We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
Ranked #2 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“The Best!!!”
Reviewed 1 August 2010

A very welcoming Inn. The surrounding area is peaceful with lots to do---
The breakfasts were delicious--and with host's such as Bill and Paua--you just can't do any better.
Looking for ard to a return visit and a longer one.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyonsk39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    46
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
94
373
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

On a recent getaway , we were fortunate enough to discover a picturesque retreat set in the North Conway, New Hampshire woodlands on Mt. Surprise. The Buttonwood Inn B & B was warm and inviting at the very start. Our host and hostess, Bill and Paula, were exceptionally hospitable. In addition to being gracious innkeepers, their knowledge of the area, its resources and local cuisines was remarkable. After sharing a brief history of this beautiful property, we were ushered around the inn to become familiar with its layout. They both helped direct us to some amazing restaurants and recreational sites. One favorite memory of ours continues to be the fabulous breakfasts which we were served each morning of our stay. The inn was decorated with a tremendous amount of thoughtfulness and care to detail. The cleanliness of the the facility was unmatched. The property around this inn boasts some lovely perennial gardens as well as bird feeders that attract numerous hummingbirds. In the back area, a pool and hot tub await visitors. We highly recommend the Buttonwood Inn which proved to be a very pleasant and memorable stop on our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captain45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bell, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

From the reviews, I thought this B&B would be a little gem. Unfortunately, that was not the case. Here's the good and the bad:

Location: Unlike many B&Bs in No Conway, this one is actually secluded, which is a big plus. Even some of the most historic inns are located on No Conway's main drag, which is basically a highway. This inn was at the end of a dead end road in the woods. It's very quiet and nice, but there are no views of the mountains.

Decor: While the house is old, the rooms are straight out of the Holiday Inn catalogue. The furnishings are very generic, and there's no original detail in the rooms or fixtures. The common areas are a bit nicer, but nothing special.

Food: Most B&Bs put out some muffins, bagels, or cereal, or at least give you a choice of some basic stuff, like eggs and bacon. Here, you get whatever the innkeepers feel like. Unfortunately, this was always a weird, soggy, tasteless, quiche-like thing. It was a quivering mass that had berries in it one day and spinach or some green thing in it the next. It was awful! It was like something they'd serve to prisoners in Sing-Sing as punishment.

Hospitality: Welcome to Bill and Paula's boot camp. Breakfast is only served between 8:30 and 9:15. Bill is very anal retentive and there are signs all over the place about what you're allowed to do and not allowed to do. Read the inn policies carefully, especially stuff about check in and check out. Bill wasn't very friendly and Paula looked through me like a zombie. Yeah, it's hard to run a B&B, but if you don't like people find another job. When I'm paying a lot of money for a reservation, I don't like being treated like a freeloader who's showed up unexpectedly and disturbed the peace of someone's home.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ferrogl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillButtonwood, Owner at Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
Trip Advisor Management Response – 7/27/10

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at The Buttonwood Inn recently. Bill and I strive to make our guests feel at home and make every effort to satisfy their needs when called upon. We’ll respond to your comments in order.

Location: We are located at the foot of Mt. Surprise which is 900 feet at the summit located up the road and through the path in the forest. Most guests who hike this trail continue on the path to the ledges on Bartlett Mountain north of the property seen from our back yard. The hiking trails to Bartlett Mountain can also be accessed on the right of our pool house. Some of our rooms also have this view in addition to Black Cap Mountain, which is in the southeast or front of our property. On our website home page, you can see a photograph of Bartlett Mountain in our back yard in the rotating photograph.

Décor: The inn was built as a traditional New England farmhouse in 1820 with just two bedrooms at that time. During the 1900’s the West wing was added to create more guest rooms, the Dining Room and Kitchen were expanded, and then the East Wing of four guest rooms was added. In the 1990’s, the innkeepers at that time remodeled and redecorated the entire inn and expanded the guest rooms on the East wing. Consequently, the bathrooms were fitted with modern fixtures and plumbing. The West wing still has original bathroom fixtures in some of the guest rooms. In terms of the décor of the guest rooms, Bill and I were intrigued with the New Hampshire charm of The Buttonwood Inn guest rooms, since the innkeepers who remodeled the inn in the ‘90s also furnished it with dressers and end tables bought from other homes in the area. They also hired a carpenter to make several of the bed frames and armoires in the style of furniture found in New Hampshire. Some of guest rooms have murals painted by a local artist. When we bought The Buttonwood Inn, we bought new bedspreads, linens, curtains, throws, and Turkish towels from local New England vendors to stay true to the country charm. You can view each of our uniquely decorated guest rooms on our website on the Rooms web page. We purchased most of the living room furniture in an elegant country style in earthtones. We hired a local upholsterer to match up the inherited loveseat and bucket chairs using brocades and corduroy chenille. She also made the window treatments in a complimentary textured floral pattern for the living room. The dining room window treatments and tablecloths were made to complement the Bordeaux and lilac hues in floral wallpaper; the wide panel wainscoting was also repainted to match up to the colors in the wallpaper. A local artist also painted the stenciling in the living room reminiscent of the 1800’s. Last year, Bill and I stripped wallpaper in the Mt. Surprise Room and painted the walls teal with a wood grain textured finish (since trees surround us). I stenciled the top border with an outdoor country scene.

Food: Some B&B’s do put out muffins, cereal, etc., which is offered as a continental breakfast. Many inns in the Mt. Washington Valley have their own unique styles of breakfast which can include eggs, bacon, and toast. Other inns offer savory or sweet breakfast cooked to order. Our inn and several others offer a set menu of savory one day and sweet the next day. We’ve listed on our website on the Breakfast web page the types of dishes that I prepare which can include various types of muffins, quick breads, scones, or cinnamon rolls. I also listed the different types of entrees both savory and sweet. We always ask whether a guest has any food allergies or restrictions, so I can accommodate their dietary needs. I am flexible to prepare a breakfast for a guest to their liking when asked. For guests who are lactose intolerant or gluten-free, I can serve them the same entrees as their traveling partner by making ingredient adjustments. The overwhelming majority of our guests enjoy the breakfasts that I prepare and feel their portions are large enough to last them throughout the day, particularly if they hike, bike, or ski in the region. Often I am asked for recipes and if I plan to write a cookbook. We recently won the Best Food Award in the New England area which can be viewed on our home page.

Hospitality: During the past three years in running The Buttonwood Inn, we’ve found that most guests are ready for breakfast at 8:30 am and everyone is down by 9:00 am, so they can start their day of sightseeing or adventure activities. There are some guests who come down a little later or folks that like to linger which we have no problem with allowing, since it gives us time to converse with them as well. Since 2008, we’ve become certified in the New Hampshire Sustainable Lodging Program to trim energy costs and preserve our pristine environment. As a result, we’re encouraged to gently inform guests via inconspicuous signage about our energy saving initiatives in our guest rooms. In the dining room, we have a note about where to place used cups, saucers, dishes, etc. at the other end of the room on a tray on the sideboard. When other guests arrive at teatime later, they do not have to wade through used dishes on the buffet table where afternoon tea and refreshments are served. Some of our guests have commented that they feel comfortable knowing that we are around whenever they need anything from making dinner reservations, receiving directions, advice on what to do and see, receiving discounts for restaurants and stores, opening the hot tub or pool, etc., while at the same time, we are unobtrusive, so they can relax anywhere in our inn. We admit that we start our day at 7:00 am and often do not finish until 8:00 pm practically everyday and it can be a lot of hard work some days. However, we enjoy the fruits of our labor when we meet wonderful guests who talk with us about themselves and where they live. In turn, most guests inquire about our story of buying The Buttonwood Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchtown, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My husband & I have stayed atl B&Bs in Cape Code, Martha's Vineyard, Vermont, Maine, and now New Hampshire. Each time we stay at one we think it can't get any better than this, but it does. This inn is the best one by far. It had the most to offer with a plethora of things to do onsite as well as off. The innkeepers are very helpful in every way. At most other inns we've stayed, the innkeepers were mostly invisible. You were left to figure out most things in the area yourself. Not here, you get personal attention when it comes to planning your day. And, that personal attention also shows in the beautiful decor of the inn. The B&B is extremely clean and very comfortable no matter where you decide to rest and relax. The beauty & quietness outside is a pleasant change from our everyday life. We will be returning to the Buttonwood every chance we get.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kulasgrl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed one night and wished we had stayed two. The hosts were marvelous, the breakfast delicious, and the room spotless and comfortable. Paula's gardens are something to see. We also had a chance to have a wonderful couple hours at the pool, and hot tub, which were just as impeccable as everything else. Am looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1travel46052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, NH
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We are a return visitor to the Buttonwood Inn in North Conway New Hampshire. Once again Bill and Paula made our visit just prefect. Their relentless pursuit of making our stay just right is well noticed. The Inn is so clean, organized and decorated very nicely.

We have had the luxury to of traveled many places around the world and we find our visit to the Buttonwood Ins in one of our high points. The Inn is very comfortable and a place you feel like family. The breakfast is just delightful, Paula is a great chef.

Bill and Paula, Thank you again for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ourstarship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We are very particular and well traveled and we were very impressed with the owners Bill and Paula and how they managed their B&B. They were friendly, available for advice and directions, but not intrusive. The Inn was spotless, well maintained, and comfortable. The breakfasts were gourmet with generous portions. Nice hiking trails in the back of the property. The pool was clean and heated. The location was great to turn left for downtown or right to go towards Mt Washington and the Kancmagus highway. We saw deer and a black bear nearby. Thee are many motels and Inns in the area, but I would return here as a first choice.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarterCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
5.2 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#5 of 25 in North Conway
1,265 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
544 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise

Property: Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
Address: 64 Mount Surprise Rd, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-6508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy nature and the peaceful atmosphere of the mountains and forest, The Buttonwood Inn on Mt. Surprise offers that and more while being close to everything. We are situated on more than five secluded acres of field and forests, two miles from the village of North Conway. Our hiking trails on Bartlett Mountain are accessed out our back door where you can follow the myriad of intersecting trails for hours. Within five minutes, the peacefulness of the mountain trail will envelope you. The Buttonwood Inn has been a Select Registry member since 1999. In 2013, The Buttonwood Inn became a member of the Diamond Collection. The Daily Meal named The Buttonwood Inn as one of "The Top 50 US Bed-and-Breakfasts for Food" in May 2013. The Buttonwood Inn has been awarded the Best of New England 2010-11 and Best Food 2009-10. In October 2010, Travel Channel listed The Buttonwood Inn as one of the "Top 10 New England Bed and Breakfasts." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing