We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely B&B experience in New Hampshire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
Ranked #2 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“A lovely B&B experience in New Hampshire”
Reviewed 25 October 2010

This is a lovely B&B Inn - delicious breakfasts, helpful inkeepers, comfortable bed. Beautiful location in North Conway, NH. Great restaurants nearby. A wonderful autumnal getaway.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    46
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
93
372
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GC Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here, Bill & Paula were perfect hosts.
I support all the positive comments here & have no negatives.
We stayed in room 10 which was very comfortable & roomy.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We stayed at the Buttonwood in for a week in October 2010 to see the fall colors (I guess there is a name for people like us - Leaf Peepers!)

I had high expectations of the place, because my boyfriend had been there previously, and he raved about it. I have stayed in many B&B's and I must say this one is TOPS. Bill and Paula, the owners, are really welcoming and they show their expertise and joy in running their B&B in everything they do.

Here are some examples of the things that really made the experience top-notch for us.

We checked in late, and there were cookies waiting for us! Totally yummy and totally unexpected!
We got a full tour of the place in the morning, and were given the internet code (free wifi available to all guests, and available in every room in the Inn).
There is a downstairs room where you can watch videos on a huge big-screen - we even saw guests having their snacks down there, and a glass of wine.
The breakfasts were to DIE FOR. Sometimes the portions were a bit big for me, but Jeff was happy to eat what I could not, so it all worked out. Paula is an amazing chef - she did some really creative things that were so unexpected but absolutely delicious. I think her home-made sausage patties were the best I have EVER had.
Coffee was available an hour earlier than breakfast which was really nice - you could go down and get a cup of coffee and take it back to your room. Most people were still in robes when they did that and it was kind of fun.
Later in the afternoon she put out treats and coffee and tea - we missed most of those because we were out taking photgraphs, but she saved some for us!
The Inn itself is beautiful - I heard another guest say that it was a wonderful combination of old and new and since it was built in 1820 and really maintained impeccably, I would say I have to agree.
Each room has a private bath and a view. Our room (Room 4) was just lovely. The bed was extremely comfortable, and we had a lovely view of the oaks and the property behind the Inn.

We plan to go back next year, and I highly recommend the Buttonwood Inn for anyone seeking a top notch New England B&B experience!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photo_asst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2010

My husband and I stayed here with another couple for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Bill and Paula are experts at creating a welcoming and homey atmosphere all while keeping everything in tip-top shape. The setting is so quiet we could sleep undisturbed with the windows open, yet it is an easy drive or bike-ride to town. In addition, the rec room is away from the bedrooms so one can watch movies, etc. without disturbing the sleeping guests.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bspatial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Innkeepers Bill and Paula Petrone spare no expense to ensure that their guests have a wonderful and memorable stay. Bill and Paula are warm, engaging, likeable, and informative innkeepers who go the extra distance to ensure that each room is immaculate, that breakfasts are outstanding, that guests have their day’s activities planned out, and that the inn is warm and inviting. Paula’s gourmet breakfasts are delicious, creative, and healthy. Bill chats with the guests each morning, giving them “insiders” tips as needed, to ensure their day goes smoothly or to direct them towards undiscovered fun.
The Buttonwood Inn itself is a great combination of old-world charm and new-world functionality. The décor reminds one of a turn of the century inn, while the plumbing and electrical are modern. Internet access via Wi-Fi ensures guests that they won’t be disconnected from the outside world during their visit unless they so choose.
I’ve been staying at the Buttonwood Inn during my visits to New Hampshire since 2008, and I can’t imagine staying anywhere else when visiting. I assure you, your first stay at the Buttonwood Inn will result in future stays!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilophoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Due to excellent reviews, we stayed at the Buttonwood Inn for 2 nights. Yes, it was a very nice accommodation. Lovely setting, comfortable room, and nice breakfast. However, we stayed in 3 other B and B's in Vermont and New Hampshire and this one was very much more expensive than the others. It was $80 more than the next most expensive inn. There were choices for breakfast at all the others,too. At the Buttonwood Inn, you did not have a choice. I would definitely look at the other inns in North Conway. There are many that i"m sure will be just as nice for $100 less.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virginia549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillButtonwood, Owner at Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise, responded to this review, 24 October 2010
Though you rated us Average, we would like to respond to your Trip Advisor review in terms of price and food choices. You booked your trip with us during our peak season, which is Foliage, and we are careful to compare our pricing to other Inns in our Class so that we remain competitive and, most importantly, provide value to our customers. Most of our guests are pleased with the beauty of our inn, as well as the forest and mountain views, the gourmet breakfasts and afternoon baked treats and the many little things we do to make their stay memorable. They often comment about how peaceful our location is, and that it is very convenient being mere minutes from both North Conway and the Village of Jackson.

We have recently been chosen by the Travel Channel as one of the Top Ten Inns in New England and by the number one bed and breakfast Internet site as the Best B&B in New England following our award by them last year as having provided the Best Food for the 2009-2010 year.

Many of our guests reserve with us because of the gourmet starters and entrees that we offer which are well thought out, varied, and expertly prepared. We are not unique in providing a set menu each day of either savory or sweet. Our breakfast menu offerings are detailed on our website under the heading, “Breakfasts,” so our guests are familiar with our cuisine before they reserve with us. We always inquire of our guests if they have any food allergies or dietary restrictions beforehand, so that we can adjust their breakfasts accordingly for their dining pleasure and comfort. Additionally, if a guest prefers something else, they simply ask for it at breakfast, as others have in the past, and we gladly prepare it for them. We cater to our guests without hesitation as if they were our own family or friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This is now our 4th stay at the Buttonwood and it just keeps getting better. In today's inconsistent world, the Buttonwood consistently delivers high quality. Bill and Paula are the perfect hosts with Paula's breakfasts always imaginative and so tasty. Never a morsel left on the plate. They even upgraded the rooms with a TV/DVD which is nice to have even if only to fall asleep. Bill even remembered the decaf coffee for me.!! I would not hesitate to recommend the Buttonwood and for sure you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maineiac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
5.2 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#5 of 25 in North Conway
1,260 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
535 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise

Property: Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
Address: 64 Mount Surprise Rd, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-6508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy nature and the peaceful atmosphere of the mountains and forest, The Buttonwood Inn on Mt. Surprise offers that and more while being close to everything. We are situated on more than five secluded acres of field and forests, two miles from the village of North Conway. Our hiking trails on Bartlett Mountain are accessed out our back door where you can follow the myriad of intersecting trails for hours. Within five minutes, the peacefulness of the mountain trail will envelope you. The Buttonwood Inn has been a Select Registry member since 1999. In 2013, The Buttonwood Inn became a member of the Diamond Collection. The Daily Meal named The Buttonwood Inn as one of "The Top 50 US Bed-and-Breakfasts for Food" in May 2013. The Buttonwood Inn has been awarded the Best of New England 2010-11 and Best Food 2009-10. In October 2010, Travel Channel listed The Buttonwood Inn as one of the "Top 10 New England Bed and Breakfasts." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing