We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience; would never stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
North Conway Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience; would never stay here again”
Reviewed 8 March 2010

My family (spouse, twin toddlers) stayed at this Hotel for two nights while visiting Story Land. The service was awful from the time we arrived, until our departure. There was never any staff to answer questions or assist w/anything. There are no lifeguards at any of the over crowded pools, the rooms and air conditioning unit's are very old, so made it very hard to sleep (and apparently there were no fans available). We never felt like guest's at this hotel, and contemplated leaving after the first night, even though we had already paid in full. We like to travel often, & I could say this was likely the worst hotel stay we have had in a long time. I would not stay at any of the other locations in this chain of hotels (I think there are four)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dperms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Owner at North Conway Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2010
Dear Permd,

Thank you for your review of the North Conway Grand Hotel.

Our hotel is often very very busy in the summer months. We apologize if you were not able to immediately get ahold of a staff member at all times. However, if you leave a message with our front desk, a staff member will respond to you as quickly as possible.

We take safety very seriously at the North Conway Grand Hotel and we expect parents to watch their children in the pools. In addition to the pools at the hotel, we have a large number of other great family activities, including our movie room, our new playground, daily visits with Monty the Moose, a restaurant with a children’s menu, ice cream socials, a game room and more. We hope that you were able to explore some of these activities with your toddlers.

We appreciate your business and hope you will return to the North Conway Grand Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    452
    228
    84
    82
See reviews for
573
461
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

I stay on average for a weeks skiing holiday, sometimes two, every year for the last seven years.

Its my favourite hotel in the world, I live in a hotel in Dubai, so I speak with experience

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sadlebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We have just back from the Nth conway grand, after reading the reviews i emailed ahead for a quite room which we got, the room was very dusty and son is allergic to feather pillows, we asked for non feather, but the little man on reception abruptly told us that they dont have any, however the next morning we meet joyce at reception, she has been to charm school as she promptly arranged for all the pillows to be changed and the room cleaned and 'oxygenated' in fact she was the nicest member of staff execpt for the restaurant staff (as they like their tips)
so i cannot really fault the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjjNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Hotel is situated in the shopping outlet at North Conway but this actually turned out to be a bonus as it allowed us to walk in the evening to a couple of nearby restaurants and leave the car behind.

It was very quiet mid week whilst we were there so were upgraded to a king room with a jacuzzi bath which was lovely at the end of the day. Staff were mostly helpful , only the bar man was a bit off hand but I suspect he was bored with hardly any guests to cater for. I would have preferred proper mugs in the rooms for the coffee but obtaining extra coffee and paper cups .from the house keepers wasn't a problem.

Mid-week prices direct on-line were very reasonable, we didn't eat in the hotel but tended to use the nearby Applebees and the excellent Black Cap Grille.

All in all a good hotel which we would stay at agin if we were in the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camtraveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mass
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We stayed in a suite with the in room jacuzzi. Obviously walking distance to the outlets. The hotel was very comfortable and convient to North Conway. It is a nice hotel for a weekend getaway. Not much for the frills factor but a comfortable room. All around a slightly above average hotel. We have stayed at many hotels in North Conway and if we return to the area we will stay here.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, ME
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

This seems to be a continuing theme about this hotel. The kids are out of hand so don't stay on floor 1 and don't speak with Joyce at front desk. If you get room 127 turnaround and leave. I am sitting in the room right now and I am looking at the black soot on the rim of the "supposedly" clean glass. In room 127 you will be able to hear the door leading out to the pool squeak and slam all night and morning. It is a handicap room which we were not told about until we got to the room. This morning I went to Joyce about my lack of sleep and the fact she did not tell me that the room was a small handicapped room. Look at the other reviews to read more about Joyce and room 127. It took her quite awhile to apologize and offer us an upgrade. Not sure if I want to move my stuff. By the way the bar is closed until 5 PM on Super Bowl Sunday. I guess I will spend my money elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank running_rhoads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, NB
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

so we got a REALLY good deal on this hotel and to be honest - it's a smaller town and i wasn't expecting a whole lot - but it exceeded everything that i could have wanted.
The reception area/lobby was great - front desk staff were pleasant.

our room was huge - 2 queen beds (only option they had but i didnt mind) and even though they skimped on the bathroom in favor of the bedroom i was ok with that.
they had a mini fridge and also a microwave in our room -making it easy for popcorn or like we did a fast breakfast in the morning rather then eating out.

it is in a prime location - right beside the Settlers Green outlets which was fantastic and the view of the moutains behind the hotel are fantastic!!!
even though there were a few kids when we were there we didnt mind them at all - kids will be kids!
the pool was nice a little small but better then nothing at all.
and they also include complimentary movies for you to borrow- just incase the weather is bad or the kids need entertaining for a while :)

All in all - it is a fantastic hotel and since we had already stayed in a 4 star in Boston - this, i found, was actually a nicer hotel in the location and ammenitites!!

thank you!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghcb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#4 of 25 in North Conway
629 reviews
3.3 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
22.9 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Conway Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Conway Grand Hotel

Property: North Conway Grand Hotel
Address: Route 16 at Settlers' Green Outlet Village, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in North Conway
#13 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Conway Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your North Conway Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing