We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible. Place almost shut down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
North Conway Grand Hotel
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible. Place almost shut down”
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Outside pool and spa closed for a day for no acceptable reason. Worst room cleaning I have seen. Front desk employees really not helpful, wrong or approximate information.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    445
    226
    84
    82
See reviews for
560
454
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynn, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Second time staying at the north conway grand with my family for a ski weekend. We all LOVED the outdoor pool and jacuzzi after a day on the slopes. The breakfast buffet in the morning was an added plus ecpecially where kids 12 and under eat free!!!!! The kids loved the cookies and cider in the afternoon and free DVD'S. We have decided to make this an annual event for our family! Walking out the front door to bargains galore at the outlets made Mom very HAPPY!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanmatt233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugus, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We decided last minute to book a trip to North Conway, NH. After a little research we selected the North Conway Grand - and we're so glad we did. Right from the very beginning we were completely satisfied. We arrived early and were pleasantly surprised we could check in well before the 3pm check-in time. The lobby was warm, cozy and inviting with leather sofas and a fireplace. Our room was on the 4th floor, right across from the elevator. It was nice, clean and exactly what we expected. I wondered if we'd have a problem with noise (being so close to the elevator) but not a problem. I used the fitness room twice - the televisions were great and the equipment was fine (LifeFitness - 2 treadmills, 3 bikes, 1 elliptical and several weight machines). We used the pool a couple times per day - and both the hot tub and pool were immaculately clean. I'm kind of a clean-freak when it comes to swimming pools/jacuzzis and I was totally impressed. We even went outside to the outdoor pool a few times. Very surreal having snowflakes land on your head while being warm and toasty in the water. The whole hotel was clean. It occurred to me as I took the stairs from the pool to the 4th floor that even the cement stairwells were clean - clearly an area that could be overlooked and most guests would never be the wiser. My husband even commented on how meticulous the staff was about vacuuming all the salt and sand being tracked into the lobby from outside. Another plus - the bartender came in early on Sunday so we could watch the Patriots playoff game on the big flatscreen tv in the lounge. It wasn't supposed to open until 5pm but he was there before 3pm to let us in. No food until the restaurant manager got in - but not a problem. We're already looking into booking another weekend next month.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeennn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I recently took my children to this hotel in the middle of North Conway. The hotel was clean with a great indoor and outdoor pool; a gym I actually used; movie room and activities for the kids that they really enjoyed; Food was really good and even better: Kids eat for next to nothing. There is a skating pond we enjoyed etc. etc. We stayed for 4 nights and I spent about $400 less than I budgeted because of the value and host of activities at the hotel. Teh staff was really helpful as well. We will go back again next year.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheskett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the amenities and services offered at this hotel. What stands out most is the effort that the entire staff puts in to make sure your vacation is pleasant.

The main lobby has a comfortable mountain lodge ambience, with a fireplace, wood timbers, stuffed animals, etc. Our check in agent made a point of telling us that complimentary cider and cookies are served by the fire after the ski day ends. The first floor also contains the restaurant and lounge. Food quality is good, a step above the usual mass produced hotel fare (especially the breakfast buffet). Bar service is attentive and friendly.

The health club is in the rear. There are changing rooms with saunas, a small excercise room, and a large indoor pool and hot tub. The crown jewel, however, is the large heated outdoor pool and attached hot tub. In fact, it's a little too popular, as after 6PM it gets packed full of families with small children, both well-behaved and not. There is an hour of 18+ swimming before closing, but generally the area could use better supervision. Also located outside is a skating pond. The hotel does not rent skates, but can tell you several places nearby to get them if you want.

The rooms are large and comfortably furnished, continuing the mountain lodge type of theme. It seemed like the beds were wonderfully comfortable, but that might have been a reflection of how tired we were after 3 days of skiing.

The location in the rear of an outlet mall is the only drawback worth mentioning. However, the hotel staff was very helpful in recommending places to go and helping us get taxis when we didn't want to drive (read: wanted to drink). With the glaring exception of poolside monitoring, they couldn't have done any more to help us have a good time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitemtn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

This was the first time we were in the area and had no idea of where to stay. We are very happy we chose this hotel. They were very accomodating and polite. Its just a couple steps away from the outlets. The quality of the rooms were great. We had a fantastic experience. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family and will come back to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericaandjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2011

what a great way to start the New Year! we had a great stay at the North Conway Grand this new year's weekend. i was impressed with the cleanliness of a hotel this size and as busy as it was! the staff was fantastic...friendly, helpful and incredibly accommodating, especially with all the activities made available to my children. the pool and hot tub were, well let's just say after 2 1/2 hours in them, a huge hit! temperatures were perfect and again very clean...and i don't particularly care for public pools and spas. the breakfast in the morning was fantastic with a great variety of things to choose from. from a shopping stand point, the NCG is located less than 100 feet to what i would consider the best outlet stores! we went skiing and they are fairly close to some great mountains as well! can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsfan469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#7 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
3.5 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#4 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Conway Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Conway Grand Hotel

Property: North Conway Grand Hotel
Address: Route 16 at Settlers' Green Outlet Village, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#13 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Conway Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Conway Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing