We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
Ranked #3 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We had a great time. We bought the ski and stay package with which we could choose from Cranmore, Wildcat, and Bretton Woods (we chose Bretton Woods). It also included an amazing dinner at one of two local restaurants (we chose White Mountain Cider Company and it was AMAZING), a full, wonderful breakfast each morning, and tea/coffee/hot chocolate and a baked treat each night. We both loved it and hope to go back as soon as possible!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcrawfo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2011

This was another great winter getaway at the Buttonwood Inn. We arrived on Wednesday Feb 16 and left on Monday Feb 21. The hospitality was great as usual. Paula is a trained chef and the variety & imagination of the breakfast fare is outstanding We have been coming to this inn for 24 years and there is plenty to do in the area such as outlet shopping, skiing and snowshoeing. The trails right out the back door of the inn provide hours of hiking or snowshoeing fun. There are many fine restaurants within a 15 minute drive so it is a great place to stay. We have already made ou reservation for next year.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgalinat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

My husband and I just spent a wonderful weekend here.Bill and Paula are wonderful! The food is delicious and home made everyday by Paula and her husband Bill is right by her side attending to the needs of the guests. So if you are looking for a relaxing romantic get-a-way go visit Bill and Paula at the Buttonwood Inn .As per Bill the coffee is always on.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

My family and I visited the Buttonwood in for a long weekend of fun in the snow. We had a fantastic time and regretted not extending our stay by a day or two.

Although the Inn is secluded, making for a relaxing and quiet setting, it is only a few minutes from town. It is also close to the Cranmore ski resort, where our family spent most of our day.

Bill and Paula were very welcoming and accommodating. They were also knowledgeable about activities, restaurants, etc in the Mount Washington Valley, having recommended some great restaurants and some activities that we loved. Breakfast was delicious, as well as the afternoon snacks. The rooms and common areas were immaculately kept.

Overall, our stay at the Inn exceeded our expectations. We are already planning a summer trip to the Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmon2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Buttonwood Inn on Valentine’s Day weekend. It was our first bed and breakfast ever. After much extensive research for the RIGHT bed and breakfast in NH, the reviews were great for The Buttonwood Inn and the price was right. The entire experience exceeded my expectations by far! Paula and Bill made you feel welcomed and were extremely friendly and helpful. Bill gave us a tour of the Inn and told us about some of the Inn’s history. Before we arrived he had been picking out a selection of movies to go along with Valentine’s Day for the guests to watch if they so chose. I thought that was very thoughtful. The entire Inn is extremely tastefully decorated with a cozy sitting room to sip hot chocolate by a lit fire in tall comfy chairs. I LOVED IT! And listen to their recommendations of places to eat, they know what they are talking about. Better yet, they will even make the reservations for you!
And not to mention the breakfast and treats! TO DIE FOR! Paula is an AMAZING cook, and even has a recipe featured in a bed and breakfast cook book. They do accommodate to any allergies you may have.
I can’t wait to go back! And my boyfriend can’t stop talking about the food! Haha.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellaluna85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

My significant other and I enjoyed the Buttonwood Inn very much and highly recommend it. The food was amazing! Our first night there when we checked in, Paula put out these delicious cookies! I forgot what they were called but all I know was they were crispy on the outside and warm gooey white chocolate and I believe coconut on the inside. We enjoyed our cookies with some warm hot cocoa by the fire place in one of the common rooms. The breakfasts on following two days as well as the next evening snack in the evening were just as good; you won’t be disappointed.

We enjoyed our room as well; we stayed in room number 3. My partner would have preferred the mattress to have been less firm but over all it was still quite pleasant and very cozy. The location of the inn was perfectly tucked away and had beautiful scenery in the winter. We want to go back and enjoy the outside of the inn when the warmer weather comes about. To sum it up, we liked best the food and hospitality. Our least favorite thing and we had to struggle to think about this one was I guess the firmness of the bed which is still just a minor detail. Like we said before, we still enjoyed the room very much and plan to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbenwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

The Innkeepers Bill & Paula are superb hosts. The breakfast and afternoon pastries are scrumptious! The location is near all North Conway's attractions yet secluded, quiet and relaxing. A very special and memorable experience!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailingsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
3.9 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,435 reviews
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
563 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Cranmore Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise

Address: 64 Mount Surprise Rd, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-6508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range: £112 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy nature and the peaceful atmosphere of the mountains and forest, The Buttonwood Inn on Mt. Surprise offers that and more while being close to everything. We are situated on more than five secluded acres of field and forests, two miles from the village of North Conway. Our hiking trails on Bartlett Mountain are accessed out our back door where you can follow the myriad of intersecting trails for hours. Within five minutes, the peacefulness of the mountain trail will envelope you. The Buttonwood Inn has been a Select Registry member since 1999. In 2013, The Buttonwood Inn became a member of the Diamond Collection. The Daily Meal named The Buttonwood Inn as one of "The Top 50 US Bed-and-Breakfasts for Food" in May 2013. The Buttonwood Inn has been awarded the Best of New England 2010-11 and Best Food 2009-10. In October 2010, Travel Channel listed The Buttonwood Inn as one of the "Top 10 New England Bed and Breakfasts." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing