We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Red Inn has all the comforts of home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Red Inn & Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Red Inn & Cottages
Ranked #12 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode island
1 review
“Old Red Inn has all the comforts of home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2008

We enjoyed our stay at the Old Red Inn last weekend.
The Inn itself is beautiful and cozy, the innkeepers friendly and informative. Sue is also a great cook! The breakfasts
were quite a treat! We never did try the afternoon tea, as we spent a lot of time exploring area brewpubs!
We stayed in the Mt. Washington Suite, which had a beautiful wall-papered bedroom with a high, canopied four poster bed. The sitting room was smaller, but very pretty and oh-so comfy with it's gliding couch! The stove kept us warm and the small fridge kept our drinks cold! The microwave oven was a bonus, as were the chocolates left for us in our room.
The bathroom, down the hall from the bedroom but within our suite, has a claw-foot tub outfitted with a shower. Everything throughout the suite was elegant but homey, with antiques and special touches here and there. The house has an old-world charm that makes one feel at home. We spent some time on the big front porch and considered diving into the snow to make snow angels, but it was pretty cold Saturday night, so we stayed put and gazed at the skiiers on the mountain across the street instead! I recommend a stay at Old Red Inn. We'll be going back, and perhaps we'll try one of the cottages next time!

  • Liked — It was like visiting home, with someone else cooking and cleaning. Not impersonal like many hotels.
  • Disliked — Not smoking indoors!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank purple-weekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    45
    12
    13
    14
See reviews for
72
83
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2008

We stayed in a cottage. It smelled and just wasn't clean. We stayed for one night. Three out of four of us chose not to take showers before we left because the place was so musty and dirty. The breakfast tasted like it had been reheated and one of our dishes had a hair in it. We would never stay there again. It also was not much of a deal. We paid over $200 for the night and it was a property than should have been about $119 max.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hewitt, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2008

My sister and I from Texas visited the Old Red Inn and cottages in October 07. We had a great time, the cottages are quaint and cozy. We were there near the end of the fall foilage season, but still thought the area was beautiful. The owners were very friendly and helpful in suggesting things to see and do. I think people need to realize the cottages are older and rustic. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Liked — cozy cottage
  • Disliked — on busy street
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2007

The Inn Keepers were personally responsible for ruining our vacation. When we arrived and rang the bell, the inkeeper answered the door standing in the entry preventing us from entering. The Inn appeared warm and inviting but the owner made it clear that we were not welcome in the inn. He took our money, handed us a key, turned around and walked away. There was no offer to help with our bags or to explain the amenities or to show us to our cottage. As he was walking away, I asked about the heated pool, he responded "just broke." No apology. The cottage was dirty, I did not like my two toddlers crawling on the floor. There was an old cigarette butt in an ashtray. (We thought the cottage was a nonsmoking one) The frig was crusted in ice. The bed creaked as if the box spring was broken. Two of the dressers drawers were missing bottoms. The next day we had breakfast which was good, except for the muffins. They were awful. We heard another guest complainig about the box spring on their mattress to the Inn Keepers. They brushed off the complaint stating they were checked and are fine. We left to go hiking in the White Mountains only to return at 2:30 to find all of our belongings moved out of the cottage. The owners only had us down for one night when we had reserved three nights. This may have been an honest mistake, but the way we were treated is unexcusable. The Inn Keepers must have realized that some mistake had ocurred as our belongings were in the cottage for many hours after what they thought should be our check out. Our belongings were piled on the porch unsupervised. Our clothing was dumped into old food boxes that once contained meat and eggs. The female inn keeper came running out shouting at my wife "your reservation was for only one night, what are you doing here? You need to leave, we have other guests arriving." The male inn keeper came out and basically challenged me to a fight or something for upsetting his wife. At this point the situation was horrifically comical. The Inn Keeper actually said, and I quote "I don't care, all I want is your money!" We decided (had no choice) to cross the street and stay at the Best Western. It was only $30 more per night and the service was outstanding. This was a bad situation. The Inn Keepers could have tried to help us out. Once the error was obvious they should have contacted several local hotels and inquired about availability. The Inn Keepers should have been prepared to help and should have offered an apology. Reading other reviews from this Inn leads me to believe that they purchased the Inn with some romantic fantasy not realizing that they have to make some basic effort to help customers when things go wrong. We will never return!!!

  • Liked — Leaving It!
  • Disliked — Paying them money to actually stay.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vacations-R-Great22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAM028, OWNER at Old Red Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 25 September 2007
When a person arrives at their hotel and is treated the way this person describes and still stays, then maybe this is just the first of many exaggerations as i know I would not have stayed. Up to the point of this family arriving back at the Inn four hours after their checkout time everything was fine. After all other rooms had been cleaned and the time was getting close to check-in time for new guest i decided it was time to remove the late leaving guest belongings from this room.Their belongings were placed on our side porch, in a secure area which is where we sit and relax, which faces all ten of our cottages, which is right beside the doorway we and our help use constantly. Many times we have stored guest luggage or bikes here while they have been out for their last day in the valley area. The reservation was made on August 9 for the night of August 23, the nights of August 23 & 24 were booked by another family on August 12, three nights later. The guest says maybe an honest mistake, maybe, his booking is for one night, his email confirmation is for one night, and he is charged for one night. you book one night, you should stay one night and check-out unless other arrangements for a late check-out have been made. As for "running and screaming" the guest knows this is a lie, i know this is a lie and so does my wifes heart doctor, i would not allow myself or a guest to get into a screaming match. When quoting someone it is best to quote accurately, what was said is we are here to make money and it is easier for us to have one three night stay rather than three one night stays, less changing of bed sheets, in other words we like to have multilple night stays. If we were aware that one of our guest was having problems with making other accomondation plans we would certainly help out, we only thought this was someone staying well beyond the normal check-out time. We knew when we purchased this Inn that it would involve a lot of work but the up-side is, you get to meet a lot of nice people and yes and make many new friends. If a mistake has been made we all have to accept the responsibilty and not blame others with exaggerations and lies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville N.H.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2007

It used to be a job in itself to figure out where to go on vacation - but not anymore. For the last three years we've gone to the old Red Inn Cottages in North Conway. The Propietior's- Richard & Susan are wonderful down to earth people. The included breakfast is always yummy .Next year were not coming home without Susan's recipe for scones. There cottages are clean and cozy. The swimming pool is sooo refreshing either after a day of sight seeing (did we mention all the outlets and shops nearby) or just a quiet relaxing day poolside. See you next year Jim and Lynne Danville N.H.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank jbigpick2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mass.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2007

We loved our stay at teh Old Red Inn. The Inn keepers Richard and Sue went above and beyond to make our stay a Happy one!
Booked Labor Day to be sure to get a cottage. The food was delicious and prepared with loving care. We can not wait to go back !!

  • Liked — The personal touch from the inn keepers
  • Disliked — Loved everything
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank feathersMass_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2007

I stayed here recently wth one of my daughters and my grandson. Although we witnessed several other visitors being shown where their cabins were and informed about incidentals such as breakfast arrangements, pool towels etc., we were given a key, told our cabin number and sent on our way. The website made the condition of the cabin look a lot better than it actually was. On the screened-in porch, the walls on one side had nails protruding at least 3/4 of an inch. Not too good for my grandson's safety! The floors were sandy, one of the shower walls had a large hair on it and the drain cover was not sealed so it moved if you stepped on it. The table on the porch had crumbs on it. The burners on the stove have not been cleaned in quite a while and there was a significant abundance of frost on the freezer in the refrigerator and the cleanliness of that was also not acceptable. If all the owners are looking for is transient business it will work for them. It's really a shame because the location is great and the layout of the cabin is great but upgrades need to be done soon if they want visitors to return. They should also remind guests to pull down their shades at night.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness & owner disinterest
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank red59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.7 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#2 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kearsarge Inn
Kearsarge Inn
#4 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Red Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Red Inn & Cottages

Property: Old Red Inn & Cottages
Address: Rt 16 / 302, White Mountain Highway, North Conway Village, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Red Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Red Inn and Cottages is located in the Village of North Conway, we are the closest Inn and Cottages to the Village, only five hundred yards away. We offer five Inn rooms and ten cottages (both 1 & 2 bedroom) all with private bathroom. If you are looking to experience the simpler way of life, then charms of the Mount Washington Valley will be your perfect place. The Inn has free wi-fi, in-ground pool, pinic tables and grills along with a delicous morning breakfast. The mountains are close by so hiking, swimming, canoeing, horse back riding, skiing, tubbing, snow shoeing, mountain climbing, scenic rides, gondola rides, sleigh rides and so much more are with-in minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Red Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Red Inn And Cottages
Old Red Inn & Cottages Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing