We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !! The "real" northwoods with a healthy dose of class”
Review of Tall Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tall Timber Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Tall Timber is an honest-to-goodness Northwoods lodge. The lodge is located on Back Lake, a prisitine little water that is heavily stocked with trout by NH Fish and Game.
They pride themselves on a relaxed, accomodating atmosphere. Cabins and rooms are meticulosly clean and well maintained. The lodge is heavily sprinkled with Northwoods decor, including fish, moose and bears...Everything is family friendly, but also ideal for a couple looking to get away.

The Rainbow Lodge is a true suprise. Food quaility and presentation are really terrific and beyond expectation. The lodge has a nice wine and beer selection and an excellent bartender. Dinners are a lovely cap to each day. Breakfasts are outstanding.

Fishing, hunting, snowmobiling, biking and moosewatching are all great. Don't go to Pittsburg looking for excitement, but if one is seeking quiet, solitude and reflection then Tall Timbers cannot be bested.

Dogs and children are welcome

Room Tip: call and ask. Most rooms are on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_marc_pipas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2011

All around wonderful time. Too short. Friendly, helpful staff...they even found some much needed coffee for us even though the restaurant was closed!
can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank just_2_of_us2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We stayed in a beautiful 2 story house right on the lake. It had a total of 4 bedrooms, 3 upstairs and one downstairs. It was a little dusty but the beds were really comfortable and the kitchen/living room were a great space to cook and relax in.

The best thing about Tall Timbers was the location, beautiful views and just a 1 minute walk to the restaurant. Highly recommend making reservations for breakfast and dinner or you will be disappointed. We were snowmobiling so we were also about to ride right out front from the house.

Riding was great

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerkshiresGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We went up there for a snowmobile vacation. We decided to rent one of the houses Tall Timbers has to offer. Right on the lake, easy access to the trails and very nicely appointed. When they say bring your toothbrush, they are not kidding! If you need something and can't find it, you probably really didn't need it.
Dinner over at the Tall Timbers was excellent! We will be returning there again next year about the same time. The trails were fantastic as well.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripvisorfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

a great lodge in the way north of n.h. we stayed in one of their roadside cabins and ate at their 5star restaurant every night (m,t,w,t,f) and had breakfast twice. we also rented 2011 polaris snowmobiles for 2 days. i must say everything was a 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perazzi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

For the past two years, during the annual winter getaway with longtime friends to go snowmobiling, I have stayed at Tall Timbers Lodge . Last year we went in mid-February, this year March 6-8, 2011. Last year we started going Sunday through Tuesday. With most people heading out of town on Sunday, we have had the trails to ourselves Sunday afternoon and all day Monday.

In general, we gave encountered about a foot or more of snow on nicely groomed trails. This year we lucked out as 2+ ft. of snow fell mid-day Sunday through Monday evening.

Depending on the size of our group, we have rented one or multiple cabins at Tall Timbers, which they have had no problems accommodating.

The location on Back Lake is perfect, with easy access across the street to trails leading wherever riders choose to venture, be it Canada, Maine, Vermont, or around the lakes. The Rainbow Grille has excellent choices for food and bar is a nice place to have some drinks after coming off the trails and warming up.

Each year, someone secures the cabins with their credit card, and then each person pays their share individually once getting to the lodge. With a large group that works great so one person isn't on the hook for others who may be slow.

They rent sleds there, however with such a large group we have rented from Trailside Rentals on Rte. 3 and kept the rentals outside the cabin overnight.

When riding, be sure someone in your group wears a backpack with the essentials, including a camera for some great pictures along the way.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frap028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We have stayed at Tall Timber Lodge for our snowmobile vacations many times and have always enjoyed the friendly and courteous service we have received. The cabin we chose this year was the "best by far' with queen size bed and a jacuzzi.
The innkeepers are always friendly and eager to assist their customers. We have made reservations for next year!
The snowmobile trails were exceptional due to Mother Nature (at her best) bringing on lots of snow and the clubs did an excellent job maintaining them.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainbowGrafton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburg
14.5 mi away
Colebrook Country Club & Motel
13.5 mi away
Notch View Inn
Notch View Inn
#5 of 9 in Colebrook
20 reviews
13.1 mi away
Bear Rock Suites
Bear Rock Suites
#1 of 9 in Colebrook
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Timber Lodge

Address: 609 Beach Rd, Pittsburg, NH 03592-5465
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Pittsburg
Price Range: £115 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Tall Timber Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tall Timber offers a variety of comfortably furnished one to four bedroom retreats ranging from rustic lake shore log cabins to the finest luxury cottages in the Connecticut Lakes Region. The Rainbow Grille & Tavern offers exceptional food in a relaxed North Woods atmosphere, serving a varied dinner menu of uniquely prepared steaks, seafood, poultry, game such as elk, buffalo and venison. It’s the perfect spot for a romantic candlelight dinner for two or an enjoyable dinner with the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tall Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tall Timber Hotel Pittsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing