill about the check-in procedure prior to getting there. There was a plate of brownies out for us to grab a late-night snack...they were a perfect little nibble.
The breakfast on our first morning was SOOOOO good. Lemon scented blueberry pancakes- I still can smell that wonderful aroma and they tasted out of this world. Paula graciously shared the recipe so that I could attempt them at home. We may need to return though; especially if I can't get them right at home ; )
On our second morning my husband had gone down to get me a cup of coffee and found an extra guest on the porch. He came running up the stairs and into the room to tell me that there was a bear on the porch! I grabbed my iphone in case we could get some pics, and sure enough, there was a fuzzy bear teetering on the railing of the porch. He was after the humming bird feeders and it was clear he was a return customer- he knew exactly how to get the bottom of the feeder removed so he could get what he wanted. I have never been this close to a bear before- we were looking out the window and he was within a couple of feet as he turned around on the rail and headed toward us....so cool to see. I will never forget this experience.
Bill and Paula are great people and do a great job with the Buttonwood. It is a Registry Select property, which speaks for the quality of the furnishings, cleanliness of the facilities and comfort of the guest.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Velogirlsarah17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

This hidden away B & B is set on a quiet and beautiful site. The Inn Keepers are quick to assist you with anything from a place to dine to activities that you are seeking.

You will wake to a delicious breakfast prepared fresh every morning and always served up with a warm smile and conversation and if you are lucky you might enjoy a peek of the wildlife with your meal.

After a long day of exploring it is a great place to return to relax in the hot tub or in the Rec Room to view a movie.

We can't wait to return in the fall!

J & C, Shannock RI

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuckmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.9 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
5.9 mi away
Inn at Ellis River
Inn at Ellis River
#1 of 11 in Jackson
575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cranmore Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise

Address: 64 Mount Surprise Rd, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-6508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range: £105 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy nature and the peaceful atmosphere of the mountains and forest, The Buttonwood Inn on Mt. Surprise offers that and more while being close to everything. We are situated on more than five secluded acres of field and forests, two miles from the village of North Conway. Our hiking trails on Bartlett Mountain are accessed out our back door where you can follow the myriad of intersecting trails for hours. Within five minutes, the peacefulness of the mountain trail will envelope you. The Buttonwood Inn has been a Select Registry member since 1999. In 2013, The Buttonwood Inn became a member of the Diamond Collection. The Daily Meal named The Buttonwood Inn as one of "The Top 50 US Bed-and-Breakfasts for Food" in May 2013. The Buttonwood Inn has been awarded the Best of New England 2010-11 and Best Food 2009-10. In October 2010, Travel Channel listed The Buttonwood Inn as one of the "Top 10 New England Bed and Breakfasts." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing