We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous base for cross-country skiing and New England village visiting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little River Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Peterborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Fabulous base for cross-country skiing and New England village visiting”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our two nights at Little River B&B were fabulous - Paula and Rob were welcoming and helpful but not at all pushy. Their place is lovely and super clean and full of thoughtful extras (selection of teas and home made cookies on a bar in the lobby, luxurious bedding and towels, a good hair dryer in the guest bath, gas fireplaces in guest rooms, sunny pleasant sitting rooms, and updated binders of local activities). Peterborough is a pretty little village and very near Windblown Cross-Country skiing and other outdoor activities as well (and only about 2.5 hours from Boston). In addition, Paula has transformed her training as a chemist into exceptional cooking, including superb adaptations for dietary restrictions (she made me an amazing gluten-free scone with a mix of flours she worked out). Breakfast was substantial and I was sad I hadn't thought to save the scone for later, but as it turned out, she'd already set one aside for me to take home!

Green Features: First place I've stayed with recycling for guests and environmentally-friendly toiletry packets!
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liliana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
85
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walpole, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The inn is immaculate. The weekend was frigid but the rooms all have charming gas stoves which made our rooms cozy. The dining area was chilly but the breakfasts were very good. Paula's chocolate and caramel cookie was the best offering on the Monadnock cookie tour. We woke up Sunday morning to a winter wonderland of snow! Rob gallantly cleaned off all of our cars before we left for home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Paula and Rob were wonderful inviting hosts. The B&B had all the modern conveniences, very clean, and yet maintains it's New England charm. The fresh baked snacks offered and breakfast was fantastic. We had a wonderful get away and a big thank you for offering the Veteran's Special!!

Room Tip: All the rooms were wonderful
See more room tips
Green Features: Everything was modern and energy efficient in it's use
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd and Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Rob & Paula have a lovely B&B. They have done a great job remodeling the place. We stayed in the Goose Brook room on the 2nd floor. It was very comfortable with a view of the river. There is a very nice common room on the 2nd floor where you can sit and read, browse the internet, and enjoy the beautiful view out the window.

The breakfasts were all special and nicely prepared.

Rob & Paula were very helpful to us in giving directions to places we wanted to go and giving us recommendations on things to do and places to eat.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at this lovely B&B in Peterborough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimL_in_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our stay in Peterborough was all too short; one night stopover between Stowe and Boston. However we could have stayed longer in this wonderfully welcoming B&B. Rob ushered us in with a genuine interest in how our trip had been, and an enthusiasm about the area that was infectious. Our room was wonderfully decorated, with an amazing double shower in the ensuite bathroom. We could hear the river rushing by below our bedroom window and this made for a wonderful lullaby to send us to sleep. Breakfast is served at a communal table, and this gave us the chance to compare trips with the other travellers, as well as seek information from Rob & Paula. Rob recommended the auto road at Pack Monadnock and the raptor programme at the summit, and this was a welcome addition to our itinerary. This is a wonderful place to stay and an excellent base to explore the region

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFletche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Loved the location. The river in the back was fantastic! This B&B was super clean, cozy and had great breakfast. Our inn keepers were just lovely and super helpful. If you're in the area, you must stay here. So glad we found this place. 5 stars!

Green Features: They recycled and bought local. Loved it on all counts!
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11111happy11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deep River, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Rob, the owner greeted us at the door and after some conversation, he showed us to our room. It was everything we could have wanted with a touch of luxury. The whole house was spotless including our room and adjoining bathroom. The queen bed was so comfy I could have stayed all day, but we had told Rob we'd be down for breakfast at 9:00. Rob took on the roll of server and brought over our requested breakfast beverage and a wonderful fruit cup. He also served homemade blueberry muffins which were very good. The individual egg and vegetable quiche was excellent. Sadly we had to go on our way but would love to have spent more time there. A trip to Little River Bed & Breakfast will be in our future.

Room Tip: Only four bedrooms and they all looked wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomDonna_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
16.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
16.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
16.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
153 reviews
5.9 mi away
Benjamin Prescott Inn
Benjamin Prescott Inn
#1 of 4 in Jaffrey
114 reviews
5.8 mi away
Monadnock Inn
Monadnock Inn
#2 of 4 in Jaffrey
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Bed and Breakfast

Property: Little River Bed and Breakfast
Address: 184 Union St, Peterborough, NH 03458-1014
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Little River Bed and Breakfast. We are a recently renovated 1870s farmhouse situated along the scenic Nubanusit River in the classic New England town of Peterborough, NH which is located in the wonderful Southwest corner of the state known as the Monadnock Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Little River Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Peterborough
Little River b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing