We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our place in North Conway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
North Conway Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Québec
1 review
“our place in North Conway”
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We go to North Conway 3-4 times a year and we like to stay at the Grand Hotel because we are familiar now with the environment, we are glad to see again the staff very kind. The hotel is clean, and there are two swimming pools a little crowded during the week-end but very quiet in the middle of the week. We also appreciate the nearness of the outlets, we can go shopping on foot. For our family, staying at Grand Hotel is part of our holidays in North Conway.
E.P.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NessNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    452
    229
    84
    82
See reviews for
574
461
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Upon check in our room was ready and so were we.Having saved for weeks for our trip.We do not use credit cards and operate on a cash only basis.This is due to personal financial hardship.My son is 10 and was beyond excited.Then we met the hotel problem child "Joyce",at check in.My husband had actually drove up to the hotel a week earlier and paid cash for our room to hold it for us,a one night stay.We were asked for a credit card.When we explained we did not have one,Joyce rudely announced to all within an 8 mile radius to "TURN OFF EVERYTHING IN THE ROOM".Since we did not have the means to charge anything.We explained that we had no intention of charging anything any way.Needless to say it was humiliating.WE both wanted to walk out.If not for our son and his sad and bewildered face,we would have.A top manager discussed the issue with my husband and was kind ,considerate, and understanding.Our stay turned out a joyful and pleasant experience.The front desk of any Grand Hotel requires staff that are above average,certainly NEVER below average.People may not remember what you do,but they always remember how you make them feel.We again had saved for weeks for the trip and had plenty of cash to spend at the hotel for our short one night stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dstenson54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manahawkin, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Our last two nights of our vacation were spent at this hotel. I knew that it was geared more towards children, and of course, the shopping outlets. But, it appeared to me that the hotel was understaffed, and there were no restrictions for the children. The room was nice, relatively clean, although the shower head situation was a bit confusing. My husband and I did not like it at all, and we are usually pretty easygoing about things. What I really did not appreciate was this---after our first night there, I left the room at 12:30 in the afternoon, and when we came back at 6:30, our room had not been touched. I called the front desk, and they got someone right up there, but that never should happen. We then went downstairs for dinner, and there was a party going on in another room. They were still seating people in the room by the bar, but we barely received any service. We were just done with dinner, and they did not even ask us if we wanted another drink or dessert or coffee, they just left us the check! It seems that the whole hotel was understaffed, or that they were having trouble working a party and taking care of customers at the same time.

The hotel looks great, great location to shopping, the great little town of North Conway, and skiing, but, it needs a lot of internal work.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmdandmpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We really enjoyed this hotel stay a lot...we stayed in a one bedroom suite which was great with kids, we liked that the pull-out was also in the bedroom. The room decor could definitely use an update and could have been a bit cleaner but was more than acceptable if not pristine. Loved that the outlets were right outside the door...just wish they were open later. The kids loved the game room, movie room and most of all the 4 season outdoor pool! that was a big hit. I agree with some of the reviews that the front desk service could have been a bit better but all in all we really liked this hotel and would go back again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macfam0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

My family (spouse, twin toddlers) stayed at this Hotel for two nights while visiting Story Land. The service was awful from the time we arrived, until our departure. There was never any staff to answer questions or assist w/anything. There are no lifeguards at any of the over crowded pools, the rooms and air conditioning unit's are very old, so made it very hard to sleep (and apparently there were no fans available). We never felt like guest's at this hotel, and contemplated leaving after the first night, even though we had already paid in full. We like to travel often, & I could say this was likely the worst hotel stay we have had in a long time. I would not stay at any of the other locations in this chain of hotels (I think there are four)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dperms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Owner at North Conway Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2010
Dear Permd,

Thank you for your review of the North Conway Grand Hotel.

Our hotel is often very very busy in the summer months. We apologize if you were not able to immediately get ahold of a staff member at all times. However, if you leave a message with our front desk, a staff member will respond to you as quickly as possible.

We take safety very seriously at the North Conway Grand Hotel and we expect parents to watch their children in the pools. In addition to the pools at the hotel, we have a large number of other great family activities, including our movie room, our new playground, daily visits with Monty the Moose, a restaurant with a children’s menu, ice cream socials, a game room and more. We hope that you were able to explore some of these activities with your toddlers.

We appreciate your business and hope you will return to the North Conway Grand Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

I stay on average for a weeks skiing holiday, sometimes two, every year for the last seven years.

Its my favourite hotel in the world, I live in a hotel in Dubai, so I speak with experience

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sadlebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We have just back from the Nth conway grand, after reading the reviews i emailed ahead for a quite room which we got, the room was very dusty and son is allergic to feather pillows, we asked for non feather, but the little man on reception abruptly told us that they dont have any, however the next morning we meet joyce at reception, she has been to charm school as she promptly arranged for all the pillows to be changed and the room cleaned and 'oxygenated' in fact she was the nicest member of staff execpt for the restaurant staff (as they like their tips)
so i cannot really fault the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjjNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#4 of 25 in North Conway
629 reviews
3.3 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
22.9 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Conway Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Conway Grand Hotel

Property: North Conway Grand Hotel
Address: Route 16 at Settlers' Green Outlet Village, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in North Conway
#13 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Conway Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your North Conway Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing