We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place for a special night out”
Review of 1785 Inn - CLOSED

1785 Inn
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The restaurant at the 1785 Inn is located in a historic building overlooking famous mountain scenery (the 7th most photographed nature scene in the U.S.) A travel guide newsletter recently called it "One of the top 15 views in the world from a hotel or inn." All meals are cooked to order with the freshest possible ingredients (in spring/summer/fall the vegetables & herbs come from their own gardens or local farms). The service is friendly and the wine list is extensive (has received the "Award of Excellence" for 25 consecutive years from the Wine Spectator magazine). The desserts are all made at the Inn (including some that are flambed tableside). The critics have called it "an amazing value" and "the best place to stay or eat in North Conway." A relaxing luonge is also avilable for drinks, some lighter food, or one of their desserts.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“wonderful place for a special night out”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My friend and I made reservations for 7:00 on a Saturday night. This was our dress up a bit and splurge night of our long weekend in White Mountain Valley. We got a window table on the porch and watched the sun set. Service was excellent. We really enjoyed the Caesar salads made fresh table side. Wine was good. It was restaurant week, so we both opted for the fixed price, four course meal. We each enjoyed the Salmon and the Lobster & scallops. We were so full we asked for our desserts to go and enjoyed them later at our hotel. The blueberry pie was wonderful. The chocolate mousse with raspberry was good, but really rich and chocolate overload. Get the blueberry pie, even if you take it with you to eat later. Dinner at the 1785 Inn was the perfect splurge night. Just north of North Conway main drag.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank scottcaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    35
    16
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Exceptional!!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Outstanding service from our server ( Paris, I believe ) added to the experience. The appetizers,
salads, mushrooms and scallops were nicely presented and tasty. The entrees, from the duck, the scallops and lobster tail to the chicken were all excellent. Then the desserts, oh my! A chocolate mousse, three inch thick blueberry pie to the bananas foster with special coffees to finish were over the top. Straight A's here. Loved it. And did I mention the fantastic view from the back porch area

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North conway
1 review
“Overpriced, small portions”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were looking forward to trying a new place. Although the service was good, i had ordered the lamb chops which were 4 extremely small chops. I had never seen chops so small which you were lucky to get one bite of meat minus the fat! I had asked to have them cook medium and they were practically rare. To add to the disappointment they gave you a ridiculously small amount of carrots and green beans along with dry twice baked potatoes. At $28 it made me cringe. The salmon ravioli consisted of 3 small pieces loaded with butter and hard and overcooked. My daughter had a burger that tasted like hamburger with breadcrumbs on it. Very stuffy atmosphere, hoity toity.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chimbla17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke Qc
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Class Food and Service”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I had read about the 1785 Inn restaurant and reserved a week prior to ensure a spot.

When our party of four arrived our table was waiting,

What a Great Experience , our waiter Alan kept us entertained as he served our table , we enjoyed flaming coffees and Cherries Jubilee for desert.

This place and Alan are rare gems in today's rushed and hurried world.

We will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Fine, New England Dining”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The 1785 is another of the top 3 fine dining restaurants in "the valley". Although a bit pricey, that's to be expected for truly fine dining. No rush here & there are beautiful valley views from the enclosed porch. The wait staff are all excellent and they will "entertain" you with preparation of certain cocktails, salad. Entrees can be somewhat exotic. A visit to the 1785 would certainly be classified as special occasion evening

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KVM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1785 Inn also viewed

 
North Conway, Conway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing