We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most beautiful balcony of North Conway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eastman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eastman Inn
Ranked #9 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most beautiful balcony of North Conway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

One of the best Bed and breafast that we had the opportunity to visit. The owner is really helpful and kind. Lunch are excellent and complete. I recommend you this Bed and breakfast.

Christian & Annie

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 561chris561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    48
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
116
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Eastman Inn. Due to simultaneous online bookings, the room we had reserved ended up not available for all three nights, but Art called about the situation immediately to let us know. We stayed in room 11 for the first two nights, which had a brand new, very comfortable mattress, and room 7 the last night, which had a nice jacuzzi. Overall we preferred room 11, since it is at the back of the house and away from the road noise, but the rooms themselves were both nice and very clean. I also left my phone charger in the room by accident and Art promptly put it in the mail the next day.

Room Tip: Roadside rooms are noisier with summer traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jxd215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Very comfortable and very welcoming. We visited the Eastman Inn for one night and wished we could have stayed for a few more. We were warmly greeted by the owner and we were encouraged to take full advantage of what their Inn offered. We enjoyed a relaxing afternoon on the veranda, ate our own supper on the deck and enjoyed reading their books and magazines in the living room. Our room was very clean and comfortable.
Our breakfast was delicious and plentiful.
We would stay again next time we are in North Conway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast US
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I hate to write a negative review about a small business because I empathize with how much work it is to keep up with the myriad tasks of running a B & B. However, my husband and I were unprepared for the shabbiness of the Eastman Inn and for the sense that it wasn't all that clean, although that may be due more to the need for painting and sprucing up than actual dirt. The breakfast was tasty but skimpy. There was a small dish of yogurt with granola sprinkled over it. Then there was a 3x3 inch serving of a blueberry strata and about three slices of bacon. Each guest was offered a glass of juice and you could serve yourself coffee. No seconds were offered. We read a guest book in the room in which people raved about the friendliness of the host, the breakfasts and the coziness of the room -- I don't know where they lived, but the Inn definitely is not shabby chic, just shabby. Arthur, the host, was friendly and I am sure would go out of his way to provide whatever help you needed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolynGNortheastUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthConwayArthur, Owner at Eastman Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We value the opinions of our guests and reviews that are less than stellar help us improve our service for our future guests-thank you for helping make a stay at our B&B a fabulous experience for everyone.
Our breakfasts always receive positive reviews; the only concerns most guests verbalize is the portions are too large. However, we certainly would have been happy to provide second helpings if we had been asked. So please, if you wish a second helping, let us know. We do come around and serve coffee to guests that are seated but there is also a coffee bar for those who prefer to help themselves before or after their breakfast. We have 2-3 breakfast seatings so I understand how confusing it may be for some guests who are coming for their seating to see other guests who are just getting coffee as the coffee bar is located in the breakfast area.

Our Inn is over 200 years old. Any one that owns an old house, particularly in the Northeast where winters are harsh knows there is constant maintenance to do such as painting. For those of you who don't live in the northeast, we can only paint during the spring/summer months because the temperature must be warm enough so the paint doesn't freeze' and for those of you who don't run a B&B in the northeast, April and May are the only times we have to do maintenance and that is only if the weather cooperates! This year, our winter temperatures lingered well into April and May was very wet so painting wasn't an option before our summer season started.

We focus on and take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms-if I must make a choice on whether to spend money to refurbish and upgrade a guest room or whether to paint a deck I will always choose the guest room. In fact, the room these guests stayed in received new flooring and paint recently.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to keep improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My fiance and I went up July 4th weekend. Check-in was easy, we were brought to the room we booked (#12), which had the bathroom out in the hallway. This was not an issue the whole weekend (except there are wide fluctuations in water temp when everyone is getting their day going, so be the first to shower!). The place looked great, the bed was comfortable, and we had a good view of the water-logged fireworks display on the 4th.

Breakfast was great both days. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I returned to the Eastman Inn after many years and were pleasantly surprised but the congeniality of our host and the comfortable, spacious room. The breakfast was a great way to enjoy the company of other guests and share tips for navigating the shops and restaurants.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzyseaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed at the Inn in March 2014. The room had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Add to that a cozy comforter, a spacious bathroom with soaking tub and amenities hotels seem to be cutting back on (shampoo, lotion, blow dryer) and I was in heaven. The breakfast was fabulous and more than I could eat. Hot cocoa, tea, coffee and freshly baked (from scratch) cookies were available for guests to help themselves. No skimping here. I felt like a guest in the owners' home. Hope my travels take me back to North Conway soon. I'd love to stay at the Inn again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.2 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
0.7 mi away
Cranmore Inn Bed and Breakfast
Cranmore Inn Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Kearsarge Inn
Kearsarge Inn
#4 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eastern Slope Inn
Eastern Slope Inn
#10 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastman Inn

Property: Eastman Inn
Address: 2331 White Mountain Hwy, Route 16, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5162
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eastman Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Eastman Inn, a 14 room bed and breakfast located in the heart of the White Mountains. Let Arthur, Marta, or Trina welcome you to our inn with a smile, a cup of tea, a bottle of cold water and some fresh baked cookies. As you enter through our dining area you will be greeted and given a tour of the common areas. Most people love to sit on our porch above the main road heading into town. You can relax on one of our porch rockers and watch the world go by. In our parlor you will find a bookshelf of games and books for you to enjoy. Use the dining tables for that late night game of scrabble. In the winter we light the fireplace in the evenings. Each of our 14 rooms have a private bath. Our rooms are all individually decorated, some have claw foot tubs with a shower combination, others a Jacuzzi bath and others a regular stall shower. Rooms come with King or Queen beds and we even have a room with Antique Twin beds on the first floor. In the morning come down for early coffee. We need it as we cook your breakfast, so by 7:00 am we guarantee a fresh pot. You can try earlier, but we could be grumpy if that first "Cooks" pot has not fully brewed. We do our best to make you feel like family, so there are few formalities, we all just respect each others privacy and property. Ask us for hints on things to do or places to visit. We have scoured the Mount Washington Valley and we can give you pointers on avoiding the crowds, yet getting that perfect picture of a Moose, Bear or beautiful stream. The Eastman Inn has been welcoming guests for around 100 years and we hope to do it another 100. Call or make an online reservation soon, we hope to make you a very satisfied 'returning' guest. Our Eastman Family has grown so much in the past 8 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Eastman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing