We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable - and the best beds!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little River Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Peterborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Adorable - and the best beds!!!”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

A friend booked us a weekend here for our anniversary, and we had a great time. Rob and Paula are very gracious hosts, and really went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. We were in town for the fireworks in Jaffrey, which were abruptly cancelled the day before the event. Not to worry, Rob and Paula managed to fill our day anyway with some very knowledgeable recommendations about local attractions.
The inn itself is very homey, with a few luxe touches (shower with two showerheads - heaven!). For a city couple, the ability to take a catnap with the sound of a trickling brook in the background and sunlight streaming through the sheer curtains was a real treat. And I don't know what kind of mattress they have on the beds, but my very fussy back was never happier - somehow firm-yet-cushy.
But you can't review a B&B without mentioning the breakfasts, which were stunning. Creative and tasty, and served up with a nice dose of chatting like old friends.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the back of the house - the sound of the water is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiegumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
88
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This was our second stay at Little River and it seemed like "coming home"! Paula and Rob are so welcoming and really made us feel like family! Our stay was most comfortable again, room was immaculate and the breakfasts so good! In the warm weather, there is a wonderful patio/deck to sit and eat breakfast on or just relax by the babbling river. Rob and Paula provided us with so many great places to check out in Peterborough and the surrounding area...we thoroughly enjoyed all of them...Cathedral of the Pines, antique shops, great restaurants, ice cream shops and the Bridge of Flowers on our way back south. We look forward to our next trip soon...another relaxing visit! All the best to you, Paula and Rob, for the start of the summer season! Thanks again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor...great room with large bath/dressing area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FER540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Every stay I've had at Little River B & B gives me reason to recall my memories of the holidays, especially those I associate with Thanksgiving. During my college years when I lived away from home, I couldn't wait to enjoy the warmth, comfort and good food of my home. Little River B & B is just like home for me when I travel on business in the Peterborough area - it is clean, comfortable and welcoming - and just like my Thanksgiving days of old, the wonderful aroma of a fresh, home made breakfast and the friendly conversation at the breakfast table beckon me from my cozy room. While I've enjoyed the B & B during business trips and have benefitted from its wireless internet service and close proximity to downtown and restuarants, I would highly recommend Little River for those traveling for pleasure too - Rob and Paula are gracious and knowledgable hosts who can provide just the right amount of insight and guidance to enhance your travel experience and your explorations. I look forward to my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJTraveler287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We highly recommend this bed and breakfast. The house has been tastefully renovated, and the hosts are very gracious. The breakfast was delicious as well. We hope to return in the summer to sit by the river out back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This bed and breakfast is just the right combination of friendly hosts who make great breakfasts and offer comfortable up to date accomodations in a lovely setting beside a river. Little River B&B is conveniently located approximately 1 mile from Peterborough NH, a charming town of unique shops, restaurants, and cultural events. There are a number of things to do in the area, to make this a great week-end getaway or a week long stay. There is a wonderful sunny common room for relaxing on the 2nd floor with bookshelves and windows on 2 walls. Paula is very accomodating of special dietary needs for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enfieldwatersprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, NY
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Everything about this place was beyond reproach. The proprieters were warm and friendly without being intrusive. The room was clean and nicely furnished and offered complete temperature-control with a gas fireplace and a thermostat. The breakfast was more than adequate and quite delicious. We come to this area fairly frequently, but this was our first time at Little River. We will definitely return to it on our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limmson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

There are so many things about Little River B&B that make it wonderful! First, it starts with the owners, Paula and Rob. They made us feel so at home in their lovely and ultra clean B&B!
They are such warm and gracious hosts. We enjoyed our conversations with them--no matter what the topic--it felt like we became friends in just a few days! Second, the breakfasts were fabulous. All home-made by Paula and Rob--the best we have ever had at any B&B--and we've stayed at many in the US and Canada. They both take pride in their served, multi-course breakfasts--and home-baked cookies for the guests each afternoon! The table was set so beautifully and each dish was so professionally plated and served...delicious both for its taste and how it looked! We felt so pampered by their graciousness and amazed by their culinary skills! Third, the room was so comfortable and clean. We stayed in the room on the first floor and were so at home especially with a fireplace and flat-screen TV! The bathroom was quite large and newly decorated with a full tub/shower. As they say, it's in the details...there was much thought that went into how Paula and Rob designed and decorated the entire B&B! It has that New England charm yet all the amenitities of a modern home! We can't wait to visit again...we already booked our next trip in late spring! We would highly recommend staying at Little River when you travel to New Hampshire!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FER540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
16.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
16.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
16.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
1.1 mi away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
155 reviews
5.9 mi away
Benjamin Prescott Inn
Benjamin Prescott Inn
#1 of 4 in Jaffrey
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Bed and Breakfast

Property: Little River Bed and Breakfast
Address: 184 Union St, Peterborough, NH 03458-1014
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Little River Bed and Breakfast. We are a renovated 1870s farmhouse situated along the scenic Nubanusit River in the classic New England town of Peterborough, NH which is located in the wonderful Southwest corner of the state known as the Monadnock Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Little River Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Peterborough
Little River b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing