We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
North Conway Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We have just back from the Nth conway grand, after reading the reviews i emailed ahead for a quite room which we got, the room was very dusty and son is allergic to feather pillows, we asked for non feather, but the little man on reception abruptly told us that they dont have any, however the next morning we meet joyce at reception, she has been to charm school as she promptly arranged for all the pillows to be changed and the room cleaned and 'oxygenated' in fact she was the nicest member of staff execpt for the restaurant staff (as they like their tips)
so i cannot really fault the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hjjNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,207 - 1,213 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2010

Hotel is situated in the shopping outlet at North Conway but this actually turned out to be a bonus as it allowed us to walk in the evening to a couple of nearby restaurants and leave the car behind.

It was very quiet mid week whilst we were there so were upgraded to a king room with a jacuzzi bath which was lovely at the end of the day. Staff were mostly helpful , only the bar man was a bit off hand but I suspect he was bored with hardly any guests to cater for. I would have preferred proper mugs in the rooms for the coffee but obtaining extra coffee and paper cups .from the house keepers wasn't a problem.

Mid-week prices direct on-line were very reasonable, we didn't eat in the hotel but tended to use the nearby Applebees and the excellent Black Cap Grille.

All in all a good hotel which we would stay at agin if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camtraveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We stayed in a suite with the in room jacuzzi. Obviously walking distance to the outlets. The hotel was very comfortable and convient to North Conway. It is a nice hotel for a weekend getaway. Not much for the frills factor but a comfortable room. All around a slightly above average hotel. We have stayed at many hotels in North Conway and if we return to the area we will stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

This seems to be a continuing theme about this hotel. The kids are out of hand so don't stay on floor 1 and don't speak with Joyce at front desk. If you get room 127 turnaround and leave. I am sitting in the room right now and I am looking at the black soot on the rim of the "supposedly" clean glass. In room 127 you will be able to hear the door leading out to the pool squeak and slam all night and morning. It is a handicap room which we were not told about until we got to the room. This morning I went to Joyce about my lack of sleep and the fact she did not tell me that the room was a small handicapped room. Look at the other reviews to read more about Joyce and room 127. It took her quite awhile to apologize and offer us an upgrade. Not sure if I want to move my stuff. By the way the bar is closed until 5 PM on Super Bowl Sunday. I guess I will spend my money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank running_rhoads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

so we got a REALLY good deal on this hotel and to be honest - it's a smaller town and i wasn't expecting a whole lot - but it exceeded everything that i could have wanted.
The reception area/lobby was great - front desk staff were pleasant.

our room was huge - 2 queen beds (only option they had but i didnt mind) and even though they skimped on the bathroom in favor of the bedroom i was ok with that.
they had a mini fridge and also a microwave in our room -making it easy for popcorn or like we did a fast breakfast in the morning rather then eating out.

it is in a prime location - right beside the Settlers Green outlets which was fantastic and the view of the moutains behind the hotel are fantastic!!!
even though there were a few kids when we were there we didnt mind them at all - kids will be kids!
the pool was nice a little small but better then nothing at all.
and they also include complimentary movies for you to borrow- just incase the weather is bad or the kids need entertaining for a while :)

All in all - it is a fantastic hotel and since we had already stayed in a 4 star in Boston - this, i found, was actually a nicer hotel in the location and ammenitites!!

thank you!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghcb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

I have heard many great things about this hotel from a few of my friends, who have all stayed here in the past and loved it. The actual hotel was nice, and in a great location - perfect for skiing, snowmobiling or any winter activities in a cute little town. Our stay however, was not very nice unfortunately.

We Got into town earlier then expected, and called to try to check in early, but because they were so crowded they said our room was not ready yet. So we waited until about 5. We arrived, checked in and went to our room to find they had put us in a handicapped room. Not that this is a terrible thing, but when you are paying full price for a room, and do not feel comfortable taking a shower in there, it is not fun.
We were never told or asked if this was okay, so we called down the front desk and asked to switch room because we were uncomfortable there. The supervisor on the phone, "Joyce" was not much help to us, and was not very nice. She told us She had no other king bed rooms available for us to switch to, and that the only difference was the bathroom. Normally, if the place were not so crowded, she would upgrade us to a better room, but with nothing available there was nothing she could do. She switched us to the only thing she had available, a queen double... which we gladly took. She did not apologize to us, and did not offer us anything but the new room, not even a price break.
We had made reservations 3 weeks prior, so who knows why we ended up in that room in the first place.
We got to our new room, and there were burn marks on the wall in the bathroom, and what looked like toilet paper stuck on the wall in the shower... which did not come off by spraying it with water. GROSS. To make matters worse, that night, there were pipes in the wall right next to our bed that were ridiculously loud off and on ALL NIGHT. I am a heavy sleeper, so not a problem for me, but my boyfriend was woken up abruptly up about 12 times because of how loud this was. It literally sounded like someone was in our bathroom with a fire hose.
The next morning, at checkout, my boyfriend mentioned the loud noises to the guy at the front desk, who's response was, "sorry, but no one has ever complained about that before" (which to me seemed like he was trying to say we were lying). The guy at the desk apologized and handed him the receipt, without even a glimpse of caring.

TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. I will not recommend this place to anyone. Ever. For Joyce, or the guy who doubted the loud sounds, stay 1 night in room 206, and see for yourself. Thanks for taking such great care of your guests. It was much appreciated.

Also, you may want to remove that sign in each bathroom that reads "if you are not satisfied with any part of your stay here, you will not pay for that part of it" because that is a crock.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lolo3254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Owner at North Conway Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2010

Dear Lolo3254,

Thank you for your review of the North Conway Grand Hotel. We are glad that your friends recommended it and have loved their past stays. We want all of our guests to have such a great experience that they return time and time again.

We are sorry that you did not like the room that you were originally assigned. As you heard from our front desk, our handicapped rooms do not differ from our regular king rooms, except for the larger bathrooms with handicap features. The shower, however, should not be at all uncomfortable to use. Many of our guests prefer the moveable nozzle. That being the case, I am glad that we were able to move you to a different room. Again, we apologize if the noise from the pipes kept you awake. I will ask our engineer to take a look in the room to determine if there is a problem.

We are glad that you found our hotel “nice and in a great location - perfect for skiing, snowmobiling or any winter activities in a cute little town.” We hope that you were able to use the many amenities at the hotel, ranging from the outdoor pool, hottub and firepit to the movie room and restaurant. The North Conway Grand Hotel is a great place for couples! On your next trip, I would highly recommend booking one of our Jacuzzi rooms.

We look forward to your next stay at the North Conway Grand Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We decided to spend the MLK weekend in beautiful North Conway and booked the No rth Conway Grand after reviewing many hotels online. It looked good and the price was right. I have to say we were very pleased. It is a great place to stay with kids. We were on the 4th floor, so it was very quiet. The room was spacious and very clean with 2 Queen beds. Each day when we returned, the room was very tidy and the housekeeper placed each of our kids stuffed animals on each bed in a cute fashion-very personalized! The 2 pools were nice. My only problem was I have to agree with the previous reviewer regarding the hotel staff enforcing the rules, they did not! The inside pool had clear signes hung on the wall saying "no jumping, running, etc" and this was not enforced. I blame the parents for that one as kids will be kids and the parents just sat and watched as their kids "jumped and ran the whole time". The outside pool was terrific. Otherwise, the rooms have a DVD player and they have DVD library at the main desk. They also have a Movie each night. Location is great, right outside the doors were the outlets. There is a pizza place Brandli's onsite but the pizza is mediocre and pricey. The staff are friendly.Kids eat free when a parent orders the fulll delicious breakfast t. It is worth it. I also liked the fitness room. The equipment was well taken care of. All in all, this was a great place to stay with kids.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwm8960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
3.5 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#5 of 25 in North Conway
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Conway Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Conway Grand Hotel

Address: Route 16 at Settlers' Green Outlet Village, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in North Conway
#13 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
Price Range: £82 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Conway Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your North Conway Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing