We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st fishing trip to Tall Timber”
Review of Tall Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tall Timber Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Francestown, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“1st fishing trip to Tall Timber”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

One of the best fishing trips we have had in years. Great fishing, great food, extremely comfortable accomodations and the nicest people you can imagine. We have been coming up to the north country fishing for 18 years and this is our 1st time at Tall Timber. We now have a new, permanent, destination to call home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    35
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
112
158
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
freedom nh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2012

What a great weekend. If you haven't been to Tall Timber you are missing a super place to chill, fish, EAT , and meet some really great people. The staff is great and they have a gem there in the North Country.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iflycast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piermont, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We have been coming to Tall Timber Lodge since the early days of Tony and Connie. The entire family has continued to create a comfortable, safe and quality establishment over the years. We have come up fishing, hunting, kayaking and motor boating and found Tall Timber Lodge to be a great Northcountry home each time we have been there. We love the staff and their personal attention. Keep up the excellent work!

Room Tip: We have stayed in most of the cottages and rooms and like them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Polly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My family stayed at Tall Timber over Memorial Day weekend for the 3rd time. We had the Cedar cabin right by the lodge and lake. We loved the location and having a firepit. We have tried different cabins each visit but this one had to be the best. My family has made many happy memories here & we plan to continue the tradtition. The only complaint is that we only saw one moose :( but it is better than no moose!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueh33804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Our party has been coming to Pittsburg for 25+ years. We stay with Tall Timber Lodge in “What A View” Cabin. It most definitely has a gorgeous view that overlooks the lake as well as the surrounding hills and mountains. Sitting on the back deck you are likely to see fish coming to the surface for flies, a pair of loons swimming by or calling to each other, ducks flying in and out, an occasional boat quietly trolling by and maybe catching a trout in front of you, or a couple of humming birds zipping by and checking you out. If you are lucky, and this has happened to us several occasions, an eagle flying over and sometimes diving and snatching a trout out of the water and flying back to a tree top. Most mornings you will see the rising smoke in the back ground of the hills from the streams and rivers as the morning sun warms the air. All you need to do is sit back , relax and enjoy!
If you get tired of relaxing and watching the wilderness, you can go into the lodge and have a chat with one of the friendly staff members and tell them about the Big trout that didn’t get away or the Moose you just spotted up the road. It’s a wonderful time, I would recommend that you go and enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

If you want to retreat from your everyday busy life, this is the place to go! It's perfect for even a night, even though it's hard to leave the next day.This was our third time that we had been to Tall Timber and it was great like the other times!The day after I made our reservation, I got a call from Corinne to make sure that we didn't want a different cabin since we were 4 adults with a queen bed and a set of bunk beds. We thought we would be ok, but we definitely will take her recommendation for bigger beds. That's great service! We had friends with us from NYC and they were in heaven. They were happy to see that they could take a canoe or kayak out, that are available to all Tall Timber guests free of charge. We decided not to eat at the Rainbow Grill this time, only because we were only staying one night and it was nice to grill. The restaurant is outstanding, with great food and service. There are so many good things that I can say about Tall Timber, but I would say that hospitality is outstanding! We are hoping to get back there in the Fall or Winter this year! One of my friends and his wife just spent 4 days up there after my recommendation and another couple I know made reservations for July from my recommendation! Hope you'll give Tall Timber a try as well!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenmtgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Had a truly fantastice time at Tall Timber. Beautiful cabin right on the lake, trout fishing,execllent food at the Rainbow Grill. The people couldnt have been nicer. We will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobd026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburg
14.6 mi away
Colebrook Country Club & Motel
13.7 mi away
Notch View Inn
Notch View Inn
#5 of 9 in Colebrook
18 reviews
18.2 mi away
A Peace of Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Bear Rock Suites
Bear Rock Suites
#1 of 9 in Colebrook
57 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tall Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Timber Lodge

Property: Tall Timber Lodge
Address: 609 Beach Rd, Pittsburg, NH 03592-5465
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Pittsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Tall Timber Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tall Timber offers a variety of comfortably furnished one to four bedroom retreats ranging from rustic lake shore log cabins to the finest luxury cottages in the Connecticut Lakes Region. The Rainbow Grille & Tavern offers exceptional food in a relaxed North Woods atmosphere, serving a varied dinner menu of uniquely prepared steaks, seafood, poultry, game such as elk, buffalo and venison. It’s the perfect spot for a romantic candlelight dinner for two or an enjoyable dinner with the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tall Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tall Timber Hotel Pittsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing