We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place in NH”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little River Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Peterborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Rob & Paula have a lovely B&B. They have done a great job remodeling the place. We stayed in the Goose Brook room on the 2nd floor. It was very comfortable with a view of the river. There is a very nice common room on the 2nd floor where you can sit and read, browse the internet, and enjoy the beautiful view out the window.

The breakfasts were all special and nicely prepared.

Rob & Paula were very helpful to us in giving directions to places we wanted to go and giving us recommendations on things to do and places to eat.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at this lovely B&B in Peterborough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimL_in_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our stay in Peterborough was all too short; one night stopover between Stowe and Boston. However we could have stayed longer in this wonderfully welcoming B&B. Rob ushered us in with a genuine interest in how our trip had been, and an enthusiasm about the area that was infectious. Our room was wonderfully decorated, with an amazing double shower in the ensuite bathroom. We could hear the river rushing by below our bedroom window and this made for a wonderful lullaby to send us to sleep. Breakfast is served at a communal table, and this gave us the chance to compare trips with the other travellers, as well as seek information from Rob & Paula. Rob recommended the auto road at Pack Monadnock and the raptor programme at the summit, and this was a welcome addition to our itinerary. This is a wonderful place to stay and an excellent base to explore the region

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsFletche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Loved the location. The river in the back was fantastic! This B&B was super clean, cozy and had great breakfast. Our inn keepers were just lovely and super helpful. If you're in the area, you must stay here. So glad we found this place. 5 stars!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11111happy11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Rob, the owner greeted us at the door and after some conversation, he showed us to our room. It was everything we could have wanted with a touch of luxury. The whole house was spotless including our room and adjoining bathroom. The queen bed was so comfy I could have stayed all day, but we had told Rob we'd be down for breakfast at 9:00. Rob took on the roll of server and brought over our requested breakfast beverage and a wonderful fruit cup. He also served homemade blueberry muffins which were very good. The individual egg and vegetable quiche was excellent. Sadly we had to go on our way but would love to have spent more time there. A trip to Little River Bed & Breakfast will be in our future.

Room Tip: Only four bedrooms and they all looked wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomDonna_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Little River B&B. The property is located directly in front of a running little brook or river with clear clean water and a rocky bottom. Bring your water shoes in order to take a walk in the river and see the area from that view point.

One of the chief reasons we went to Peterborough was to climb Mt. Monadnock and Proprietor Rob was able to direct us to the best entry spot for our hike. He also supplied us with some snacks to take along.

Both Rob and Paula provided information and insights about restaurants, sights and events in town and alerted us to a free Actor's Circle Shakespeare in the Park performance of "Two Gentlemen of Verona " the second evening we were there. Rob and Paula attended the play as well and when we saw them there, they invited us to share their little picnic which was very hospitable.

Breakfast is well-prepared and inviting and snacks and drinks are readily available. The room we stayed in overlooked the main road but was quiet and very comfortable. Wi-fi reception was great as we watched several episodes of Breaking Bad on our laptop.

All in all, Little River is a cozy welcoming place to stay in all seasons.

Room Tip: I would seek a room facing the river in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackied881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed here when attending a wedding. The location was perfect, the room very comfortable, bath new and spacious. Rob and Paula were great - very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was fabulous. Sitting out by the river was so peaceful and beautiful.. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: I had one on the road which was fine, but the river side would be great I am sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I was delighted to find a room at the Little River Bed and Breakfast when I visited Peterborough. Rob and Paula were so helpful with directions and making you feel at home.
Their B&B is absolutely beautiful, sparkling clean and the bed incredibly comfortable. I had the chance to take my book to read and sit by the river in back for the evening; a perfect retreat.
Breakfast the next morning was a delight with fresh fruit, scones and a wonderful feta, spinach and tomato omelet. What more could you ask for?
This is the kind of place you want to keep a little bit secret so there is always room when you want to book again. Thank you for such a wonderful stay..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lburdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
16.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
16.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
1.1 mi away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Benjamin Prescott Inn
Benjamin Prescott Inn
#1 of 4 in Jaffrey
121 reviews
10.8 mi away
Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa
22.9 mi away
Timber Post Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Bed and Breakfast

Address: 184 Union St, Peterborough, NH 03458-1014
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Peterborough
Price Range: £101 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Little River Bed and Breakfast. We are a renovated 1870s farmhouse situated along the scenic Nubanusit River in the classic New England town of Peterborough, NH which is located in the wonderful Southwest corner of the state known as the Monadnock Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Little River Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Peterborough
Little River b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing