We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful-once again!”
Review of Tall Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tall Timber Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My family stayed at Tall Timber over Memorial Day weekend for the 3rd time. We had the Cedar cabin right by the lodge and lake. We loved the location and having a firepit. We have tried different cabins each visit but this one had to be the best. My family has made many happy memories here & we plan to continue the tradtition. The only complaint is that we only saw one moose :( but it is better than no moose!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sueh33804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Tall Timber Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

Our party has been coming to Pittsburg for 25+ years. We stay with Tall Timber Lodge in “What A View” Cabin. It most definitely has a gorgeous view that overlooks the lake as well as the surrounding hills and mountains. Sitting on the back deck you are likely to see fish coming to the surface for flies, a pair of loons swimming by or calling to each other, ducks flying in and out, an occasional boat quietly trolling by and maybe catching a trout in front of you, or a couple of humming birds zipping by and checking you out. If you are lucky, and this has happened to us several occasions, an eagle flying over and sometimes diving and snatching a trout out of the water and flying back to a tree top. Most mornings you will see the rising smoke in the back ground of the hills from the streams and rivers as the morning sun warms the air. All you need to do is sit back , relax and enjoy!
If you get tired of relaxing and watching the wilderness, you can go into the lodge and have a chat with one of the friendly staff members and tell them about the Big trout that didn’t get away or the Moose you just spotted up the road. It’s a wonderful time, I would recommend that you go and enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

If you want to retreat from your everyday busy life, this is the place to go! It's perfect for even a night, even though it's hard to leave the next day.This was our third time that we had been to Tall Timber and it was great like the other times!The day after I made our reservation, I got a call from Corinne to make sure that we didn't want a different cabin since we were 4 adults with a queen bed and a set of bunk beds. We thought we would be ok, but we definitely will take her recommendation for bigger beds. That's great service! We had friends with us from NYC and they were in heaven. They were happy to see that they could take a canoe or kayak out, that are available to all Tall Timber guests free of charge. We decided not to eat at the Rainbow Grill this time, only because we were only staying one night and it was nice to grill. The restaurant is outstanding, with great food and service. There are so many good things that I can say about Tall Timber, but I would say that hospitality is outstanding! We are hoping to get back there in the Fall or Winter this year! One of my friends and his wife just spent 4 days up there after my recommendation and another couple I know made reservations for July from my recommendation! Hope you'll give Tall Timber a try as well!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenmtgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Had a truly fantastice time at Tall Timber. Beautiful cabin right on the lake, trout fishing,execllent food at the Rainbow Grill. The people couldnt have been nicer. We will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobd026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Incredible place right on the lake and the food is to die for at the restaurant. You cannot go wrong with this place.

Room Tip: The cabins are a great option if you want your very own little cabin on the lake during your stay.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dethwort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Immaculate cabin, wonderful views, plenty of privacy and space! We arrived and found everything ready for our weekend. Our boat was already moored at our own private dock, the grill was set up and there was even firewood by the shore. The fishing was excellent. Thanks to the staff and the friendly locals for a great time.

Room Tip: Every bed was fine.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nathan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My brother and I stayed here late September, 2011 for a few days of fishing. Tall Timber Lodge is a warm, authentic lodge set in the "great north woods" of New Hampshire. Be forewarned, it is an effort to get here, but worth it. What you will get is comfortable lodging. The rooms we had did not have there own bathrooms. The bathrooms are shared, but this was not a problem for us. What you will not get is high end, luxury accommodations with 600 count sheets and bell staff. This is a rustic lodge in northern NH and it lives up to this billing.
The Rainbow Grill is the onsite restaurant and the food is very good. We ate here one night during our stay. The restaurant was busy enough that without a reservation, we had to eat in the bar. Again, for us, that was no problem. One note, the restaurant opens later in the morning, so for "early rise" fisherman, you will need to make alternative arrangements for breakfast.
Tall Timber Lodge sits right on Back Lack, and the setting is very pretty. The surrounding area is incredibly beautiful.
I would definitely recommend staying here - and we will likely be back to stay at Tall Timber.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InSearchofQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburg
14.6 mi away
Colebrook Country Club & Motel
13.6 mi away
Notch View Inn
Notch View Inn
#5 of 9 in Colebrook
19 reviews
18.2 mi away
A Peace of Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Bear Rock Suites
Bear Rock Suites
#1 of 9 in Colebrook
61 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tall Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Timber Lodge

Address: 609 Beach Rd, Pittsburg, NH 03592-5465
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Pittsburg
Price Range: £137 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Tall Timber Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tall Timber offers a variety of comfortably furnished one to four bedroom retreats ranging from rustic lake shore log cabins to the finest luxury cottages in the Connecticut Lakes Region. The Rainbow Grille & Tavern offers exceptional food in a relaxed North Woods atmosphere, serving a varied dinner menu of uniquely prepared steaks, seafood, poultry, game such as elk, buffalo and venison. It’s the perfect spot for a romantic candlelight dinner for two or an enjoyable dinner with the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tall Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tall Timber Hotel Pittsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing