We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vegan food”
Review of Susty's Cafe

Susty's Cafe
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Northwood
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Kittery, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great vegan food”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Thank God for Susty's. We need more vegan restaurants around here like Susty's. Eat well and healthy, knowing there is no animal ingredients in the luscious food. Just fresh alternatives to meat, and even the vegan dairy spreads are better for you and taste better than cow secretion derivatives. A piece of the future is at Susty's !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank suzycourage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian restaurant”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is a gem of a restaurant in an unlikely area. The menu was large, but not overly so. The food was tasty, and the staff very attentive. The portions were large enough, and seemed fresh. The restaurant isn't cheap, but isn't overly expensive: we paid around $20 for each family member.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eladyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Always friendly and accommodating staff. The hours of the restaurant can be confusing at times. We know they are open when we see the "open" flag flying out by their sign. We love going in to enjoy the specials they offer. My wife has food allergies that can be very challenging but the kitchen and wait staff are always helpful. They have started to bottle the lemon-tahini dressing, which we have been asking about for a year. We bought several bottles to enjoy at home. The restaurant is clean. Since the food is prepared to order, there is a considerable wait between ordering and receiving your food. It is fresh. We were surprised how much we enjoyed the kale chips. In the past, we have enjoyed the stuffed artichoke. A favorite dish of ours is the vegetable curry. We went to Susty's last week and the menu had changed for the summer. The vegetable curry and some other favorites were not on the new menu. The server said the new menu was the summer menu. Hopefully, the fall will bring the return of some of our favorite Susty dishes. Everything is good here. We love the spring rolls and fritters. The stir fry is always enjoyable. They have a desert case and offer food for take out. Pricing is what you would expect at a vegetarian restaurant. You pay for the quality ingredients and great flavors. We love this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ptmd2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
171 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Sunday Afternoon Treat”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife, a friend and I had spent the morning at a magnificently inspiring Permaculture homestead in Nottingham. On the way home our friend suggested stopping at Susty's CAfe. My wife and I had never been. As luck would have it there was a buffet that day. It allowed us to sample lots of different foods. All were great. The setting was simple and homey. The service was prompt, pleasant and knowledgeable. The space is fairly small. We were all deeply moved by the experience we had just had at a wonderful, sustainable, beautiful and real homestead. We were fortunate to go from one marvelous experience to another. If you find your way in Northwood , do yourself a favor and eat at Susty's Cafe. Whatever kind of day you were having, it will become better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Turtledreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you have to eat vegan, go here”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My wife has adopted the vegan lifestyle for the last few months and I have come along to make her life simpler. Obviously, finding a restaurant that "does it right" are few and far between. We went here for lunch and both our meals were excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RICK T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Susty's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Susty's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing