We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect little inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little River Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Peterborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My fiancé and I decided to skip out of town for Easter this year and head up to NH for the night. He found Little River online and went ahead and booked. This was only our second stay at a B&B, but was much better than our first experience! Rob greeted us as we arrived and was sooo nice, but not overbearing at all. My immediate thought was how CLEAN and FRESH it seemed- one of the things I worry about with B&Bs. The house is right on a small brook and just very charming. Rob chatted with us about restaurants, what we were looking to do, and provided us with info on heading to Mass the next morning (including the updated times for Easter). He showed us to our charming room which was minimal, but once again very clean and cute, and it had a little gas stove that we enjoyed. The location was only about 1.5 hours from Boston and perfect for antiquing, admiring the covered bridges of the region, and of course hiking Mt. Monadnock! The breakfast was beautiful and we appreciated that it was on the healthy side (wedding is in 25 days, time to buckle down!). Thanks for a great stay :)

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the house will be on the little river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was one of the best Bed and Breakfasts I have ever stayed in--simply because of the attention to details and the friendly hosts! They made wonderful gluten-free breakfasts and greeted us with a smile, a warm cookie (also gluten free!) and conversation as we came in the door every evening. They made sure we had our travel details (such as printing up our boarding passes) taken care of before we left. I loved to hear the sounds of the river just outside our bedroom window. The whole experience was very nurturing. I will most definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our two nights at Little River B&B were fabulous - Paula and Rob were welcoming and helpful but not at all pushy. Their place is lovely and super clean and full of thoughtful extras (selection of teas and home made cookies on a bar in the lobby, luxurious bedding and towels, a good hair dryer in the guest bath, gas fireplaces in guest rooms, sunny pleasant sitting rooms, and updated binders of local activities). Peterborough is a pretty little village and very near Windblown Cross-Country skiing and other outdoor activities as well (and only about 2.5 hours from Boston). In addition, Paula has transformed her training as a chemist into exceptional cooking, including superb adaptations for dietary restrictions (she made me an amazing gluten-free scone with a mix of flours she worked out). Breakfast was substantial and I was sad I hadn't thought to save the scone for later, but as it turned out, she'd already set one aside for me to take home!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liliana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The inn is immaculate. The weekend was frigid but the rooms all have charming gas stoves which made our rooms cozy. The dining area was chilly but the breakfasts were very good. Paula's chocolate and caramel cookie was the best offering on the Monadnock cookie tour. We woke up Sunday morning to a winter wonderland of snow! Rob gallantly cleaned off all of our cars before we left for home.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Paula and Rob were wonderful inviting hosts. The B&B had all the modern conveniences, very clean, and yet maintains it's New England charm. The fresh baked snacks offered and breakfast was fantastic. We had a wonderful get away and a big thank you for offering the Veteran's Special!!

Room Tip: All the rooms were wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd and Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Rob & Paula have a lovely B&B. They have done a great job remodeling the place. We stayed in the Goose Brook room on the 2nd floor. It was very comfortable with a view of the river. There is a very nice common room on the 2nd floor where you can sit and read, browse the internet, and enjoy the beautiful view out the window.

The breakfasts were all special and nicely prepared.

Rob & Paula were very helpful to us in giving directions to places we wanted to go and giving us recommendations on things to do and places to eat.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at this lovely B&B in Peterborough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimL_in_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our stay in Peterborough was all too short; one night stopover between Stowe and Boston. However we could have stayed longer in this wonderfully welcoming B&B. Rob ushered us in with a genuine interest in how our trip had been, and an enthusiasm about the area that was infectious. Our room was wonderfully decorated, with an amazing double shower in the ensuite bathroom. We could hear the river rushing by below our bedroom window and this made for a wonderful lullaby to send us to sleep. Breakfast is served at a communal table, and this gave us the chance to compare trips with the other travellers, as well as seek information from Rob & Paula. Rob recommended the auto road at Pack Monadnock and the raptor programme at the summit, and this was a welcome addition to our itinerary. This is a wonderful place to stay and an excellent base to explore the region

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsFletche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
16.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
1.1 mi away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
164 reviews
5.9 mi away
Benjamin Prescott Inn
Benjamin Prescott Inn
#1 of 4 in Jaffrey
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa
18.1 mi away
Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House
22.9 mi away
Timber Post Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Bed and Breakfast

Address: 184 Union St, Peterborough, NH 03458-1014
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Peterborough
Price Range: £100 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Little River Bed and Breakfast. We are a renovated 1870s farmhouse situated along the scenic Nubanusit River in the classic New England town of Peterborough, NH which is located in the wonderful Southwest corner of the state known as the Monadnock Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Little River Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Peterborough
Little River b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing