We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buck Rub Pub

Buck Rub Pub
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Pittsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
115 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Good for Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We ate twice here on a snowmobiling trip in December. Both times place was really busy and it took some time for food to arrive. Waitress was friendly and even though busy took time to help our grandmother with her order. Basic pub style fare was good really enjoyed the steak tips. Was a good place to get out of the cold for some drinks and dinner!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    57
    30
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
1 review
“Ate there twice w/ different staff each time to give a fair chance.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

First time there service was a tad slower than average, the only waitress there was also tending bar -we went went in around 8:30pm and there were a handful at the bar, another small party or two at tables. She was prompt, time order was placed to food on table was pretty slow for two hot sandwiches and fries. Their fries are mediocre. Another older employee showed up off the clock to drink and parked us in.

Second time there, again one waitress/bartender but it was earlier in the evening however and there was a decent crowd there. It took a fairly long awhile to order (15 minutes to get menus and a drink order in, another 10 minutes to actually get drinks and place food order), again actually getting food was a long wait.

No real upside to either visit. Due to the nature of conversations of the regulars there I would not recommend this place to families as this is a clearly a bar first.

(Second time around there were a bunch on guys getting lit up while playing pool. They left as we were and one fell down the porch steps and appeared to have busted his arm.)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heaset16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury Center, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Local establishment with decent food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We visited a bit before rush hour and service was good. Draft Sam Adams Octoberfest was served in 12-ounce frozen glasses and was supurb. My wife had a turkey club which she liked very much; I had a small steak bomb sandwich which was most adequate in size, but rather tasteless. I would try a cheese steak or burger on my next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B_K_05677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canterbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Have been many times and they have good food and plentiful portions but do no go there if you are in a hurry. Last time we were we did not get food for an hour d fifteen minutes after we sat down.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank canterburyshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average food, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We ordered fried chicken which was ok, but the service was very slow. No refills on drinks in over an hour. Pricey for the amount of food. Place is very rustic and more bar than restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buck Rub Pub also viewed

Pittsburg, White Mountains
Pittsburg, White Mountains
 
Pittsburg, White Mountains
Pittsburg, White Mountains
 

Been to Buck Rub Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing