We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice respite from todays crazy world.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Conway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables
Ranked #8 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spencer, Massachusetts
1 review
“A nice respite from todays crazy world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

We just wanted to get away from it all and chose Farm by the river bed and breakfast. We were all set for a sleigh ride but due to unsafe conditions were not able to do that,which we totally understood. We did get to meet the goats and horses which were awsome. Rick and Charlene are very gracious hosts and it was not lost on us how hard they work to give their guests a great experience. The rooms were clean,warm and cozy and the homemade breakfasts were very filling and delicious.The house is filled with period furniture and you feel like you are back in time. You can hook up with wi fi and the cell phones worked great on the other hand, so no fear of being totally disconnected from the rest of the world.The house was pretty full and you could hear a pin drop . We also enjoyed meeting the other guests and Heidi their dog. So if you want a farm atmosphere with horses in the fields and mountains in the background ,that is away from the bustle of north conway but close this is the place to be. It actually was very rejuvinating and reviving of the spirit which we needed. We will be coming back some time for the horseback riding for sure.

Room Tip: some rooms have jacuzzis some dont.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionpearllady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    41
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
64
143
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
aston, pa.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

The Farm by the River" in North Conway, New Hampshire has truly become our "Home away from Home". We have visited the "Farm" twice now and have felt so at home with our hosts, Rick and Charlene and their wonderful dog, Heidi. One could really spend one's entire vacation at the "Farm"itself with its beautiful views and superb homemade breakfasts created with love by Rick and Charlene daily. Of course, having horses and goats on the property just adds to its charm. We LOVE it here and plan to return again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monicaandmarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rexidnight, Owner at Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
We so enjoyed having you here and we look forward to seeing you again. Charlene and Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boylston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
470 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Plenty to do and see year round at this B&B, originally built in 1750.The owners, Rick &
Charlene, are very warm and pleasant and easy to get to know. Plus they serve up great breakfasts--homemade waffles, muffins & pancakes together with eggs, ham and/or bacon. The B&B has 17 resident horses for riding separately or for pulling a sleigh or carriage. My wife & I toured most of the 10 rooms .All were decorated nicely and very comfortable. Some have fireplaces and/or Jacuzzis. Our room had a fireplace and a view of the nearby mountains (the "Notch Room"). Our next trip to North Conway, NH will definitely include a stay at the Farm by the River.

Room Tip: The town of North Conway is less than 2 miles away and has good shopping. One of the rooms has a dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

My husband & I returned to the Farm by the River for a 2nd visit, & again stayed in the Notch room for 7 nights in the last week of February 2013.

Rick & his wife Charlene are the most welcoming and friendly hosts to their guests. Those people who leave negative reviews clearly do not appreciate how hard they work using their home to run both a busy B&B and stables business.

We enjoyed a sleigh ride for 2 on a perfect winter's day - blue skies, sunshine and pristine snow. As a guest staying at the farm, you are also able to use the complimentary snowshoes provided - we went to Echo Lake State Park, Diana's Baths, and Whittaker Woods
Northern New England has had plenty of snow this winter, and the Mount Washington Valley is perfect for a winter sports holiday.

Northern Extremes in Bartlett or Bretton Woods is recommended for snowmobiling tours:-
The 4 hour Mount Washington tour included snow covered forests and Jefferson Notch (which is the highest public road in New Hampshire at 3009 feet), and has wonderful views.

For non-skiers or non winter sports enthusiasts, there are many restaurants to enjoy, tax free shopping in North Conway village, and the Mount Washington Valley Observatory Museum (which has free admission).

We are hoping to return again to the Farm by the River for a 3rd visit, and to enjoy wonderful New Hampshire and the spectacular Mount Washington Valley

Room Tip: The Notch Room is very quiet, and has views of the horses grazing and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rexidnight, Owner at Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments- we look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed there for a night and we loved it!
The farm is amazing and very warm hearted. The people love their animals and the atmosphere is lovely. The bedroom was really nice, with the Jacuzzi and the vintage decoration make you feel in a different world. The breakfast was nice too and they have all you need to know about what to do in the area.
Also, we personally fell in love with their little two goats that are so cute and friendly.
If you plan on going to the White Mountain, we definitely recommend this place which is, by far, better than a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the Jacuzzi and even the king size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ulrich_ber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I first visited the Farm by the River Inn and Stables property about five years ago for a sleigh ride; I instantly fell in love with the picturesque setting, the adorable horses, and the hospitality of the innkeepers. Although I didn't stay there initially, I always felt a pull to go back. This February, I was able to revisit the inn with my family, and we stayed for two wonderful (and restful!) nights. Everything about out visit was perfect- except the weather. The howling wind on the second day kept us from snowshoeing, but we were able to take a Victorian sleigh ride with Charlie (the horse) and Walter (our driver). It was a little icy, so two of our party members had to walk down the steep hill and board the sleigh at the bottom. While this may have upset some people, my family and I were touched by the concern the innkeepers and their stable-hands showed for the horses. As an animal lover, I appreciated that they favored the horses' care and well-being over the convenience of four able-bodied adults. In addition to the sleigh ride, we also enjoyed the hospitality (and excellent cooking!) of the innkeepers at breakfast; I was sad to have to return to my own cooking at the end of our stay! We also enjoyed commisserating with others around the warm fireplace, our first experience in a communal inn. All in all, our stay was relaxing and friendly, and we look forward to seeing the keepers and their beautiful inn again!

Room Tip: Second-floor rooms offer more privacy, away from the common rooms, but if you prefer being in the mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rexidnight, Owner at Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. It is great to have such animals lovers at the Farm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

So I called to make a reservation for 6 people to ride horses this weekend well the guy basically said after a long story how he has 17 horses and the conditions are not very good it's very icy after he told me that he told me the horses do have shoes but as an owner he doesn't feel comfortable.. Ok and then on top of that he asked if anyone weighs over 220lbs which we have one person who does and he basicay said no there's no way we could do that which is strange cause this persons been horse back riding millions of times with no problem very strange person who ever answers the phone make sure you go in the spring and don't weigh over 220lbs

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dpigs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rexidnight, Owner at Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
It is unfortunate that the potential rider was unhappy because we could not take a rider who did not meet our weight requirement-hence safety requirements. We are a unique, award winning riding stables as we are able to offer horseback riding year round- even in winter.! We have been doing winter riding for over a decade. To our knowledge we are the only stables offering horseback riding year round in northern NH- if not all of NH. We put special shoes on the horses to deal with winter conditions.
Like other outdoor attractions we have safety, weight and age requirements (such as ziplines). We go out when we feel the the conditions are SAFE to do so- for riders and animals alike. Sometimes we cannot go out depending on the winter conditions- it may be too icy, or windy &/or too snowy ( whiteouts). We do have a weight limit of 235-240 pds. It is especially important to adhere to to the weight limit due to the winter footing conditions.

The owner told her he would be told her be happy to take her out if the weather conditions allow. She had 6 people riding. We always ask how much people weigh and their experience level, so we can determine if we have the proper mounts to accommodate riders. He asked her how many people were over 220 lbs,as we have draft horses horses to accommodate people over this weight in winter conditions. We have 17 horses but not all horses go out in the winter, as some are more suitable for winter conditions and some horses are driving horses and pull sleigh only. Unfortunately one person weighed 250 lbs. We had to tell her we could not take that person out. We hate to turn people away however safety is our number one priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.2 mi away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cranmore Inn Bed and Breakfast
Cranmore Inn Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
1.2 mi away
Kearsarge Inn
Kearsarge Inn
#4 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables

Property: Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables
Address: 2555 W Side Rd, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a horseback ride or a private carriage or sleigh ride for 2-4 - right outside your door from this charming inn with 9 units. All rooms or 2 room suites have private baths, flat screen TVs, A/C, and free Wi-Fi. Both the inn and the public stables are open yr-round. We are located off the beaten path but just 2 miles from Downtown North Conway and on 70 scenic acres along the Saco river and have 20 resident horses frolicking in the pastures! Complimentary snowshoeing, private sleigh or carriage rides for two; group sleigh or wagon, and pony rides are also available. Enjoy a complimentary full patio or fireside breakfast with views of the gardens and the mountains. Some rooms: 2-person jacuzzis and/or fireplaces. A deluxe 4 bedroom cottage-Alpine Moose Cottage is also available. We are a family-friendly inn, and offer a variety of packages: Ride & Stay, murder mystery theatre,family adventure, snowmobiling and skiing. We have a dog friendly room and cottage. Also on site: gardens, horseback all yr-river swimming & fly-fishing. Close to Storyland, Echo Lake State Park, Diana's bath to name a few. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Farm By The River b&b With Stables
Farm By The River Bed And Breakfast With Stables Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing