We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Red Elephant for four nights and had an excellent experience. The Inn is very clean, comfortable and laid back. Rob, the owner could not have been more accommodating with answering questions and preparing fantastic breakfasts. Rob made several restaurant recommendations and also a hiking recommendation, all of which turned out to be stellar. We will be visiting the White Mountains again in the future and there is no doubt that we will stay at the Red Elephant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Charming, clean B&B, with an owner (Rob) who takes great pride to be hospitable and to ensure you have a "feels like home" experience. We upgraded to the Las Vegas room, which we really enjoyed, a large airy country chalet room feel with a touch of Vegas décor. The house is a block off the main drag, and with the very light night traffic of N Conway, and lots of trees, noise was not an issue and we slept very well. And the Las Vegas room is in a separate part of the house, so while it is right next to the stairway, it's very private for couples who want to get very romantic ;-) Parking was tight but very manageable and adequate for our SUV. We arrived late and Rob (who understandably needs to get some sleep for the early breakfast customers) made sure everything was in place to make the late arrival smooth, simple and pleasant (and with self serve snacks and red wine in the entry way!) The only suggestion we had was to write on the late arrival 'welcome letter' that you don't need a passcode for the WiFi.

Speaking of which, Rob, also the breakfast chef, does not disappoint with the breakfast options, nor does the effervescent smile and polite attentive service of Anna in the dining area. The 'family dog' , Brody, has been spoiled by attention from past guests, and naturally sits and looks at you with a 'please, please, I'm underfed' look (definitely not the case), but you can choose to succumb or refuse. And when the food has all been prepared, friendly Rob comes out of the kitchen and into the dining area, open to chat about anything you want to chat or ask about.

All in all, we really enjoyed this weekend in N Conway because of this B&B experience, which is more our style than the paper cutter hotel room experience. Well done Rob, two thumbs up !

Room Tip: Las Vegas room , 2 thumbs up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mermaid_Julie-n-Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I have visited the US often but never previously New England. We stumbled across the Red Elephant on Trip Advisor and are delighted we did so. This is an Inn where people who like being sociable should go as you'll have an opportunity to relax and enjoy sitting on the back porch watching the sun go down while enjoying a glass of wine and popcorn provided by the inn keeper. The rooms are quirky but perfectly fine, we slept very well. The breakfasts are terrific and coffee is on tap throughout your stay. So if you like to sit and chat with other guests in a warm and welcoming environment then the Red Elephant is the place to go.

Room Tip: We were in the Hippy Room - enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RodneyT513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at the Red Elephant Inn to celebrate our anniversary! We couldn't have chosen a better place in North Conway and will definitely be back next year! Julie and Marcy were running the inn the weekend we stayed, because Rob was at his son's wedding! He left it in excellent hands! They were beyond gracious hosts and they cooked an amazing three course breakfast each morning! They made us feel right at home with their hospitality and home baked goodies every night! They went above and beyond and not only provided us with advice about good local attractions ,but also hiking gear because I came unprepared! We highly recommend this B and B!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liberty2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a special place to stay. Rob is warm, friendly and accommodating and certainly knows how to make one feel at home. We enjoyed our stay immensely and cherish the few extra pounds from all his fine cooking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank topat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

GOURMET BREAKFASTS! Why even pay for a place in the North Conway area without a breakfast? Don't waste your money on an impersonal hotel where you have to leave the premises to get a decent breakfast (and pay extra) Rob (the owner of the Red Elephant) takes this all-important meal to the next level. The 3 course breakfast will blow your mind... trust me! (and yes, you order from a menu... and many options have alcohol thrown in as a flavor enhancer... the combinations are so creative!)

THE LITTLE PERKS that most B & B don't even think of (but will probably eventually copy) A full stocked "snack table" beckons you every time you enter the B & B. Fresh fruits, chips, cracker jack boxes, fortune cookies, tea, coffee, WINE, homemade sweet baked treats... It allows you to grab a "safety snack" in case you get hungry exploring the area or grab something quick to eat upon your return when you don't have the patience to wait for dinner. And the wine? A nice way to end the day! :-)

THE HOST and HIS DOG! Both are highly entertaining... and if you have dog allergies ( I do), don't worry. This one is hypoallergenic... Rob also has him highly trained "Brody" is part of the charm of the place. And Rob's insight into the world in general... fascinating! He is a real people person! :-)

THE REST OF THE INN... there is a really quaint sitting area (nice and cosy), countless information about the area (three MUST sees are the Mount Washington Auto Road, the Flume Gorge at Franconia Notch and the Lost River Gorge and Boulder Caves) and even more chocolates and lifesavers strategically placed around the inn. There are inviting porches if you want to sit outside in front or back and the place is tucked away from the busy road so traffic noise is reduced. Rob had two amazing assistants working there too who served us breakfast and help maintain and clean the inn. They were so friendly!

THE POOL... beautiful outdoor pool... I didn't have a chance to swim in it but Rob offered its use to my wife and I even late into the evening when it was dark. I tested the water temperature... it is warm and the pool is really clean!

THE CHOICE OF ROOMS! Rob allowed us to peek in some rooms that were not occupied at that time before we left. Don't be overwhelmed by all the other reviews on this place concerning which room is better. They are ALL well-appointed, a good size and tastefully decorated. It really doesn't matter which room you end up in!

So, in closing, thank you Rob for the awesome getaway! We will be back! And to everyone else... I did all the legwork and research on places to stay in North Conway. Save yourself the trouble and simply choose the Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast! :-)

Room Tip: As I said earlier, every room is great! Don't waste your time fretting which one is better. Ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MusicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed for three nights with Rob and his dog Brody. When we arrived the door was open but nobody was there. Rob left us a message at the counter with the key of our room, the NY room.
Room is spacious, somewhat dark due to the colours being used on the walls. Bathroom has a big bath in it. First of all Rob is a very nice guy and he can cook a great and sometimes unusuall breakfast. He pointed us out some hikes and was very friendly. We liked the fact that we could grap a cup of tea any time of the day with sometimes homemade chocolate coockies or brownies.
Rob fixed the toilet when we found out the first day that it did not flush and he told us that he would let someone take a look at the non working ventilator on the ceiling in our room. Airco was great but way too noisy to sleep with so we had pretty " hot" nights without a ventilator, which eventually was not fixed during our stay. Room was not very clean, found big bunches of dust next to our bed and some hairs of former inhabitants in our bath. Outside is a small pool where you can sit to read or have a very small swim. Stair to the pool is pretty dangerous because it is broken and the fence surrounding the pool area needs some help. That also counts for the terrace which needs some paint. And if you have a dog make sure you clean up after him and not leave it in sight before you enter the B&B. Overall average if I stay objective, but Rob is a great guy to have as a host.

Room Tip: The NY room is the most spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Girl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.4 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
563 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cranmore Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Eastman Inn
Eastman Inn
#5 of 21 in North Conway
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 28 Locust Lane, PO Box 1763, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860 (Formerly Victorian Harvest Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range: £99 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Elephant Inn Bed And Breakfast
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing