We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Conway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables
Ranked #7 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lambertville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This was our first stay at the Farm & we really enjoyed ourselves. Rick and Charlene have created a very nice atmosphere - warm, inviting and unpretentious. They were great to interact with, as were the farm animals. The food was excellent as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    42
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
65
146
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was our 4th year staying with Rick and Charlene at the Farm by the River, when we enter the house, it's like coming home,the first three years we had the room off the kitchen, warm, inviting with a door to a small porch and out to the Stables, so nice. They make you feel like family, breakfast is what ever you want and the apple pastries are hot and fantastic. Can't wait until we go back, in December 2014.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with climbing stairs, there are several rooms on the main floor, all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rexidnight, Owner at Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thanks so much for your nice comments! Hope to see you for another year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Spent three nights at Farm by the River over the Christmas holiday. When we arrived, we were greeted by a fire in the living room, Charlene showed us around the farmhouse and settled us into comfy chairs with a cup of tea by the fire.

The rooms were cozy - our king bed had plenty of fluffy pillows and warm blankets. Bathroom had a whirlpool tub. Woke up to the smell of eggs, bacon, homemade coffee cake, potatoes. One morning we had a french toast souffle that was delicious. Always fresh fruit and pots of fresh, hot coffee waiting for you when you come downstairs.

The innkeepers, Charlene and Rick, could not have been nicer. Rick showed us around their stables and told us the history of the Farm. Although they have a large property to care for, they are incredibly attentive hosts. Christmas night we were the only guests - and we spent a couple hours in front of the fire playing games. The following night, the inn was full, but Charlene and Rick still made us feel like we were their only guests. Their dog, Heidi, is a sweet, gentle little girl - who my daughter wanted to bundle up and bring home with us.

Our second night we had a beautiful snow falling and my daughter and I spent a long time watching their 2 Percherons playing in the pasture from the window. They are magnificent animals and beautiful against the snow - magical! The location couldn't be better - although it's only a couple minutes to all the stores on the main street - the Farm is on 70 acres, with beautiful views out the windows, little traffic and beautiful, dark skies at night. After a day of shopping and ice skating, we thawed out by the fire with tea and cookies.

The original section of the Farm was built in the 1700, so you won't find enormous flat screen TVs or bathrooms with gleaming, spacious marble vanities. However, if you are looking for life the way it should be - restful and quiet - with gracious hosts, home cooking and a crackling fire - then this is it. Truly a slice of heaven!

Room Tip: Some rooms have fireplace and whirlpool tub. Others have walk-in shower, so ask. Rooms to the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxgloveFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the Farm B & B, and we could not have had a more wonderful winter weekend. This was an incredible authentic New England farmhouse, horse farm, B & B experience. Rick and Charleen live it, and were helpful in everyway. We did the Polar Express weekend with them, with an extra evening. This is a highly personalized experience, with a plate of home made cookies in your room to great you. The place is clean, warm and welcoming. They serve breakfast, and the food was home made and delicious! We had a 5 year old son with us, and they were well equiped and welcoming of families with children. Fortunately we had a snow storm while we were there, which added to the magic. We did a horse sleigh ride, and it was fantastic (we actually did 2!), and our 5 year old did a pony ride.
If you are looking for all the amenities of a motel or condo, consider something else. If you are looking for an authentic farmhouse B & B experience, then enjoy.

Room Tip: Rooms are a mixture of old and new. Not much for closets because of old room layouts, but ours had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My husband visited in early October 2013. Rick & Charlene made us feel at home. Our room was very comfortable, and clean. The breakfasts were amazing, the inn itself was very charming. We felt right at home. Rick & Charlene went out of their way to make us welcome, and recommended fantastic restaurants to eat at, and places to shop. We took a horseback ride on the farm while we were there, it was great. The goats were so cute. You can relax on the front porch or in the garden in the back of the inn. The inn is close to EVERYTHING! We did the Mount Washington Auto Road too. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed in the Notch Room with my boyfriend for his birthday. The fireplace was amazing after horse back riding. The room and bathroom was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Rick and Charlene are wicked awesome and make the best breakfast! I was sad to leave, but will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: The Notch Room is a room set off from the rest of the house, with a deck and beautiful view of the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Charlene and Rick are wonderful hosts. They made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable. We even got a gift for our anniversary! The room had an amazing view if the stables and mountains in the distance. We had a 2 person jacuzzi tub in our room. Quite relaxing

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Musicofthebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rexidnight, Owner at Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comments and happy anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.8 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#5 of 25 in North Conway
1,259 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
534 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
1.2 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#3 of 25 in North Conway
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables

Property: Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables
Address: 2555 W Side Rd, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5925
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a horseback ride or a private carriage or sleigh ride for 2-4 - right outside your door from this charming inn with 9 units. All rooms or 2 room suites have private baths, flat screen TVs, A/C, and free Wi-Fi. Both the inn and the public stables are open yr-round. We are located off the beaten path but just 2 miles from Downtown North Conway and on 70 scenic acres along the Saco river and have 20 resident horses frolicking in the pastures! Complimentary snowshoeing, private sleigh or carriage rides for two; group sleigh or wagon, and pony rides are also available. Enjoy a complimentary full patio or fireside breakfast with views of the gardens and the mountains. Some rooms: 2-person jacuzzis and/or fireplaces. A deluxe 4 bedroom cottage-Alpine Moose Cottage is also available. We are a family-friendly inn, and offer a variety of packages: Ride & Stay, murder mystery theatre,family adventure, snowmobiling and skiing. We have a dog friendly room and cottage. Also on site: gardens, horseback all yr-river swimming & fly-fishing. Close to Storyland, Echo Lake State Park, Diana's bath to name a few. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Farm By The River Bed And Breakfast With Stables Hotel North Conway
Farm By The River b&b With Stables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing