We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MacDowell Colony escape to get internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“MacDowell Colony escape to get internet”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The charming and historical town of Peterborough is also home of the world class and oldest US artist colony, the MacDowell Colony. I spent 5 weeks there, and periodically escaped to downtown Peterborough for health food, and the occasional beer. :) The internet is not available at the Colony, except in a library, and so I actually checked in 2 times at the Jack Daniels Motor Inn for internet access. Get a ground floor room that overlooks the river if you can. It's clean and efficient, and the internet was full speed. I gave a remote final exam for a college class, as well as Skyped with friends while there. If you are down on Bed n Breakfasts, this is your only choice in Peterborough. And it is a fine choice for a motel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank music-professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    47
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
49
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Mega dittos to what the other reviewers have to say about the Jack Daniels. I'll add that the mattress was the most comfortable that I have slept on in a hotel or motel and the bedding was really high quality including ironed cotton sheets. Now for the big detraction: though the rooms are non smoking, guests are permitted to smoke right outside of their rooms. Cigarette smoke is trapped by the ceilings on the balcony and portico and gathers at the enclosed ends. For those who are sensitive to cigarette smoke, this presents a problem. If the Jack Daniels were completely smoke free, it would easily rate 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMember06022016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Con2cook, Owner at Jack Daniels Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2015
Thank you for your fair and honest review. Your comments regarding second-hand smoke matched our concerns. Finally, in June 2015 we created a Designated Smoking Area located away from the building and rooms. All of our rooms are non-smoking and we no longer allow smoking on the second-floor deck or the ground-floor walkway. I am sorry it took us so long to correct this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect little classic motel. Comfortable, beautiful setting, lovely staff and quaint town. We enjoyed our breakfast (supplied by the inn) at the picnic table by the river. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area! We have stayed there many times and always been happy.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank EpicuriousintheWindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Jack Daniels is practically the only game in town if you want to stay in Peterborough, as I found out when I started researching the options. Fortunately, it's a nice establishment so I was happy with my choice. The location is very close to downtown, and the rooms were spacious and clean (my most important criterion), though the room was a little dark so I tended to keep all the lights on. It was quiet even though it's right off of a main road, and the service was excellent - I felt perfectly comfortable going to the office to ask for advice on locations in town, or to grab the complementary breakfast (and don't forget cookies in the evening!). The folks behind the counter were very friendly and welcoming.

The only part I wasn't thrilled about was that the price is a little high for a motor inn in my opinion, at $139/night (my wife has stayed at full-blown hotels for $80 in Maryland and I don't think of Peterborough as warranting city prices). But in fairness it's priced to the market, as the alternatives I researched were about the same or more expensive. Though I found slightly less expensive alternatives, they were outside of town by 15-20 minutes. As a result, for me, the location won out versus saving a few bucks per night. I willingly chose to pay the rate when I booked so I don't blame them, but just be aware that the the value is good though not a bargain.

Overall it's a nice establishment with a great location and wonderful proprietors, but "only" a good value instead of a great value. All things considered, I would stay here again, but would price shop it again too before I made my final reservation.

If you found this review helpful please let me know and mark it! Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I would definitely stay here again. The front desk/owners were friendly and helpful. I loved the modern bathroom with glass shower door and no icky curtain. Neat room darkening shades that you just pull down or push up. The desk with mirror was a nice place to sit while doing my hair and make up. Breakfast was nice with yogurt, fruit, cereal and juice that one can take back to their room. One recommendation: ask for a room on the river side as opposed to the road. The noise didn't keep me up but I was second in from the road and could hear traffic.

Cute and clean motel...the owners really care about this place.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Explorer926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Con2cook, Owner at Jack Daniels Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
We certainly hope that you will have a chance to stay with us again! Thank you for this review - you have touched on points that are great feedback for us as well as very helpful information for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stay here for 2 nights each summer for the MacDowell Colony Medal Day weekend, and are always pleased to return. The rooms are large and comfortable, very clean, and the owners are friendly in a sincere way. By now, they even reserve our favorite room (it has a view of a rapidly rushing stream nearby) for us a year ahead of time. One can walk to central Peterborough but most people probably drive to get food there or elsewhere in the area. Several churches are on the same road leading to the center of this pleasant town. The Inn offers a continental breakfast with juice, coffee, and pastries and perhaps something else such as yogurt but I can't be sure of that.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far right end will have a view of the pretty stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Con2cook, Owner at Jack Daniels Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words! Pam and I (and all of our staff) really enjoy getting to know guests and it is wonderful when guest like you return. And we do have yogurt (regular and light)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I really enjoyed my stay in Peterborough, NH.
I was here for business so I couldn't really enjoyed the city but, at least, I could enjoyed the place.
The room was nice and comfortable. The welcome and the service were great...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phkrief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Con2cook, Owner at Jack Daniels Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you - we hope you can stay longer next time so that we can share some of the great restaurants, shops, hiking trails and more with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
17.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
17.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
18.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
1.1 mi away
Little River Bed and Breakfast
6.2 mi away
Benjamin Prescott Inn
Benjamin Prescott Inn
#1 of 4 in Jaffrey
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack Daniels Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack Daniels Motor Inn

Property: Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Address: 80 Concord St, Route 202, Peterborough, NH 03458-1513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jack Daniels Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Tripadvisor’s Certificate of Excellence each year since 2012 and rated “Highly Recommended” by respected Fodor’s New England Guide. Seventeen spacious rooms are furnished with Thomasville cherry furniture and feature plush Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, private baths, personal climate control, a desk, telephone, refrigerator, freezer, microwave, cable TV, and free wireless high-speed internet access. Enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast as well as homemade cookies. The Inn is beautifully situated overlooking the Contoocook River and landscaped to take advantage of river views. There are several outdoor seating areas to enjoy breakfast or an afternoon break. Nestled in southwest Hampshire’s Monadnock Region, Peterborough is a center for arts, culture and outdoor recreation and was named one of the top 10 Coolest Small Towns in America by Budget Travel magazine. The Jack Daniels Motor Inn is less than ½ mile from downtown shops and restaurants as well as easy access to Routes 101 and 202 and proximity to Mount Monadnock, hiking trails, fishing, paddling, swimming, golf, skiing, shopping, dining and antique shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Jack Daniels Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Daniels Hotel
Jack Daniels Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing